My Juwel Rio 180 Marine Tank

lightningstrike

currently, tanks is about 2 to 3 mths old.

livestock:

2 lobsters

2 skunk cleaner shrimp

1 harlequin shrimp

1 red fire shrimp

1 golden head sleeper goby

2 spotted cardinals

1 blue tang

1 yellow tang

1 purple tang

1 kole tang

1 maroon clown

1 tomato clown

1 african clown

• Replies 50

to bwilly,

from what i've read from the internet, about 1.25 to 1.5 pounds of LR per gallon of water will work out nicely...... and if i did my maths right, my tank is about 40 gallons, so roughtly i need 55 pounds of LRs, which is about 25kg

currently, i m still using 2 x 25W FL (10000k and 420 actinic blue). and my corals seems to hv open up nicely so far for 2 to 3 mths now....... so i dun c the need to upgrade to t5 at the moment. what do u think????

depends on what u wanna keep.

lighting has adverse effects on coral colouration too.

my finger leather was light brown when i had FL lights but turned to solid pink after my PL change :lol::lol::lol::lol:

considering to purchase 2 t5s to add to my 2 fl now....... wonder if it does any good...... dun wanna waste monies....... no monies liao...... 2 T5 = 39 x 2 = 78W

plus what i hv now will be a total of 128W!!!

currently, i m still using 2 x 25W FL (10000k and 420 actinic blue). and my corals seems to hv open up nicely so far for 2 to 3 mths now....... so i dun c the need to upgrade to t5 at the moment. what do u think????

With those lighting, IMO i think your your lps coral will waste away in matter of time. Thats way to little light for lps coral. ANd btw the tank is way to small for 4 tangs to thrive happily. IMO it is already way to small for a blue tang, do you know that they can get up to abt 1 foot. BTW your tank seem to have too many fishes especially tangs which can produce tons of waste, youi might want to consider sellinga few or even all.

blue.tang..you are a nice guy...:D

Niec tank, but I'm quite worry that your powerhead will suck your fish. As the 1st 2 pics show that you have a short pipe attached to the inlet of the PH......

btw, if you want to sell your tangs, let me know hor..I'll be interested to get 1 or 2. My is also 3ft, so we share the bioload lar.. :D

thks a million blue tang....... as for the rest of the comments, thks i will keep them in mind....... but at the moment, will still keep all my ls........ should be getting 2 T5s end of the mth..... waiting for bonus!!!!! once again, thks every one......... by the way, what corals in my tank r considered lps???? can someone pls enlighten me!!!!

Bubbles are usually quite bullet-proof...I used to have 1 that was bleached thru the cycling process (due to tank leak and new setup in 1 day)....after cycling was over it completely regained its original green color.

Just keep it stress free and make sure nothing falls on it and it should be fine.