ELECTION DAY !!! Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̄&#8

kueytoc

:friends:SDA announces Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC line-up

By Alicia Wong | SingaporeScene – 18 minutes ago

The Singapore Democratic Alliance has unveiled its six-man team that will be contesting in the Pasir Ris-Punggol group representation constituency on Monday.

In addition to the four candidates announced earlier, image consultant Patrick Lee, 65, and Sidney Soon, 54, who is self-employed, will be joining the GRC team.

They will contest against the People's Action Party team headed by Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean.

The SDA is an alliance between Singapore Justice Party and the Singapore Malay National Organisation (PKMS).

The SDA team is headed by first time General Election candidate Goh Kim Seng, 66. The other three candidates are motivational trainer Haminder Pal Singh, sales executive Mohd Shafni Bin Ahmad, 32, and Tony Tan, 34, who is self-employed.

SDA's secretary general Desmond Lim, who will be contesting in Punggol East SMC, also confirmed that the alliance will not be contesting in the single wards of Radin Mas and Sengkang West to avoid three-corner fights.

Baring last minute changes come Nomination Day on Wednesday, these seven will be the candidates fielded under the SDA banner. All have pledged to be full-time Members of Parliament, if elected.

Said Goh on the team's chances against DPM Teo, "It's a tough call, personally I like the man himself but we will certainly do our best and we have specific plans on how to reach the voters in order to get through to them."

Haminder Pal Singh said the feedback they have received from residents in Punggol East and Pasir Ris-Punggol show that they want better security, more facilities for young children and more wet markets in the area.

PKMS' second vice president Abdul Mutalib clarified an earlier media statement stating that the SDA is pulling out of Tanjong Pagar GRC.

He said, the press release was made on an individual capacity and was not released by either PKMS or SDA.

The statement said the opposition team, made up PKMS secretary general Nazem Suki, SDA's Ng Pian Ying, Socialist Front chairman Ng Teck Sion, Lim Mie and Abdullah Salim did not have enough funds and support from SDA and PKMS.

Adbul Mutalib said, SDA was considering contesting in Tanjong Pagar but decided against it. He cited several factors including insufficient familiarity with the ground.

On Monday, the SDA also unveiled its refined manifesto, A Heart for the People -- Singaporeans First. The manifesto seeks to address the concerns of the middle income Singaporeans.

From its nine-point manifesto published earlier, the SDA has released a five-point manifesto targeting the issues they felt most worry Singaporeans.

Lamenting the "social costs" that have resulted from economic pursuit, Goh said, "The time has surely come for us to moderate our relentless pursuit of economic development and material gains."

The FIVE Areas the manifesto addresses are:

1) The rising cost of living

2) Skyrocketing HDB flat prices

3) The income gap

4) Job security being threatened by the influx of foreign workers

5) High medical expenses

The alliance has proposed several initiatives to address each of the five issues. For instance, to tackle rising cost of living, it wants to introduce tie-ups with neighbourhood merchants where consumers can collectively buy daily necessities in bulk to save costs.

It also wants to introduce a "rental leading to ownership" scheme where young couples who cannot afford the down payment for their HDB flat can rent the flat from HDB for the first five years.

If they decide to buy the flat later on, the five years' rent money counts as part of their payment for the flat.

To narrow the income gap, SDA is also proposing for the wages of the lower- and middle-income groups to be raised by 20 per cent, with the public sector taking the lead.

:friends:S'pore People’s Party planning beyond GE2011

By Alicia Wong | SingaporeScene – Tue, Apr 26, 2011 12:47 AM SGT

The Singapore People's Party has started taking active steps to reach its goal of forming an alternative government.

Party candidate Benjamin Pwee announced on Monday the formation of three new functional groups and the reorganisation of the party's existing Women's and Youth wings, as it seeks to rejuvenate itself and reach out to more Singaporeans.

The new groups are the policy working group, Small and Medium Enterprises affairs bureau and Malay affairs bureau.

