Where to place active carbons

beebeefl

place at location with high flow rate, i put mine after the wool

who told u carbon should be place in high flow area...

it should be in the low flow area... that's why it's in the sump ig not why not put in main tank where it has the highest flow..

one more advise for u...

next time if u r not sure pls dont anyhow advise ppls.. else u will confuse and teach ppls wrong stuff... :P

wa..bro..nv fang sui ah..(give chance) :D ...haha...anyway..coral chips should be replace with glass rings...it is better in quality...n in future it wont be a problem to ur tank's water parameters... :P

and you use that glass ring for..????

Is it the same... trapping dirt and become nitrate factory... :blink:

and you use that glass ring for..????

Is it the same... trapping dirt and become nitrate factory... :blink:

different lehx...coral chips is bcoz the chips sometimes release the excess..which is crush coral chip sand liaoz....u tink glass rings can produce ttt kind of things??

u gt try glass rings b4??

different lehx...coral chips is bcoz the chips sometimes release the excess..which is crush coral chip sand liaoz....u tink glass rings can produce ttt kind of things??

or are u referring to ceremic rings?

i already state above... what is the point of use....

in the end it will still trap dirt...

I dont need to use it.. to have my p04 reaching 0.00(and my reading is base on hanna) soon :P

i already state above... what is the point of use....

in the end it will still trap dirt...

I dont need to use it.. to have my p04 reaching 0.00(and my reading is base on hanna) soon :P

glass rings are for bacteria to home..at the same time..it will also maintain ph..

KOI farms also uses lots of glass rings for their pond sumps...if it is bad, den y they still use???

u nv use b4 den how u know that glass rings are the same as coral chips?? :D

PS- japanese KOI are much more expensive den a reef tank..

Not saying that it is no good, just that using sinter glass (biohome) media traps dirt easily that will easily contribute to nitrates in the tank, in comparison that is is being skimmed away / prefiltered before they actually breaks down.

For a koi pond, high nitrate levels may not be a big issue, however, in a reef tank, high levels of nitrate tends to depress the ph level, which is detrimental to the inhabitants.

Of course there are very well run systems using coral chips or biohome, it is just that you need to make sure that water flowing through these media is properly prefiltered with floss. I remember reading somewhere that if you want the prefilter to work effectively, you need to wash it on a 2 hourly basis. For most of us, it will be luckly if we change it weekly. In the end, poorly prefiltered water carrying dirt will reach the medias and clog them up.

Not saying that it is no good, just that using sinter glass (biohome) media traps dirt easily that will easily contribute to nitrates in the tank, in comparison that is is being skimmed away / prefiltered before they actually breaks down.

For a koi pond, high nitrate levels may not be a big issue, however, in a reef tank, high levels of nitrate tends to depress the ph level, which is detrimental to the inhabitants.

Of course there are very well run systems using coral chips or biohome, it is just that you need to make sure that water flowing through these media is properly prefiltered with floss. I remember reading somewhere that if you want the prefilter to work effectively, you need to wash it on a 2 hourly basis. For most of us, it will be luckly if we change it weekly. In the end, poorly prefiltered water carrying dirt will reach the medias and clog them up.

i agree that it traps dirt...but not as much as coral chips...glass rings dosent produce anything instead coral chips may vary by producing crush coral chip sand..

while bro alanseah is stating that glass rings are SAME as coral chips??

i dun agree to a large extend becos coral chips are of inferior quality but glass rings are not..my 2 cents.. :D

I believe what he meant was that both medium traps dirt easily. In that aspect, they are the "same". Sinter glass definitely provides a larger surface area for bacteria to colonise, thus able to support a heavier bioloads.

Nowadays, most reefers rely on the sand bed and the live rocks to provide the necessary hosts for the bacteria colonies and have done away with having biofilter media in the sump.

I believe what he meant was that both medium traps dirt easily. In that aspect, they are the "same". Sinter glass definitely provides a larger surface area for bacteria to colonise, thus able to support a heavier bioloads.

Nowadays, most reefers rely on the sand bed and the live rocks to provide the necessary hosts for the bacteria colonies and have done away with having biofilter media in the sump.

then what if reefers do not have sandbed..using BB??

the story comes back to having filter media to support their reefs.. :D

then what if reefers do not have sandbed..using BB??

the story comes back to having filter media to support their reefs.. :D

pls la u r talking about salt water hobby now not about fresh water..the biggest mistake u know in reefing is what.. ppls though fresh water method can be apply to salt water and expect them to work the same.. :lol:<_<

I know KOI ex.. but u go compare it to those ppls who tank is fully pack with over 100 over of color sps and 1 sps cost min $60~80 u go cal how much will that cost and the $$ equipment we are running...

dont tell me your KOI pond will cost over $15K~20K compare to a 4~5ft reef sps tank hor...

well why not make a bet.. u dont go touch your glass ring for 6 months.. then end of 6 months u try dig out your glass ring and see if your water become mud water...if that is then that mean your glass ring is tripping alot of dirt and have a very huge p04...

And for your info, I'm have long been running BB and with no filter in my sump expect my one and only powerful skimmer and that's it...so what filter u talking about... dirty trapping.. :lol:

oh well...i use that for more than a year!! :P

dont need 6 month make a fast one 2 month will do..we see who right and who wrong..

and this is not the issue to argue who is right and who is wrong...if u think i am posing a challenge to u...den clear that tought of urs..at the first place...i have no intention to challenge you...but if u think so...then so be it..that shows wad kind of person you are... :evil:

Alvin, relax relax :D I am sure Alan don't meant to really challenge you but rather what he is trying to say is that detritus will settle at the bottom of the substrate and later caused problems due to the nutrients building up.

How serious is the problem depends on the stocking levels, the heavier the stocking, the faster the nutrients builtup.

Alvin, relax relax :D I am sure Alan don't meant to really challenge you but rather what he is trying to say is that detritus will settle at the bottom of the substrate and later caused problems due to the nutrients building up.

How serious is the problem depends on the stocking levels, the heavier the stocking, the faster the nutrients builtup.

thx bro wei leong...i admire you for ur reef.... :thanks:

challenge what for... r u a kids.. lolz...

isnt it here is that what I'm saying already correct and I just want to tell u you what u been urguing is in fact wrong.. and to prove that I only want to u go see the truth only.. say so much just 2 months time go dig out your glass ring lor... the truth will be there and dont need me to challenge u and urgue with you...

well just admit that you dam too proud to say your very statement on your glass ring is wrong.. :P

Lastly I'm the type who dont bother too much about how other ppls tanks look nice or not hor.. cause end of the day your tank is yours, the choice is yours, I tell you u dont listen so be it.. it wont hurt my eye looking at it cause I wont be the one looking at the tank the whole time... :PB):evil:

challenge what for... r u a kids.. lolz...

isnt it here is that what I'm saying already correct and I just want to tell u you what u been urguing is in fact wrong.. and to prove that I only want to u go see the truth only.. say so much just 2 months time go dig out your glass ring lor... the truth will be there and dont need me to challenge u and urgue with you...

well just admit that you dam too proud to say your very statement on your glass ring is wrong.. :P

Lastly I'm the type who dont bother too much about how other ppls tanks look nice or not hor.. cause end of the day your tank is yours, the choice is yours, I tell you u dont listen so be it.. it wont hurt my eye looking at it cause I wont be the one looking at the tank the whole time... :PB):evil:

oh well...if u dont know how to put ur words in gd use....i think even kids will not listen to you even though you are rite... :P i jus stated that i use it for more den one yr...and it makes me realli tired talking 2 a person that dosent know how to speak for himself.... :blink: