Unique Mushies on Live Bivalves/Shell

Nautical

i have a piece of live bivalves (probably some sort of clam).

what is interesting is there are different frags and types

of mushies growing on it.

see pic attached.

how much frags can you see ?

how many different types of mushies are there ?

post-10-1131985291.jpg

there are seven frags altogether. at least that's what i can see, but may be one or two small ones hidden. :D:rolleyes:

as to the varieties, i could see either four or five diffent types. :P

for those who have pmed me, i apologize if i did not get back to you as i really don't know how much to sell for. :peace: with a unique piece like this, it is hard to determine the price. :P

The Bivalve you have might be a Spiny/Thorny Oyster Sponylus sp..

Here some write up on it, may be will help in your pricing. ;)

Spondylus sp.

Spondylus varius

Ups. ;)

The Bivalve you have might be a Spiny/Thorny Oyster Sponylus sp..

Here some write up on it, may be will help in your pricing. ;)

Spondylus sp.

Spondylus varius

Ups. ;)

wow, bro gouldian, you're indeed knowledgeable and resourceful. :bow::bow: many thanks for the link. :thanks:

i have re-examined the bivalve and indeed there are spikes around and i could even see the numerous "eyes". :P

the bivalve is some kind of a thorny oyster or spiny oyster.

wow, bro gouldian, you're indeed knowledgeable and resourceful. :bow::bow: many thanks for the link. :thanks:

i have re-examined the bivalve and indeed there are spikes around and i could even see the numerous "eyes". :P

the bivalve is some kind of a thorny oyster or spiny oyster.

Dun like that say leh bro, I paiseh liao. :paiseh:

Anyway, I happens to have interests in them.

If you dun mind, could you PM me the price too? I may get it from you if the price is right.

Cheers :D

Dun like that say leh bro, I paiseh liao. :paiseh:

Anyway, I happens to have interests in them.

If you dun mind, could you PM me the price too? I may get it from you if the price is right.

Cheers :D

Bro where are you going to keep it :lol::lol:

you can have the Oyster i take the frag of mushroom hahahha

Bro where are you going to keep it :lol::lol:

you can have the Oyster i take the frag of mushroom hahahha

Buy already tompang at the tank of a good neighbor like you loh! :D;)

hello to all who have expressed an interest or pmed me to buy the mushies on shell. :P

my minister of home affairs fell in love with the mushies and asked that we should keep it and not sell it. :P;)

as she is a good supporter of my hobby, i think i should respect that request. :D

thousand apologies to all again. sorry sorry. :bow::bow::thanks:

hello to all who have expressed an interest or pmed me to buy the mushies on shell.  :P

my minister of home affairs fell in love with the mushies and asked that we should keep it and not sell it.  :P  ;)

as she is a good supporter of my hobby, i think i should respect that request.  :D

thousand apologies to all again.  sorry sorry.  :bow:  :bow:  :thanks:

No worries!

Happy that you have a great specimen to be proud of now that you are able to ID the Bi-Valve! ;)

Happy Reefing bro!

you got a supportive minister :bow:

not like my government who treats my hobby as a terrorist act :ph34r:

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef

you got a supportive minister :bow:

not like my government who treats my hobby as a terrorist act :ph34r:

hahaha... i managed to convince my fiancee to let me keep the tank.. how u might ask.. involve her in the stocking up and bringin her to diving.. tell her that since i cant dive that often, i wanna replicate the scene here.. :P

hahaha she got hydrophobia.. even though i got PADi advance.. i guess the opposites attract?? :lol:

Maybe she view my hobby as terrorist act cos took quite a few lives when starting out on this

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef