SG level for Reef Tank

chaniz

Can I know what's the best SG level for a fishes with corals (mainly LPS) tank?

1.020, 1.022, ..23, ..24 or ..25??

Currently 1.020

Fishes doing well :) but Corals not doing very well. :(

Some corals not opening and some slowly die off. :(

Ca - 450 +/-

Khd - 10

Ph - 8.0 +/-

Please help.. ;)

Can I know what's the best SG level for a fishes with corals (mainly LPS) tank?

1.020, 1.022, ..23, ..24 or ..25??

Currently 1.020

Fishes doing well :) but Corals not doing very well. :(

Some corals not opening and some slowly die off. :(

Ca - 450 +/-

Khd - 10

Ph - 8.0 +/-

Please help.. ;)

If you're CA correct 450 but pH only 8, there is possibility your Mg is very low. The ratio of Ca:Mg is roughly 1:3 so Mg should be around 1250....

Check your Mg and dose it if necessary.

RED SEA MAX - BLACK, JBJ ARCTICA DBA-075, HYDOR PRIME 30, VORTECH MP10

If you're CA correct 450 but pH only 8, there is possibility your Mg is very low. The ratio of Ca:Mg is roughly 1:3 so Mg should be around 1250....

Check your Mg and dose it if necessary.

Then what should my Ph be? :o

Currently using chiller to maintain at 26 - 26.5 deg C. ;)

Just to share.

Copy from another thread..

colinsoon Posted:

fishes can take it as long as they are not shocked by the sudden change in SG/KH level. i have seen fishes survive for years in an SG 1.005 environment. it could be less, cos its juz damn low. and the marine fellas all grew up and grew fat. 2 fox face and 1 convict. same thing for hgh SG level cases.

jasment Posted:

actually it will be good for a reef tank or fish only tank to be in the region of 1.025-1.027... though fishes actually survive better in lower salinity levels cause they will need less energy to clean their kidneys off the salt. please dun ask me to show articles, i remembered read it somewhere and this is believe it or not..

anyway, for a much different salinity, bro colin is correct to say that there must be proper acclimatising period for this change.. and bro chaniz, 1.020 is a little low, and if you insist on that, please acclimatise the ls properly over a period of days and not hours,, bro vandeam, yours a little high leh.. waste salt la... 26-27 will be good...

Any other comment or knowledge to share?? :thanks:

Will try to increase slowly to 1.023.. ;)

Afraid that 1.025 or higher will harm my fishes. :o

lol i dun use salt mix lah .. I some time lazy TOP up water with NSW lol i do water change with NSW .. at 1.017 but as we all know water evaporate but not salt hence my SG raise over time .

like they all say lower SG , ur fish use less force to cleanse their system but i recommend u to push to 1.024 over a period of 4days

just my2cent.

6x2x2.5 FOWLR

Skimmer - Recirculating Custom Beckett Fr - Skimz Fr Return - OR6500/1262 Wavemaker - Tunze 6060 x 2 Light - 2x5ft FL Blue+White

Chiller - CL650

4x4x2 SPS

Skimmer - DeltecAP851 Fr - Skimz FR Return - OR6500 Wavemaker - 2xTunze wavebox +Ts24 Light - 3x250w MH + 8 ATi t5

CR - Deltec pF601s Chiller - Arctica Titanium Commercial Chiller

3.5x2x2 REEF

Skimmer - HnS150-2001 Fr - Skimz Fr Wavemaker - Tunze Ts 24 Return - 1262 Lights - Solite 2x150W MH + 4 Ati T5 CR - Skimz CR NR - Nr1000 Chiller - Arctica Titanium 1/5

Your PH is low.

Should be 8.2- 8.3

Check your MG.

Best to maintain at 1380

SG best to maintain between 1.023- 1.025

Regards

Sherman

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Then what should my Ph be? :o

Currently using chiller to maintain at 26 - 26.5 deg C. ;)

My artica chiller also set to 26 degree with variation on 0.5 degree. This what advice from my regular LFS, Mg in salt water is the high content followed by Ca. If the Mg & Ca ration is not correct the pH usually will drop. last time I was using test kit for pH but now I am using permanent sensor in my tank, so if I see the pH drop by 0.1-0.3 I will test my water and most of the time I found the Mg level is dropping.

RED SEA MAX - BLACK, JBJ ARCTICA DBA-075, HYDOR PRIME 30, VORTECH MP10

for LPS i would reccommend to be 1.025-1.030.Maintain at 1.027.My Bubble open very big at 1.027.

girlone.png

Like what angelfishlover said you need to bring up your salinity to 1.025 :D

3.5ft X 2 ft X 2.5 ft

Deltec Protein Skimmer AP 600 - Eheim Compact 1000

Deltec - NF 509

Teco RA 640 Chiller - Aqua-Bee UP 2000i Aquarium Pump

Aqua-Bee UP 7000 Aquarium Pump - return

Skimz Fluidized Reactor- Aqua-Bee UP 2000 tee off to NF 509 and CR

DE Lightings 8 x 39watts

Turbelle stream Kit TS07

I have already increased my SG from 1.020 to 1.023. ;)

Hope it's enough as many suggested to bring up to 1.025 or even more. Worried that my fishes cannot take it. :o

Fishes will do just fine in 1.025 to 1.027. In fact, fishes and inverts from red sea are accustomed to higher SG.

The reason why we have kept 1.020 or even lower was based on old literature. During that time, keeping fishes below the ocean's sg was thought to prevent diseases. However, with the advancement in technology and the shifting of paradigm into reef tanks with inverts, most reefers reports better successes when we keep the sg similiar to the reefs ie in the region of 1.025.

HTH ;)

i think maintain it at 1.026 so if got evaporation it will not overshot.Now i dunno what other corals should i get.Seems like Bubbles are the most hardiest corals ever.Even though i'm a begginer i started on reef LPS tank already.

girlone.png

i think maintain it at 1.026 so if got evaporation it will not overshot.Now i dunno what other corals should i get.Seems like Bubbles are the most hardiest corals ever.Even though i'm a begginer i started on reef LPS tank already.

You can also try Caulastrea aka Candycane, they are just as hardy.

Caulastrea

HTH ;)

Ok.Where can i get it???I am also searching for hammers sold at 25-30bucks..

girlone.png

Ok.Where can i get it???I am also searching for hammers sold at 25-30bucks..

Saw quite a large selection at Harlequin Marine yesterday. ;)

What is it the hammer or candycane???

girlone.png

What is it the hammer or candycane???

What I saw was hammers, not sure whether there were alot of candycane as I was occupied by the maximas... hehehehe :paiseh:

You can also try Golden Octopus, they frequently carries stocks for hammers and candycane.

HTH ;)

yep agree with bro Chaniz... still got plenty of hammers, elegance n bubbles at Iwarna this afternoon

how much does iwarna sell???Nid someone to fetch me after school to go iwarna.

girlone.png