recommendation for skimmer

hi guys, just starting out on marine tanks, hope to learn from the more experienced reefers here..

for a 3ft tank(without sump) wad protein skimmer would u recommend?

preferebly mention names and product no. so i can see which one, cos i dunno anything abt skimmers..

i hv several pumps of various ratings for use with this skimmer, the strongest of which is a eheim 1260, so pump strength is not really an issue..

You asking for the cheapest or the most expensive???

How about WEPRIO 2012

JUST my 2 cents

AG_fishjumping.gif

3.5 X 2.5 X 2.5 Reef Coming up :))

136+39(UK)

163+47(US)

618+178L

it realli depends on how u stock ur tank...if u go heavy stocking is best getting at LEAST weipro 2013...

if budget allow u further....get a better budget skimmer will be macro needlewheel.. :D

cheers..

im not planning to stock too heavily with fish, plan to try and gear my tank towards having a few corals..

theres a 2nd hand macro needlewheel skimmer for sale at $75, owner sez cant rmb the model but sez its for 5ft tank, abt 1.5mths old, is it a gd deal?

and will it be overkill?

im not planning to stock too heavily with fish, plan to try and gear my tank towards having a few corals..

theres a 2nd hand macro needlewheel skimmer for sale at $75, owner sez cant rmb the model but sez its for 5ft tank, abt 1.5mths old, is it a gd deal?

and will it be overkill?

hmmz...got ppl using beckett for 3ft tank oso lehs...so y not a macro needlwheel??...

anyway...$75 is quite a gd price although it is 2nd hand...but one tink i muz sae tt needlewheel pumps are hard to locate in LFS ya??... :P

k thks guys, can gimme any rough gauge of how much various skimmers might cost at a lfs?

yup ive been digging ard in the pasar malam for gd deals, need LR as well..

some skimmer's pricing varies from different LFS....a weipro 2013 wld not cost more den $55.. ;)

hmm..

if so then i tink ill prob just settle for a weipro 2013 or 2012..

cos my budget actually quite limited, and i tink the 2013 will be able to service me well, altho the macro needlewheel is a gd deal..

u guys noe where i can get gd cheap LR?

i got a really gd offer of $1/kg, but the dude is not responding to my sms leh..

hmm..

cos my budget actually quite limited, and i tink the 2013 will be able to service me well, altho the macro needlewheel is a gd deal..

i got a really gd offer of $1/kg, but the dude is not responding to my sms leh..

$1/kg???......live rocks or dead rocks....bro..it MAY not be something gd in shape..

jus my 2 cents..

just to let u know snail, most skimmers are overated for their tank capacity. most hangon skimmers require the pump to be in the water,therefore some consider ugly + heat contribution to water. Also, there's high possibility of micro bubbles flowing into the tank. So consider carefully before buying a skimmer =)

but more topic related, in my own experience i've had better results with a macro needlewheel than a weipro. Also when u say limited budget,how limited is it?

err i got abt 200+ to buy everything?

got sand, salt and various pumps now..

i hv a eheim 1260(i tink or else could be some other similar model) which can be operated externally, will it be too strong?

but its really old, maybe 8 yrs old, still gg strong, but i guess weaker than when new..

but since lights already mean im out of my budget, im not tinking abt that for now..

hmm..

sorry bro, very busy...

2017 u want? 70 with dymax 5000l pump

and LRs fee for you..

post-304-1148825424.gifmadboy.gifmadboy.gifmadboy.gif

That just because someone doesn’t love you the way you want them to,

doesn’t mean they don’t love you with all they have.

sorry bro, very busy...

2017 u want? 70 with dymax 5000l pump

and LRs fee for you..

tts a gd deal....value for $$.....u may wan to consider it bro snailmale..

cheers for the support...

upgrading to H&S150-2001

Ben, around 15-20kgs... reali not sure man... gotta weigh..

but fee leh, u dun want meh hahaha?

post-304-1148825424.gifmadboy.gifmadboy.gifmadboy.gif

That just because someone doesn’t love you the way you want them to,

doesn’t mean they don’t love you with all they have.

personally, buy a skimmer that save your headache in future. Or alt, you can choose to start from Macro...Some reefers uses weipro and marco in their tank and works wonderfully.

Personally as time goes by, if your hands are itchy, your bioload is getting more, better get a skimmer which overkills ...bear in mind, a skimmer cannot works wonders in reefing...husbandry and patiences is also critcal!

hope these helps! :D

hi guys, just starting out on marine tanks, hope to learn from the more experienced reefers here..

for a 3ft tank(without sump) wad protein skimmer would u recommend?

preferebly mention names and product no. so i can see which one, cos i dunno anything abt skimmers..

i hv several pumps of various ratings for use with this skimmer, the strongest of which is a eheim 1260, so pump strength is not really an issue..

wow... no sump and a weipro 2017, rated for 300G/1000l tank. :o pls re-consider....

Here a pic if you haven't seen it. : http://www.weipro.com/english/products.php...=2&laywer1=2192

That ehiem pump is not going to do it for that skimmer.

me thinks a 2011 or 12 would suffice. One can be had for <20 if you look hard enough.