Has anyone seen one before?

how long is the glass thinkness required?

HI Jacky

The longest tank I seem in a reefer house is 8.5 * 1.5 * 1.5 and he is using 10mm glass.

Normally glass come in 8' by 4' (as far as I know) thus making > 8' will need special order. Also the chanllenge is setting up in flat, if landed property then no issue. Might also need to setup in the house then ready make and carry over. That reefer I know has his tank made in the house by the LFS.

HI Jacky

The longest tank I seem in a reefer house is 8.5 * 1.5 * 1.5 and he is using 10mm glass.

Normally glass come in 8' by 4' (as far as I know) thus making > 8' will need special order. Also the chanllenge is setting up in flat, if landed property then no issue. Might also need to setup in the house then ready make and carry over. That reefer I know has his tank made in the house by the LFS.

thanks Joe!

Looks like I will stick with 8 max if I proceed. Nice tips. Did no think about the transportation up the lift too..... yah it will be an issue.

thanks!

i think 12mm can edi , my dad tank is 12x2x2 .

thanks bro!

seems like thickness of 10 - 12 mm will do.

12 feet tank must be quite a sight to behold..... nice!

thanks bro!

seems like thickness of 10 - 12 mm will do.

12 feet tank must be quite a sight to behold..... nice!

Wow...U going for 8-9 ft tank??? :eyebrow::whistle

is jacky serious? that's a big big tank and gonna be tough to maintain right? :eyeblur:

God Blessed all who appreciate His wonderful and beautiful creations.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

my first reef aquarium 15jan2010

3x2x2ft EOS 10mm tank with sump//deltec sc2060 skimmer//arctica 1/10hp chiller

maxpect g2 170w led//vortech mp40w wavemaker//eheim 1262 universal pump

eheim compact+ 3000 chiller pump//caribsea ocean direct live sands 40lbs

and other misc...

is jacky serious? that's a big big tank and gonna be tough to maintain right? :eyeblur:

His new tank will be 8x1x1 so in terms of water volume it is approx a 2x2x2 tank... :upsidedown:

I believe it would be part of a feature wall... :whistle

Knowing Indian Chief, it will probably be filled with rare zoas, yumas, rics and other super solid corals... :eyebrow:

His new tank will be 8x1x1 so in terms of water volume it is approx a 2x2x2 tank... :upsidedown:

I believe it would be part of a feature wall... :whistle

Knowing Indian Chief, it will probably be filled with rare zoas, yumas, rics and other super solid corals... :eyebrow:

wow after you say this.. i can imagine sia!!!

:idea:

yeah it is just a long low shallow tank.

It terms of scaping, it should be easier cause you can congregate similar corals together.

can prob have more space for gobies too and small tangs can swim a longer stretch.

tank volume max will be equivalent to a 2ft cube tank coz I dun wanna get a new chiller.

currently using artica 1/10 hp. will most likely upgrade to mce 600.

this is just for planning purpose only hor....

so dun get overly excited.

someone came over to collect the snails & Sand dollars. He suddenly asked me about me upgrading to a larger tank...... my wife heard and her eyes suddenly open big big.... *gulp.... so if you ever see me with my wife.... dun ever ask me that question pleaseeeeee

yeah it is just a long low shallow tank.

It terms of scaping, it should be easier cause you can congregate similar corals together.

can prob have more space for gobies too and small tangs can swim a longer stretch.

tank volume max will be equivalent to a 2ft cube tank coz I dun wanna get a new chiller.

currently using artica 1/10 hp. will most likely upgrade to mce 600.

this is just for planning purpose only hor....

so dun get overly excited.

someone came over to collect the snails & Sand dollars. He suddenly asked me about me upgrading to a larger tank...... my wife heard and her eyes suddenly open big big.... *gulp.... so if you ever see me with my wife.... dun ever ask me that question pleaseeeeee

hahaha.... :upsidedown:

Dun worry...I won't ask u about your plans for the big long tank in front of ur wife...I will just ask you when the tank maker will deliver the new tank to you...in front of ur wife... :eyebrow::whistle

What are your plans for lighting and flow? It can go way upscale for such a long tank.

shallow tank so maybe my current MaxSpect can hit up to 2.5 feet length. will likely get another 1 or 2 set of 110W.

Not the whole length will be filled with rockscape and corals. I will prob have 2 stack of rocks and corals will be there - so I am guessing another Maxspect 110W will do.

Moreover, IOS will be on one end (included in the 8 feet) and the MCE will prob be on another end.

There will prob be spotlighting effects but I think I can live with it.

likely to continue to use my MP10 and perhaps add another 1 - 2 Koralia nano.

Wavemaker will be on one end and the IOS overflow will be on the other.

need to check with Markietan and some others who work with long narrow tanks.

Jacky,

You thinking of something like this?

Paul

DSC00449.jpg

yah... but I dun think that is 1 ft height and width.

Not going to have any sump either.

but something like that.

I am actually thinking of doing a full height cabinet to have more storage space in my house.

So wondering if I can have the middle row to plant in a marine tank

yah... but I dun think that is 1 ft height and width.

Not going to have any sump either.

but something like that.

I am actually thinking of doing a full height cabinet to have more storage space in my house.

So wondering if I can have the middle row to plant in a marine tank

No sump meaning you are going to run the piping from your IOS to your return pump and chiller? Meaning you will be using an external pump that works out of water and you will be hanging the MCE600 in your tank???

wah nvr go into details lah....

still can use my 2026 too....

anyway.. wait for me to get a quote for

1) dismantle the current wall feature,

2) a 9 feet full height cabinet.

3) a 8x1x1 tank

If cost is too high, then will have to give up the thought.

sometimes I wish I am a tycoonaut too but have to live within my means.... so this may be just a dream.

wah nvr go into details lah....

still can use my 2026 too....

anyway.. wait for me to get a quote for

1) dismantle the current wall feature,

2) a 9 feet full height cabinet.

3) a 8x1x1 tank

If cost is too high, then will have to give up the thought.

sometimes I wish I am a tycoonaut too but have to live within my means.... so this may be just a dream.

I'm very sure if you do make the 9 ft full height cabinet, you will end up with the 8x1x1 tank...especially if you end up selling your 1.5 cube before then... :upsidedown:

haha... me and desi go bijia your lobang... we go and ask u "wah jacky so rich, got so many expensive exotic corals ah!" :)

Anyway, 8.5 * 1.5 * 1.5 seems like a very nice feature wall tank.... or a very long FRAG TANK! lol

Your wavemaker also must have power leh.. later blow until 3 ft then no strength liaoz... LOL

haha... me and desi go bijia your lobang... we go and ask u "wah jacky so rich, got so many expensive exotic corals ah!" :)

Anyway, 8.5 * 1.5 * 1.5 seems like a very nice feature wall tank.... or a very long FRAG TANK! lol

Your wavemaker also must have power leh.. later blow until 3 ft then no strength liaoz... LOL

I think this dream already "bijia" already.....

gotta wait till I move to my next new house... whenever that is.... :(

I think this dream already "bijia" already.....

gotta wait till I move to my next new house... whenever that is.... :(

See when u moving to district 10 bungalow lor... :eyebrow: