Feeding Sea Fans

FuEl

I was wondering how often should I feed my sea fan..currently I'm feeding it every day with DT's plankton and the phyto bought at wat**cir*le. Yesterday I just squirted some frozen cyclops into my tank and the polyps on the sea fan actually managed to snare some and to consume them!

Should I continue with the cyclops or should I feed phytoplankton only? I really love my sea fan! :yeah:

stick with plankton. and dont dose everyday. you are going to get extremely major algae attack soon. and u supposed to put a few drop man.. not squirt.. try twice a week

HEhe..nvm..my skimmer quite good at removing gunk...I'm only putting maybe 20 drops a day...alot meh? Still got alot of tubeworms and 2 flame scallops...and my beautiful red sponge. :D

Hmmm..180l tank. 20 drop a day for the phyto I got at Wat**Cir***.

Every 2 days one capful of DT.

I dun mind overdosing...I just don't want my things to starve. :rolleyes:

its possible they are choking to death. and the excess phyto is dying in your water.

........Excess phyto will get skimmed up by the skimmer once you turn it back on lah. I only off my skimmer for 3-4 hours during dosing. After that I turn it back on..din notice any wrong with my inhabitants...

Possibly the only difference with our tank and with the ocean is that we are not feeding filter feeders enough. That's why I dose daily. My own experiment...will let you know if my tank water ever turns green. :evil:

........Excess phyto will get skimmed up by the skimmer once you turn it back on lah. I only off my skimmer for 3-4 hours during dosing. After that I turn it back on..din notice any wrong with my inhabitants...

Possibly the only difference with our tank and with the ocean is that we are not feeding filter feeders enough. That's why I dose daily. My own experiment...will let you know if my tank water ever turns green. :evil:

Watch out for hair algae, cos over dosing of plankton willcause pollution..... and btw what skimmer are you using

Hmmm..my tank no hair algae leh...my skimmer is rather lousy...a venturi skimmer...hang on type..one of the first few skimmers i spotted here few years ago...i think the skimmer itself is maybe 6-7 years old? :rolleyes:

Getting a new one soon hopefully. :D

My scallops, sponges, tubeworms and sea fans are all very happy with their daily feeding... :evil:

Hi Fuel,

just continue with yr routine feeding. However, u can cut dwn abit on the pyto side & more frozen cyclops.

Best is to get Cyclopeze from Argent at this yr Aquarama.

CHeers!

Wei :)

I'm using frozen cyclops..found it better

Got it the last aquarama 3 years ago..until now still haven use finish...BWuAwHAHaha. :evil: