Atlantis Set up (Marina Square)

seamonkee

Ok bros. In case I get "accused" again of firing away at another shop. I just want to clarify that I am just highlighting this interesting setup and asking your opinion about it. So with the coast clear, this is my question:

Have u guys been to Atlantis at Marina Square and if so, what's your comment about their setup? I find it interesting and really unconventional and that's why I am sharing this....

It's not really a LFS (they still sell some Livestock occassionally) but they specialised in contemporary built-in Aquarium Setup for houses. They feature their tanks a lot in some of the TCS drama (See Holland V recently and keep a look out for one of the house [Xiang Yun's] with lots of aquarium in it)

Here's their website:

Atlantis...

Anyway, I was at their shop recently and had a chance to take a peek at their setup. It is actually a "tank-in-tank" IOS kind of setup. The main tank is actually in another tank. Well, a pix says more than a thousand words (See below for crude drawing). Hope I am not infringing any copyright issues... hehe...

Their claim is that it is a whole lot better than conventional setup (see their website for comparison chart). And yup, I admit their overall aquarium is very nice and artistic, but the saddest thing is that they strictly don't do sump/refugium system even if u want to use them purely just for design purposes.

post-17-1068610827.jpg

It's cool to integrate fishtanks into your interior decor.

I'm glad they are not building those slimline ala plasma TV type of hangon to the wall fishtanks... those are very very hard to maintain and don't provide a good environment for marine livestock, IMO.

Maybe one of these days, I'll pop by and take a look!

It's cool to integrate fishtanks into your interior decor.

I'm glad they are not building those slimline ala plasma TV type of hangon to the wall fishtanks... those are very very hard to maintain and don't provide a good environment for marine livestock, IMO.

Maybe one of these days, I'll pop by and take a look!

AT, u are terribly wrong. They have that as well.... though I must comment they are longish rather than tall...

They have this greyish-looking surgeon fish that has blue polk-a-dots on it in one of the display tank.... cool... wonder what kind of fish that is....

not bad wat...

Yup. But my question is... is it as good as a sump? Also, u must consider there's no space for a refugium....

Oh yeah, one thing to highlight, they have the backdrop and sides of the tank in some white concrete? or plaster? can't really figure it out...

hey guys... i been to that place many times...

the owner is a very friendly person... good customer service... keke.. ;)

then hor... although thier corals seems to be expensive...

but then there is some quality... is worth the price... :lol:

however... they would be shifting to IMM soon liao... coz thier lease is up...

and it is so far for me..

cant patronise thier shop anymore.... :cry2:

anyway... juz wanna sae that shop is good...:rolleyes:

They base their concepts more on interior design.

They do quite a few designs of the plasma type mounted onto the wall up to 4ft in length(& its HDB approved) but its only abt 3-5" wide.They mainly run undergravels for these setups and the planted ones or guppy ones are ok. The overall finished sleak look is quite good since you pay for it.

The filtration design posted should be fine for fish only marine and maybe a few high nutrient tolerable corals(if they provide enough light). But for a full reef......the filtration concept is not much different from a side internal overflow(like those LH designs).There will be limitations in the long run.(i think its the main 2.5ft or 3ft tank at the front of the shop...but that was months ago!)

But i do see a problem with the false bottom- 1st you will have to watch your rockwork placement..and also the amount in weight. 2nd...what happens when coralline,particulate build up,tube worms...and worse of all aiptasia grow in that space?(using a powerhead to blow beneath won't remove aiptasia or coralline trust me).

but that's just my opinion. :angel:

hey guys... i been to that place many times...

the owner is a very friendly person... good customer service... keke.. ;)

then hor... although thier corals seems to be expensive...

but then there is some quality... is worth the price... :lol:

however... they would be shifting to IMM soon liao... coz thier lease is up...

and it is so far for me..

cant patronise thier shop anymore.... :cry2:

anyway... juz wanna sae that shop is good...:rolleyes:

I agree that the people there are nice and friendly. :) They are even kind enough to allow me to open and see their system inside....

Hope I dun cause any misunderstanding (it happens before that some people were upset thinking I am scrutinizing their fave shop whenever I mention them or comment about their setup). Very careful with my words these days... U never know how many patriotic reefers there are in here who are even willing to die defending for their fave LFS... ;)

It's just that this is the first time I see such a setup and I am wondering whether it's good or not for the fish and corals...

But overall, very very nice tank setup! If the system is good, I can consider that than using a sump since it really free a lot of space for the bottom of your cabinet...

Yup, shops come and go and Marina cause the rental there damn expensive lor!

Been there a few times. The owner is very friendly and he even showed me that all his fishes are quarrantined and already feeding.

He showed me this tank with a branch sticking out in the middle of the tank and told me that it is a Zen design. :lol:

If it is just for decoration in your house, I think they have very nice tanks but if it is for an hobby, I think we should still go back to the standard tanks.

Just my 2 cents worth (sounds familiar) :lol:

I have one. Infact, its my first tank. 5-6yrs liao. now lying ard. Read up & setup yrself. Dun engage them to setup, they know nuts!! I paid a few k for the 'school fee'!!! :erm:

Its a difficult to maintain tank where detrius will stuck at the bottom, or anything dying below will produce a lot of NO3.

Overall, a gd tank for beginner as u will experience all kinds of problems & spend most of yr time maintaining it. In the end, u will learn a lot faster. :whistle:evil:

Wei :)

I don't see the point of having the false bottom? it serves zero purpose and isn't practical. its so much space set aside simply to channel water from the right hand side to the left hand side. if the idea is to set the main tank itself squarely in the middle for aesthetic value then might as well have the sump behind the tank?