comp prob.. again..

shiraz

hmmm im suffering from yes another setback.. :pinch: my backup pc's HDD is a deep shit.. i was using an old 5GB hdd for around 2 mths when i changed to my usual 40GB IBM HDD around 30 mins ago.. started up the pc, and the HDD make funny noises like something being scratched internally.. then it started up as usual.. when they were loading windows, suddenly a blue screen poped up and " UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME" is what i see as the error..

i understand that IMB HDDs have a 1 to 1 exchange at digiland bldg for 3 years right.. err can i possibly exchange my HDD there? did it once before around 2 years back... they did not check anything and that was because i dropped my HDD :fear:

or if it's not the HDD, does any1 have any other suggestions on what the prob may be?

thanks in adv! :angel::bow:

Yo.. :lol:

1. Is the HDD in slave mode?

2. Does your CMOS do auto config of HDD. If not, do it manually.

if its not these, one way to test is to mount the harddisk as a slave and do a chkdisk to see if its bad sectors.

it was actually in master.. then i made it a slave.. scanned.. found no bad sectors.. practically nothing in inside the HDD anyway.. only OS.. (winXP) and maybe real player.. :rolleyes:

now it's back to master... still can't work..

hmmm there is no warranty sticker on it.. only a date.. May 2002 ... which means it's still under the 3 year warranty B) (hopefully la :look: )

and it's an IBM not hitachi.. ;)

i actually brought my old hdd there and replaced it with this one.. and i got this one from digiland so i assume i can go back to digiland and exchange for a new one :lol::lol:

anyway i'll try my luck later.. see how it goes.. forgot how to go there liao :P sungei kadut... :fear:

started up the pc, and the HDD make funny noises like something being scratched internally.. then it started up as usual.. when they were loading windows, suddenly a blue screen poped up and " UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME" is what i see as the error..

When you hear scratching sound, I think most likely a hardware failure happened on the HDD. When you see the "blue screen of death", this most likely is caused by HDD crashing or OS corrupted.

From the first signs I suspect your HDD is physically damaged. Try loading the OS on a spare one and then put the suspected damaged damaged HDD on slave and see if you can still detect and use it.

Hope this help :nc:

if there are scatches on HDD, ones can used the Windows scan. The windows scan will marked the sectors as bad and so in future you will not have the error at the same location.

Side note: Normally when there are scatches on the HDD, the scatches tend to get bigger ie more bad later on. Best is to get a new ones.

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

hmm ok did what kokhui suggested, everytime i double click on the HDD in My Computer, my PC hangs.. <_< so i suspect it's the HDD prob eh.. went down juz now.. reached at 5.10pm... and the gates were closed! :eyeblur: waste time only :P

alamak....u off work, people also off work mah.... :lol: **Actually sometimes it just never click u.... Me also before :lol: **

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

ya thats why.. very irritating leh.. :P long ago i was wondering liao how come all this customer service places and all also open 9-5.. every1 working how to visit them? if they open from 5pm to 10pm ah.. sure every1 happy.. but then they also busier la.. ppl working night shift can also go coz work starts at 6pm or 7pm :rolleyes: