Minimalistic Anemone Tank

cci[RR]us

They are not getting along well. :( The bigger clown although was removed from the tank for 2 days, when it reentered the tank, it attacked the smaller clown.

I'll pass this clown to my uncle this weekend. :(

(~ cci[RR]us ~)
A pair of Nemos :: Deep Sand Bed
Solite 2x24W T5 :: Prizm Skimmer with Overflow attachment

A full shot of my tank now. The pump is freaking big to the right. :( I haven't really arrange my orange mushrooms so right now they lie to the left of my tank.

full2pf.jpg

(~ cci[RR]us ~)

Some updates of my tangs! :yeah: They are free of ich now... whew!

browntang7so.jpg

sailfin3tu.jpg

A new comer, a tiny blue tang. As usual, it is having ich now but hopefully the ich would go away after a week or 2, just like the rest of the tangs. :)

bluetang1fa.jpg

(~ cci[RR]us ~)

us,Jan 16 2006, 07:19 PM] My plate coral (taken in the old tank; days ago)

platecoral8jh.jpg

My tiny sun coral frag (opens only in actinic coz my PL is too bright)

suncoral1gy.jpg

Any suggestions for my tank? Like in the LR/corals arrangement, future corals or livestock to acquire? Thanks!

bro

saw some brown patches sticking on ur anemone n plates...

Do u notice it???

Any1 can advise if tis is harmful????

Yeah, I'm upgrading to a bigger tank this June. ;)

(~ cci[RR]us ~)

bro

saw some brown patches sticking on ur anemone n plates...

Do u notice it???

Any1 can advise if tis is harmful????

Heh, I have no idea if they are harmful or not. :erm:

(~ cci[RR]us ~)

us,Mar 5 2006, 11:15 AM]

Heh, I have no idea if they are harmful or not. :erm:

i oso dun noe harmful anot???

If u montior them carefully,u can c tat they will move abt one lor....

They will spread to e other corals too....

hmm...any expert here can ident wats tat n isit harmful???

Cool! .. Do update .. hmm .. so wad size u planning?

No idea yet, but likely to be 4 feet. Intending to focus on tangs and a pair of (tomato?) clowns. I'll post ask for comments when the time comes. :lol:

Here's an update of my tank, in the form of a video! :heh: Download the 36 seconds, 640x480 XviD video here. :eyebrow:

(~ cci[RR]us ~)

Mine never bothered with the plate coral. In fact, I read that clowns rarely play with plate corals.

(~ cci[RR]us ~)

Wah! Do you have a pic or video of them playing in the plate coral? I'm curious to see them in action in the plate coral! Amazing leh... :o

(~ cci[RR]us ~)

They are not getting along well. :( The bigger clown although was removed from the tank for 2 days, when it reentered the tank, it attacked the smaller clown.

I'll pass this clown to my uncle this weekend. :(

~Updates on my clowns~

After a month or so, I brought my golden maroon clown back to my tank from my uncle's tank.

The newcomer, the smaller golden maroon clown, has been enjoying my 2 feet tank without the disturbance of the bigger clown, which was originally the owner of the anemone. When I released the bigger clown back into my tank, it seems that it couldn't recognize the tank as it original home. It went around the tank and look-look-see-see. :fear:

Then, it settled into the anemone. The smaller clown went towards the bigger clown and thankfully, there was no fighting. They checked each other out, as they carried out the "standard operating procedure". B)

As the bigger clown come close to the smaller clown, the smaller clown shivered and curled as a sign that it is willing to be dominated. The process happens whenever they come close together and check each other out.

After a day, there was still no sign of fighting. There are no visible injuries.

I think this is a good way to keep two unmated-pair of clowns in a tank. :eyebrow:

(~ cci[RR]us ~)

• 5 months later...

Heh, I have sold away the anemone and 2 clowns to a bro here. Now, I'm having a Tang Tank (with some mushrooms, that's all)! :D It's not really a new tank since I had just changed the livestock and rearranged the LRs.

Working life sucks so I hardly have time to manage my fish tank. I won't be getting a bigger, more advanced setup anytime soon. :(

(~ cci[RR]us ~)