Do you put on glove?

Do you put on glove whenever working in your aquarium with live stocks\rocks?  

112 members have voted

1. 1. Do you put on glove whenever working in your aquarium with live stocks\rocks?

• Yes\Always
    • No\Never

Can't edit the poll. Consider "Seldom" as "No\Never" too.

Just recently come across that we can get diseases and physical (bad) injuries working in our aquarium.

Better put on glove.

If got wound on hands, better don't let it tainted to\by the tank water.

Mycobacterium

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-07/sp/feature/index.htm

http://content.nejm.org/cgi/content/full/350/9/e8

http://www.syngnathid.org/articles/mycobac...mInfection.html

:nuke::ph34r:

I bought a pair of corallife aqua gloves (see pix) from someone else...

At first, I thought they were cumbersome and never used them.... after two episode of rockscaping, my fingers became numb, red and sore....

So when I did my last rescaping (the third time), I tried on the gloves for the first time.

Contrary to the belief, they are actuall very useful...

These aqua gloves by corallife works great....

Besides the obvious fact that it covers you to the shoulder and protect you from nasty bites and infections, the gloves were

1) exceptionally thick were the hands are (red portion).... so even if you work with a piece of live rock with the sharpest jagged edge known, it won't tore like ordinary kitchen gloves.

2) I believe given a special coating on the outside... so much so that when you pull your arms out from the tank, the gloves remains dry.... that's the major plus point...

Working with bare hands, your arms will carry droplets of water on your body hair, once you pull your hand away from the aquarium, it starts to run, accumulate and end up wetting the floor... with the gloves, it won't happen...

Every reefer should get one of these...

post-21-1114489444.jpg

I bought a pair of corallife aqua gloves (see pix) from someone else...

At first, I thought they were cumbersome and never used them.... after two episode of rockscaping, my fingers became numb, red and sore....

So when I did my last rescaping (the third time), I tried on the gloves for the first time.

Contrary to the belief, they are actuall very useful...

These aqua gloves by corallife works great....

Besides the obvious fact that it covers you to the shoulder and protect you from nasty bites and infections, the gloves were

1) exceptionally thick were the hands are (red portion).... so even if you work with a piece of live rock with the sharpest jagged edge known, it won't tore like ordinary kitchen gloves.

2) I believe given a special coating on the outside... so much so that when you pull your arms out from the tank, the gloves remains dry.... that's the major plus point...

Working with bare hands, your arms will carry droplets of water on your body hair, once you pull your hand away from the aquarium, it starts to run, accumulate and end up wetting the floor... with the gloves, it won't happen...

Every reefer should get one of these...

hi, how much would one of these costs ?

hehe .. looks like pest control .. getting rid of bee hives :D

Hahaha..... no lah.. more like collect honey from live rocks.... :lol::D

Anyway, if I can take a pix of my bare hands and show you how serious it is to ignore wearing gloves, then you understand why the "kiasu-ness" is needed....

After one week, the finger tips on my right hand is still feeling sore... looks kind of puffed up as compared to my left hand.... but much better definitely ;)

$35 to protect you from nasty bacteria and stuff.... worth it if you ask me... you know we cycle our tank to cutivate bacteria, gosh, so wonder what nasties are in there... all it takes is one open wound and one of this nasties to get in... :fear:

Unless you want hands like these.... :sick:

post-21-1114490220.jpg

Looking at the result of the poll, it seems I am the only one using gloves so far...

What kind of risks are you bros taking, man? :blink::blink:

Not funny to suffer from bacterial infection for the sake of this hobby....

Trust me, go get a pair!

my right hand first finger also develop some small water pox these few days while I was working something inside the tank. its not an infection cos donkey years ago I had this too when i was facing a skin allergie issue.

I would vote for using a glove.

Seamonkee, that's a very cool pair of glove. look like its for use in handling nuclear contanminated stuff

my right hand first finger also develop some small water pox these few days while I was working something inside the tank. its not an infection cos donkey years ago I had this too when i was facing a skin allergie issue.

I would vote for using a glove.

Seamonkee, that's a very cool pair of glove. look like its for use in handling nuclear contanminated stuff

Hahaha.... u have not seen the full bio-suit that comes with the gloves.... ;)

I'm thinking of giving away the left hand pair since it is not in use... of course, the person who pm me has to be a left-handed person.... ;) and got to prove it... :P

actually, i'm not using glove, but i would like to use because rocks can be so sharp

also, when dealing with corals, the i think mucus on them is so SMELLY.

but the thuoght of the price turns me alittle off...

bro, if you dun mind the left hand part of the gloves... I can give it to you... I have not use it yet

Give it a shot and you will know why I like it...

I was sceptical at first but after trying it out... it's great...

Oh my god after seeing the links :sick::shock:. Must get the gloves already dun wanna risk it.

now i think its a must already.

those pics really look bad.

and anyway, i hate stinks from bristleworms.

they sucks.

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

• 1 year later...

my right fingers, especially my mid and ring fingers, are slightly bigger than my left after 2+ years of reefing. cos right hand always in tank mah. lately, my fingers always have tiny little blisters that itch like hell. it will somehow settle after i apply some cream.

fell really sick 2 weeks ago with really high fever and severe joints ache and muscle spasm. Got cut by hammer while trying to break a dead section 2 days before the fever. ...too lazy to use equipment. did not recover till a week later. could not even write my name and tear open a twisty till 6 days later.

dr diagnosed as flu but i don't think so. was really scared then. BUT, still did not used any glove just now when changing water and re-scaping...

maybe shld use my coralife glove...or quit reefing...nah...don't think so though my wife will be very happy if i do so.

archilles, i experience the same problems as you. During the last rescape, i got cut by the live rocks and while placing new corals in the tank, my hand got swollen and didnt recover till a week plus later. . same itchy syndrome.

i suggest wearing gloves the next time round.

• 1 year later...

i seriously urge all reefer to put on gloves while handling marine stuff after so much reports on those flesh eating bacteria!

i confirm put on gloves even when i go LFS to look for LR.

Ppl in ReefCentral told me those are fireworms stings... very jialat one, like the sting go inside your skin\blood.

Just wait for more days, it should gone. During that time, just endure it.

:eyebrow: I use both : Latex gloves ( the type used by hosipital staff, use and throw, cheap ) for minor work. and Aqua Gloves when I do a major work like rescape. Some times ago, after doing rescape work, my hand was so itchy that I had to see doctor. Doctor said I was attacked by unknown bacteria. Since then , I always use gloves.

Edwin

:eyebrow: I use both : Latex gloves ( the type used by hosipital staff, use and throw, cheap ) for minor work. and Aqua Gloves when I do a major work like rescape. Some times ago, after doing rescape work, my hand was so itchy that I had to see doctor. Doctor said I was attacked by unknown bacteria. Since then , I always use gloves.

Edwin

i use those normal rubber glove which can be bought from NTUC. =)