A new beginning

wilsontantw

Thanks Jacky and onizuka(nice meeting u yday bro).

I'm using a powdered form of magnesium. Need to create stock solution and dose no more than 40ml/day. Will do a test tonight and see how.

Will be boosting cal up to 450 too.

Kh is also another key thing, but I do dose weekly just not measured. (which is dangerous)

how about doing a water change? :lol: I believe my water changes help me maintain my parameters, especially since i'm not keeping sps.

bro. I'm now on weekly water change. But I guess it's those bleaching corals and sps that are using up the magnesium at higher quantity than what the salt contains.

thanks bro. Exactly what I was looking for!

Oh yes. Anyone knows what happens if I use expired test kits? Haha.

One of my kit, I think expires in dec09.

thanks bro. Exactly what I was looking for!

Oh yes. Anyone knows what happens if I use expired test kits? Haha.

One of my kit, I think expires in dec09.

Reading may not be accurate, that's all.

Did another measurement of Mg earlier, it went up to 990 (+90).

This is with a dose of 40ml on 75G tank. (+15G sump).

Quite power.

I prepared abt 226ml (8oz) of the stock solution with only 4 teaspoon of brightwell aquatics Mg powder.

At this rate, should be able to boost mg up to 1300 by Thursday.

Good stuff.

Quite power.

I prepared abt 226ml (8oz) of the stock solution with only 4 teaspoon of brightwell aquatics Mg powder.

Good stuff.

KH?

Quite power.

Good stuff.

wondering if you can pro-rata the effect like that.....

keep us posted on thursday. very curious to know.

wondering if you can pro-rata the effect like that.....

keep us posted on thursday. very curious to know.

That was a simple assumption only. I also hope it works as I thought.

Dose 40ml = +90 (after full 24hrs), so if times 4 days should hit 900+360.

Aga aga lah. Well I dosed once more yday, if today's readin = 990+90(1080), then I guess it should be quite accurate.

That was a simple assumption only. I also hope it works as I thought.

Dose 40ml = +90 (after full 24hrs), so if times 4 days should hit 900+360.

Aga aga lah. Well I dosed once more yday, if today's readin = 990+90(1080), then I guess it should be quite accurate.

hehe... I am betting that it might take more than 5 days.

drinks on you if I am right :P

Hi experts,

Its been awhile since i last use the salifert KH testkit, am i right to say there should be 2 bottles of liquid?

1 slightly bigger bottle (red solution with red cap)

label reads: KH (batch number: xxxx-D)

1 smaller bottle (clear solution with white cap)

label reads: Alkalinity Check Solution

7.0dKH +/- 0.3

SHould there be 1 more bottle?? Strange, somehow feels that something is missing.

hehe... I am betting that it might take more than 5 days.

drinks on you if I am right :P

woah! are you good or are you goooood?!!?!?

i figured you could be right, i did another test earlier, and it reads 960 (dropped back down!)

so i doubled the dosage to 80ml tonight!

BOOSTER!

now, will observe and see if everything okies for tomorrow.

btw: how did u know it's not going to work this way?? Anyway, i'm going for some single malt whisky tmrw night with my vendor... Drinks on me! come!

woah! are you good or are you goooood?!!?!?

i figured you could be right, i did another test earlier, and it reads 960 (dropped back down!)

so i doubled the dosage to 80ml tonight!

BOOSTER!

now, will observe and see if everything okies for tomorrow.

btw: how did u know it's not going to work this way?? Anyway, i'm going for some single malt whisky tmrw night with my vendor... Drinks on me! come!

lol.... I don't drink alcohol. Just kopi will do. You forgot I mentioned old man like me drinks hot drink lah.

Mg are not so easily raised. Just keep on dosing the recommended quantity for your tank volume. it might take about 2 - 3 weeks to get it up to 1300. MG are consumed by daily by your inhabitants, lost through evaporation top up and water change.

When doing WC, best is to prepare the water a night before, do a check on Mg level and add the additives and leave it overnight.

** Maybe next time for KH, use the API test kit. 1 drop = 1 dKH. easy.

i also use this brand for my dKH but seems not accurate leh. or maybe i anyhow use? hehezz... everytime i test, always the 7th drop change to yellow. brought to lfs to do testing and it was 5.4

God Blessed all who appreciate His wonderful and beautiful creations.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

my first reef aquarium 15jan2010

3x2x2ft EOS 10mm tank with sump//deltec sc2060 skimmer//arctica 1/10hp chiller

maxpect g2 170w led//vortech mp40w wavemaker//eheim 1262 universal pump

eheim compact+ 3000 chiller pump//caribsea ocean direct live sands 40lbs

and other misc...

bro hows the alvepora doing in your tank?

seems like to be doing well bro...

most of the polyps are open during the day. (but as i'm only home at night, can only see partial opening).

btw: i switched my vortech to short pulse mode, it's brilliant! now everything is swaying... i can seriously consider selling the nanowavebox to recuperate some $$$ back.

any offer (only decent offers will be considered, as the condition is almost 9.9/10)

lol.... I don't drink alcohol. Just kopi will do. You forgot I mentioned old man like me drinks hot drink lah.

Mg are not so easily raised. Just keep on dosing the recommended quantity for your tank volume. it might take about 2 - 3 weeks to get it up to 1300. MG are consumed by daily by your inhabitants, lost through evaporation top up and water change.

When doing WC, best is to prepare the water a night before, do a check on Mg level and add the additives and leave it overnight.

not a problem at all. kopi/tea... can... btw, sake also can be drank hot you know. :)

i usually prepare WC at least 2-3 days in advance... but usually do not check anything, just dose.. coz i believe Tropic Marine Pro-reef should be sufficient.. But u could be right. better to do some tests first... (this weekend's job).

btw: is API accurate for KH?? i really think one 'part' is missing.. but if the above 2 solutions are right, then my Kh is at 9.6, which is pretty ok right?

i also use this brand for my dKH but seems not accurate leh. or maybe i anyhow use? hehezz... everytime i test, always the 7th drop change to yellow. brought to lfs to do testing and it was 5.4

and LFS is using Salifert?

btw: i switched my vortech to short pulse mode, it's brilliant! now everything is swaying... i can seriously consider selling the nanowavebox to recuperate some $$$ back.

any offer (only decent offers will be considered, as the condition is almost 9.9/10)

so many features, dun know when and how to use all.. what's the color of the short pulse mode?

and other misc...

and LFS is using Salifert?

yeah.

and other misc...

so many features, dun know when and how to use all.. what's the color of the short pulse mode?

you arh.... @#$#!$%^#%*&&()^*(

set the knob to the wave power you want.

press mode to till you see blue light.

press set once.

turn knob to adjust the pulsing interval that you want.

press set and hold it till it blink blue green white to save your setting.

not a problem at all. kopi/tea... can... btw, sake also can be drank hot you know. :)

i usually prepare WC at least 2-3 days in advance... but usually do not check anything, just dose.. coz i believe Tropic Marine Pro-reef should be sufficient.. But u could be right. better to do some tests first... (this weekend's job).

btw: is API accurate for KH?? i really think one 'part' is missing.. but if the above 2 solutions are right, then my Kh is at 9.6, which is pretty ok right?

yeah 9.6 is good enough. just FYI : the higher your KH is, the more stable will be your PH.

based on my memory ah... but you better check the manual to be more accurate..

press 'mode' until you see blue colour.

press 'set'

turn the 'speed dial' to middle or slightly more than middle (i.e. the highest flow you want)

press 'set' (the colour should change to pulsing blue - i think)

turn the 'speed dial' back to 8 o'clock or 7 o'clock position, you should hear some water pulsing sound. (i.e. to set the pulse duration)

press 'set' to save (you should see green + blue pulse)

-- Remember to reset your night mode --

you arh.... @#$#!$%^#%*&&()^*(

set the knob to the wave power you want.

press mode to till you see blue light.

press set once.

turn knob to adjust the pulsing interval that you want.

press set and hold it till it blink blue green white to save your setting.

aiyo, so confusing.. didnt all the mode already preset? just press mode to switch from mode to mode right? :)

and other misc...

aiyo, so confusing.. didnt all the mode already preset? just press mode to switch from mode to mode right? :)

forget it. just go to purple or orange light...... :P