Feeding hammer head during cycling

I am posting this qns on behalf of my friend.

1) Can you feed your soft corals like hammer head during the cyclying process ?

2) How to get rid of white spots if your entire tank of fishes have got it ? Will dosing of med have any effects on the soft or hard corals ?

thks

Cycling process? and your coral is inside? in the first instance, the feeding shld not be a concern, but rather, shld it be there for a start.

since already there, also bo pian liao. i think better dun feed. it'll make the water quality worse :)

For white spots...there are diff methods to take care of it. do a search. i will not add any med in the tank with corals if i were you...especially Copper, unless you need more rocks.

2) How to get rid of white spots if your entire tank of fishes have got it ? Will dosing of med have any effects on the soft or hard corals ?

thks

1. Hammer is NOT a soft coral.

2. If you use copper sulphate, all inverts will die.

3. Since its only in the cycling phase, ask your friend to start ALL OVER AGAIN, this time with more patience and knowledge.

Yap Yap... Dun feed the coral... Just give it ample lighting for now... Only feed it after the cycling and if the coral survives..

And as for white spot, most likely the medcine will be copper based and inverts are mostly copper intolerant so it would be better if you place the fishes in a hospital tank and treat them there...

But if cannot remove the fishes then actually I think that adding a cleaner wrasse or cleaner shrimps will help... Dunno how much, though.. Correct me if I'm wrong about this pls, Thanks...

Please DO NOT buy cleaner wrasses or cleaner shrimps thinking that they will control white spot.

For one Cleaner wrasses will starve in captivity eventually and might most likely succomb to white spot itself.

White spot stems from poor water quality. If nothing is done to improve the quality of the tank water, medication will simply be a waste of time and money.

Will strongly suggest putting the coral up for temm lodging in someone elses tank while restarting, else white spot will be a permanent, annoying and expensive plague.

thks

Why is the hammer inside the tank when it is cycling at the first place? :o:huh:

ORDed

back to studies and reefing again..

Sigh... I feel so sad for the LS and coral... but I'm open to housing hammerheads! :D

White-Spots can be treated effectively by feeding the fish with Food that has been soaked in Garlic Juice. But it being the cycling period, they are not likely to survive.

The cleaner wrasse is an obligate parasite feeder. Very few actually get weaned onto frozen or prepared foods in captivity. Even so, they might die in a few months as the food we provide is simply too different from their natural diet.

Those who manage to keep it for extended periods in captivity are lucky.

These fish should be left in the ocean where their services are truly required, and the only way in which their collection will decrease is when aquarist demand for the fish goes down.

I think there's already a lot of information on white spot treatment under the 'disease' forum.

but anyway, the parasites responsible for white spots will always be in your tank as long as there are fishes for it to host- on. This means that treating the visibly infected fish in a hospital tank, while leaving the rest of the 'don't look affected' fish in the tank, will not be very helpful as the parasites will still be inside the tank (unless copper -based med is added to the main tank, which is not possible when there are corals and other invetebrates in your tank). This translates to putting your 'cured' fish back to the tank, is as good as not treating them for a start.

all fishes should be removed and placed in the hospital tank, leaving the main tank fishless for close to a month. Read up on Hyposalinity method, the safest non-medication methos that is very effective. But please make sure that the water in the hospital tank is in pristine condition, if not, you're just wasting your time, and probably killing your fishes.