New Addition to tank

Maxstar81

Yeah haha, cycling there tell me abt it. Where do u live? i cycle there from bedok, man... if not for the packs of ice in my backpac, go home can have seafood dinner liao.

Its called a purple reef lobster i believe..

Ironically not a good idea if yur intending to set it free in a reef setting.

Better for a fish only system. :)

WTF U cycle from bedok !? :blink:

U got rocket boosters on your bicycle or is it those electrical ones....

I live pasir ris.

Still my butt hurts. :pinch:

Can explain why not good to put in reef environment?

Never kept a lobster b4.

Tried a FW prawn in my NS days which grew to a good size.

Still .....

I love the colour man.... :D

:bow:

AhLoon,

thanks for sharing. My tank is pretty bare now so nowhere for it to hide.

Its just under my internal pump. Thats the darkest place it can find.

Its very timid right now and jumps when my prawns touches it.

It did try and pinch them once or twice though... :erm:

Hope my lobster is like yours then shouldn't be prob loh....

Put it up in the ID forum as well.

Antbody have this too !?

Can tell me the name??? 

Can't stop staring at my tank ....

hi bros ... i know a beginner's feeling ... coz i'm 1 as well ...

see all nice thing and just feel like getting them ... but juz

a small piece of advice ... if u dunno what it is ... dun buy ...

if it lives ... fine ... but worse thing can happen such as

1) the LS is not reef/fish/whatever friendly and u'll have a hard

time removing it from ur tank

2) it die coz tank/env is not sufficient to support it ... :(

3) it die and crash the whole tank ... :(

but then again ... happy reefing ... cheers :D

Yeah haha, cycling there tell me abt it. Where do u live? i cycle there from bedok, man... if not for the packs of ice in my backpac, go home can have seafood dinner liao.

Its called a purple reef lobster i believe..

Ironically not a good idea if yur intending to set it free in a reef setting.

Better for a fish only system. :)

Haha! No rocket boosters. Work out ma, keep fit. Hate the idea of gymming on weekends so this is a better alternative lo. :P

As mentioned, being a Nocturnal feeder smaller fishes and shrimps may be in danger. I've seen one catching a cornered damsel. MAN, you'll be shock at the speed it can move its claws.

In my humble opinion... (Just say say...) Good in a species tank with more robust corals. Or bigger fishes (Means bigger then it is.) :)

Maxstar81,

Hope my lobster is like yours then shouldn't be prob loh....

haha... Mine up car liao when i migrated my tank, so no prob lah.

I target feed this guy with Sera plankton pills occasionally (dunno why it likes the pill a lot). You may like to give it a try?

Anyway, my experience with this guy is quite good. My sixline used to sleep in a very exposed "cave" just beside it... The lobster did not even bothered the sixline wrasse at all. So, IMO, quite safe lah. Dun worry too much about it.

But there was a period of time where I was away from home and the water parameters went haywire. My lobster turned blind (both eyes gone :blink: ). So, watch yr params carefully.

Update of my little lobster.

He is so timid. I think i'll name him Timmy.

My tank is crawling with transparent prawns from the beach.

No probs there. Have 2 glass cardigans also from the beach

but no interaction since different level in tank.

Baby catfish (where else also beach lah) also never get snip.

Overall I'm quite happy to have a timid lobster. :whistle

PS: Travy, I've seen its moves.

Fast like squirrel man. It loves those frozen brine shrimps.

Thanks for the informative response guys!!! :thanks: