Is diving for me?

blueheaven

Just wondering, do fat people float better or skinny people float better? :huh:

I don't think it depends on whether you're skinny or fat. It depends on how bouyant you are. I know that my bouyancy is really bad... I can wear 6-8 weights, deflate my BC, exhale the air from my lungs, with my friend hanging off my ankle and I'll still be floating!! :rolleyes:

erm, i believe fat ppl float better

due to the excess fats that is more buoyant as compared to the muscles

i am fat, i need 4 weights, while most of my friends only need 1 or none at all

of course, your equipment will determine whether you need more weights or less weights as well

i'm sure once u are more comfortable wif diving, u will find urself using less weights.. so, no worries on it.. i started wif 3-4 weights when i started learning diving.. now, i'm down to 1 or zero when i'm wearing just my rashguard + berms

cityofangels, the initial 3m of descent is usually very slow. Do your buoyancy check to check whether are u correctly weighted.. also, once in the water, if u find ur fins always sinking, chances are, u are too heavy. at 6-8 weights, that is really a lot but i have seen worst.. so, dun worry abt it. also, next time when u descend, try to relax (and if possible, keep ur profile streamline, i.e. like the shape of 1)fully exhale all the air out from ur lungs and take a slightly longer pause than usual before taking in the next breath and make sure that the BC is fully deflated.

all these should help u to descend slightly faster.

A question for poly divers (if there are any out there)

Do you guys get discounted rates or are the rates as per normal? :huh:

waaa very good advice leh. Now ppl old bird liao :lol:

me aint no old bird.. just a salted bird that is currently lack of diving.. :lol:

kelstorm: Thanks for the bit of advice once again! :):peace:

no worries.. another trip is as u descend, tilt ur body to the right so that all the air in the BC will be forced to the left side and as u deflate the BC.

Be careful when u descend too fast, if u cannot equalise in time, u will feel a sharp pain on the ears... slow descend is good in calm waters.. fast descend is required when there is a strong surface current and need to get down quickly...

All these skills comes wif practise... :)