WORMS!

ryan

i just put in some marc weiss coral vital and a day later...

i see many many kinds of worms crawling around my tank!

therez fat short ones, skinny Long white ones, the common sand worm for fishing, some wierd browish worm...

eek!

are they paracites?

will they reproduce like mad?

will fish eat them?

my tank is currently cycling at the moment...

I wonder why you are adding supplements to your tank while it is cycling. <_<

They might be bristle worms and I don't think the Marc Weiss products gave you the worms or made the worms come out.

They are beneficial and part of the marine ecosystem. They help consume uneaten food and process detritus. The also help keep the sandbed healthy.

Given good conditions, they will reproduce quickly.

Some fishes like dottybacks are known to eat them.

i just put in some marc weiss coral vital and a day later...

i see many many kinds of worms crawling around my tank!

therez fat short ones, skinny Long white ones, the common sand worm for fishing, some wierd browish worm...

eek!

are they paracites?

will they reproduce like mad?

will fish eat them?

my tank is currently cycling at the moment...

when did u see them? day or nite? cos i was told they are nocturnal creatures... if they're crawling out in the day, better check to see if ur LRs are ok. cos the last time i saw loads of worms crawling in my tank was the time when most of my LR died!!! u wun want that to happen to u.

btw, if u dun wan ur worms, can i hv them?? hehe....

Don't worry too much Ryan, me experience the same thing quite often too...It seems that these bristleworms are sensitive to elements dat we add into the tank (maybe too quickly, i guess), cause i have seen a few creeping out of their holes when i dripped Kalkweisser into the tank!!! :P

I wonder why you are adding supplements to your tank while it is cycling. <_<

They might be bristle worms and I don't think the Marc Weiss products gave you the worms or made the worms come out.

They are beneficial and part of the marine ecosystem. They help consume uneaten food and process detritus. The also help keep the sandbed healthy.

Given good conditions, they will reproduce quickly.

Some fishes like dottybacks are known to eat them.

its supposed to speed up the cycling cuz it has the bacteria and enzymes...

bottle said dose for first 30 days every day...

the worms come out at night...

my coral sand is also turning brown at the surface and towards the front...

thats where it gets some sun light...

is it algae?

bad?

thanks guys!

Clowntrigger is right, possibly diatoms which are quite harmless.

About Marc Weiss product, let's just say that it has a lot of non-supporters in US and UK. ;)

oh ok but my tank is 3 weeks old now and i think my cycling is finished already... ammonia is safe and i'll get nitrite tester to test on sunday...

so if my tank is cycled and the brown stuff doesn't disappear then?

can i add fish yet? with the brown stuff around?

dow much water do i change after cycling is complete??

After the first cycle is completed, if you have no fish or corals in the tank, do a 99% waterchange.

Don't worry about the diatom, if you have a good nutrient export system, the diatoms are self-limiting.

exactly how it was set up?

its a 2 feet tank...

12 kg of coral sand...

11 kg of live rocks...

eheim 2213 with angel biorings and carbon and ehfi substrat...

coral life salt...

basically threw everything in on the first day...

then 3 days later i added a clown cuz i was told that fish could speed up cycling...

it dies after 3 days...

then 2 weeks after set up i got the marc weiss coral vital and have been adding it daily...

todays the 20th day...

the tank is exposed to some light in the afternoon as its in the garden but under the shade with a screen of bamboo chics that is lowered when it gets bright...

i also have 1x36watts pl 10000k and 1x36watts pl 50/50 6500k

which i stopped turning on after 4-5 days after set up cuz i was told it was not needed for cycling...

i also have an anomone which happened to be clinging on to a live rock i bought and seems to be quite happy...

i plan to get a small protein skimmer and a dc fan set next week...

anything else?

Becareful! With that much Liverock you better have a cover in case the rocks jump out of the tank and run away! :lol:

LR are only alive because of the bacteria and microfauna. They will survive the cycle fine.

• 1 year later...
After the first cycle is completed, if you have no fish or corals in the tank, do a 99% waterchange.

Don't worry about the diatom, if you have a good nutrient export system, the diatoms are self-limiting.

erm... just to ask, is 99% water change really needed after the first cycle? :thanks: in advance

oh shit! this thread is 2 years old! :yeah:

from what i was told from the other guys here.

a 50+% waterchange is sufficient.

just did my waterchange for my new tank 3 weeks ago.

changed about 60% of my tank total water volume.

cycling over already. now can add me corals! :P:D:lol:

oh shit! this thread is 2 years old! :yeah:

from what i was told from the other guys here.

a 50+% waterchange is sufficient.

just did my waterchange for my new tank 3 weeks ago.

changed about 60% of my tank total water volume.

cycling over already. now can add me corals! :P:D:lol:

wah really hor..... 2yrs old liao... i din notice until you tell me...

My tank is forever laden with diatoms because I change water so often..using tapwater....so the diatoms forever have silicates to consume..

I've grown to learn to live with diatoms...since copepods feed on them...and I LOVE copepods. :lol: