Another DIY LED lighting

Jameshong

Total Cost and Parts Used (SGD)

TotalCost.jpg

Hi Bro James,

Can you tell us where exactly did you buy your leds from? Are your W42180's U1 (90 - 100 lm) or U2 (100 - 118 lm)? I couldn't find the same part anywhere (including DealExtreme and Kaidomain) that sells it at $4.80 each.

Tks

Hi Bro James,

Can you tell us where exactly did you buy your leds from? Are your W42180's U1 (90 - 100 lm) or U2 (100 - 118 lm)? I couldn't find the same part anywhere (including DealExtreme and Kaidomain) that sells it at $4.80 each.

Tks

DealExtreme quoted USD and mine is already converted to SGD la :evil: ! And the Exchange rate last time and now is different also meh so may get cheaper if you buy by bulk from them now :whistle.

DealExtreme now selling at US3.22~3.42 if buy in bulk.

Convert to SGD is 4.52~4.80 dollar only

If I'm not wrong should be U1 :rolleyes: .

DealExtreme quoted USD and mine is already converted to SGD la :evil: ! And the Exchange rate last time and now is different also meh so may get cheaper if you buy by bulk from them now :whistle.

DealExtreme now selling at US3.22~3.42 if buy in bulk.

Convert to SGD is 4.52~4.80 dollar only

If I'm not wrong should be U1 :rolleyes: .

Oh, I see it now. Thanks, bro. Do you know of other places to purchase led drivers besides SM Systems? They don't carry stocks for the kind of drivers we need and takes 4-6 wks to deliver.

Sorry, I have only buy from SM system..perhap you can look for Sherman. He may have lobang lor :rolleyes: .

Hi bro James,

I have a few more questions if you don't mind:

1. Are you driving 18 PW leds with one ELN-60-48? How do you do that? The ELN-60-48 is rated at 48V while each SSC W42180 is at least 3V. So if you divide 48 by 3, the max no. of leds would only be 16. So how do you drive 18 leds?

2. I have a general question on led drivers. If the led driver is spec at 22 - 43VDC, do you know what it means? This leads me to the next question i have.

3. If a led driver has a forward voltage of 43V and I want to use it to drive a string of eight 3V leds (total of 24V), can I just configure it this way or will I need to add a suitable size resistor in front of the leds?

Thanks,

andre

Hi bro James,

1. Are you driving 18 PW leds with one ELN-60-48? How do you do that? The ELN-60-48 is rated at 48V while each SSC W42180 is at least 3V. So if you divide 48 by 3, the max no. of leds would only be 16. So how do you drive 18 leds?

2. I have a general question on led drivers. If the led driver is spec at 22 - 43VDC, do you know what it means? This leads me to the next question i have.

3. If a led driver has a forward voltage of 43V and I want to use it to drive a string of eight 3V leds (total of 24V), can I just configure it this way or will I need to add a suitable size resistor in front of the leds?

Thanks,

andre

1. ELN-60-48 drive max of 16 LEDs at min 2.9V, 14 LEDs at typical 3.25V or 12 LEDS at max 4V. The higher the forward voltage supplied, the higher the Luminous Flux.

2. Max load voltage cannot more than 43V.

3. no resistor needed in your configuration.

Hi bro James,

Thanks,

andre

To add on

1. ELN-60-48 run the most 13 leds if you want the best result. You can run more led then like bro James show the forward voltage also drop and hence your led is not running at its best.More led less forward voltage.Less bright.Best to run your led at sepc forward voltage

2. Meaning you can run minimum 6 leds or maximum 11 leds

3. As long as your total led forward voltage is not more then 43 vdc

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Hi bro James & Sherman,

Thanks very much for answering my questions. May I ask further:

1. So when the specs for a led driver says output 22 - 43VDC, what is the implication of the '22V'? Does it mean the total load must be at least 22V but not to exceed 43V ? And if so, if my total load is only 22V, where does the other 21V (43 - 22) go if I do not connect a limiting resistor assuming the leds are in series?

2. If I have the above led driver but I use it to drive only 1 led of 3V (for testing purpose), what will happen? Driver drives at 670mA and led is supposedly 3W. I tried and the led light up for a split second with a spark and then it no longer works. Am I right to assume it has been toasted and damaged? So what is the guideline for situations whereby the total load is less than the forward voltage of the driver? I read on the web an example that says if the total forward voltaeg of the power supply is 12V and it is used to drive a 3V led, the led will give off a burning smell but it didn't say it will be permanently damaged. So my question is, how much can the forward voltage exceed the total load before a resistor must be used to take off the excess voltage?

3. I bought some leds from sim lim towers and the shop owner told me the leds are 3W. He claiimed it's as bright as luxeon but much cheaper. I guess it's likely that I have been conned. How do I test if the leds are indeed 3W and not 1W?

cheers,

andre

1. If it say 22v then you must connect 6 to 7 leds in the circuit.For lesser LED you must add a current fuse in the circuit.The transformer will auto adjust according to the load

2. I think your led is less then 3 w. This happen to many led that do not have a publish spec.

3. If a cheaper led can perform as good as a luxeon then I think Philip will have to close shop already.

Hope I do not offence any one.

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Hi bro James & Sherman,

Thanks very much for answering my questions. May I ask further:

1. So when the specs for a led driver says output 22 - 43VDC, what is the implication of the '22V'? Does it mean the total load must be at least 22V but not to exceed 43V ? And if so, if my total load is only 22V, where does the other 21V (43 - 22) go if I do not connect a limiting resistor assuming the leds are in series?

2. If I have the above led driver but I use it to drive only 1 led of 3V (for testing purpose), what will happen? Driver drives at 670mA and led is supposedly 3W. I tried and the led light up for a split second with a spark and then it no longer works. Am I right to assume it has been toasted and damaged? So what is the guideline for situations whereby the total load is less than the forward voltage of the driver? I read on the web an example that says if the total forward voltaeg of the power supply is 12V and it is used to drive a 3V led, the led will give off a burning smell but it didn't say it will be permanently damaged. So my question is, how much can the forward voltage exceed the total load before a resistor must be used to take off the excess voltage?

3. I bought some leds from sim lim towers and the shop owner told me the leds are 3W. He claiimed it's as bright as luxeon but much cheaper. I guess it's likely that I have been conned. How do I test if the leds are indeed 3W and not 1W?

cheers,

andre

1. If I'm not wrong, some led driver need min load so meant that you need to connect 6~7 LEDs at min.

2. If you are using the driver that you stated as 22~43VDC, I think you will burnt off the LED if you are not connecting 6~7 LEDs or using resistor to load it when doing testing.

3. Brighter may be but not the PAR value.

3. If a cheaper led can perform as good as a luxeon then I think Philip will have to close shop already.

Not just Philips...I think SSC, CREE...and those branded LED manufacturer also affected lol :whistle !

Does anyone have an IR digital thermal reader that I can loan for 2 weeks?

Thanks in advance. :)

JC

Sorry..I have returned the IR digital thermometer to my company so no more on hand :angel: .

Have ordered some LEDs from dealExtreme and Cutter last year for this upgrading project and after 11 days waiting, I have finally recieved all the stock today : :eyebrow: .

Here are the pictures.

SSC P7

SSCP7.jpg

CREE XP-E Royal Blue

XP-ERoyalBlue.jpg

CREE XP-E Royal Blue 3 in series

3xRoyalBlue.jpg

Wow I am waiting for the P7 light up.

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Wow I am waiting for the P7 light up.

Me too but due to tight work schedule and also looking into algae scrupper now so may take longer time to do it lo :rolleyes: .

• 4 months later...

After pending for more than 4 months :snore: , I decided to carry on my new LED project and finish it before end year moving house. I'll be doing 2 LED panel modules for my 2ft Cube Tank and this can be upgradeable to 3 or more modules if I decided to upgrade my tank to bigger at the later stage :eyebrow: .

I have almost completed the drilling, tapping, screwing, soldering, polishing...for the first LED panel module but still got some stubborn stain at the left side of the 1mm stainless steel (reflector sheet) need to deal with <_< . The stain was originally from the sticky protection sheet on top of the stainless steel which I have hard time cleaning it :angry: .

Can anyone advice me how to remove the stubborn stain :( ?

Ok...Here are the Spec per LED Panel and picture of my partial work done;

4x SSC P7,Pure White, 10W LED

13x CREE XPE Royal Blue 3W LED

Total Watt : >80W

DSC09344.jpg

DSC09345.jpg

DSC09349.jpg

DSC09353Small.jpg

DSC09360Small.jpg

DSC09352Small.jpg

tEc' date='24 May 2010 - 11:11 PM' timestamp='1274713887' post='913056']

for the sticky stain, try using zippo refill.

I have tried it but still left some portion unable to clean up :angry: !

Then try nail polish remover. Another good remover for such stubborn stain.

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

If you can't clean it, try polishing it off using Autosol or other polishing cream. Gently rub it in circular motion with your fingers till you no long feel it. Then clean it off.

Regards,

Billy Cheong

70gal, 250w MH (Reeflux 12000K), Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206, Tunze 6045, Tunze 6025, Teco TW4, Rio HF20, Aquabee 3000L, Rio HF17, SM100 Scrubber box (4x24w T5 2700K)

Fish: Amphiprion ocellaris (Ocellaris Clowns), Nemateleotris magnifica (Firefish), Pterapogon kauderni (Kaudern's Cardinal)

Inverts: Calcinus laevimanus (Hermit Crab), Lysmata amboinensis (Cleaner Shrimp), Sand Dollar

Corals: Capnella (Purple Hairy Finger Leather), Plerogyra sinuosa (Green Bubble Coral), Euphyllia glabrescens (Torch Coral), Dendrophyllia (Supersun Coral), Rhodactis spp. (Hairy Mushroom)

If you can't clean it, try polishing it off using Autosol or other polishing cream. Gently rub it in circular motion with your fingers till you no long feel it. Then clean it off.

Ok..I will try Autosol this evening.

:ThanxSmiley:

Ok..I will try Autosol this evening.

:ThanxSmiley:

No worries!

So how much does it cost per panel for your new project?

Regards,

Billy Cheong

70gal, 250w MH (Reeflux 12000K), Tunze Nano Wavebox 6206, Tunze 6045, Tunze 6025, Teco TW4, Rio HF20, Aquabee 3000L, Rio HF17, SM100 Scrubber box (4x24w T5 2700K)

Fish: Amphiprion ocellaris (Ocellaris Clowns), Nemateleotris magnifica (Firefish), Pterapogon kauderni (Kaudern's Cardinal)

Inverts: Calcinus laevimanus (Hermit Crab), Lysmata amboinensis (Cleaner Shrimp), Sand Dollar

Corals: Capnella (Purple Hairy Finger Leather), Plerogyra sinuosa (Green Bubble Coral), Euphyllia glabrescens (Torch Coral), Dendrophyllia (Supersun Coral), Rhodactis spp. (Hairy Mushroom)

No worries!

So how much does it cost per panel for your new project?

Haven tabulate the total cost yet but estimated less than 450 per panel if all bought new :D .

For me, I have salvaged some parts from old or unwanted Plasma/LCDTV at work place and some are left behind from my previous project so the cost should be some where around 280.