Pointing out that the party is working toward party chief Chiam See Tong's vision of an alternative government by the next election, Pwee said, "The fact that we've set these five groups up in party rejuvenation, it's an obvious indication to everyone that we're looking way beyond just this General Election."

"We want to be able to groom the leaders that will be up in the forefront for GE2016 and by that time, probably we'll be contesting way beyond just Hong Kah North, Potong Pasir and Bishan-Toa Payoh," he said.

He also hoped that the party can field at least one more GRC team in the next GE.

Pwee, who is part of the five-man SPP team contesting Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, described the five key groups as a "nuts and bolts active step in bringing more people into a structured relationship with the party".

"We are hoping these five groups also start to reach out and get to know their segments and listen carefully to the kind of heartbeat, the kind of opinions, the kind of views they have about Singapore at large, the constituency they live in, and what would be things that we could raise or follow up with them in terms of representation," he said.

The policy working group, headed by Pwee, will focus on translating issues on the ground into policy. It will "think through how to complement and strengthen the current government policy formulation process with some of the ideas we are proposing," said Pwee.

The SME affairs bureau, headed by managing director and co-owner of two global biometric and medical device companies David Tan, will look into problems business owners face. For instance, high rental costs, funding and employment of workers.

SPP is also considering setting up a micro-financing revolving loan from the S$2 million foundation it is trying to set up.

The Malay affairs group, led by architect Juliana Juwahir, will seek to represent the community concerns. For instance, worries over how the influx of foreigners is affecting Singapore's demographic mix and a need for higher education funding.

Each group now has about six participants but the party hopes to expand the numbers to 25 per group over the next six months.

:welldone:Opposition to be Alternative Gov’t: WP's Chen

By Ewen Boey | SingaporeScene – Tue, Apr 26, 2011 12:15 AM SGT

The "star catch" for the Workers' Party (WP) wants the opposition to be an effective check and balance in Parliament, and become an alternative government in the future.

At the unveiling of its final batch of candidates for the elections on Monday, WP chief Low Thia Khiang and chairman Sylvia Lim introduced corporate lawyer Chen Show Mao, 50, as one of their candidates.

In his opening address, Chen, who advised the Agricultural Bank of China on its biggest IPO last year, shared his vision for the future.

"The coming election is about your future. It's about into whose hands do you entrust that future? Do you give all of the power that affects your future to one party and hope for the best? Or do you keep that power for yourself and give yourself a choice, a choice of capable parties competing to give you a better future?

"In order to have that choice tomorrow, you will need to support the opposition today. If we had a stronger opposition presence in Parliament, it would be good for all Singaporeans," said Chen, who is expected to be fielded in the party's 'A' team at Aljunied GRC.

He added, "I'm Singaporean in the second half of my life, and I would like to give something back to my country through my work with the party."

A graduate of three Ivy League universities -- Harvard, Stanford and Oxford, where he was a Rhodes Scholar -- Chen revealed that immigration and population policy, ministerial salaries and electoral boundary changes were issues that were important to him.

Party chief Low added, "Not many people with such status and achievements are able to humble themselves, return to Singapore, and interact with people on the ground where they may have to deal with unpleasant and rude people."

When asked if spending most of his life away from Singapore will affect his campaign, he assured voters that he has been keeping abreast of developments in the country and have been visiting regularly as his entire family -- parents and sister -- reside in Singapore.

Chen stressed that regardless of whether he is voted into Parliament, he will be relocating his family to Singapore and also hopes that his 11-year-old son will follow in his footsteps and serve national service when he turns 18.

The other three candidates introduced on Monday are entrepreneur Yee Jenn Jong, 46, post-graduate law student Pritam Singh, 34 and businesswoman Glenda Han, 35.

Han, who has been with the party since 2004, has had prior experience running for an election when she was part of WP's "suicide squad" in Ang Mo Kio GRC in 2006.

"From that experience, I've seen how important a role WP plays in being a strong political alternative in Singapore, where Singaporeans can turn to if they feel that is where they can be better represented," she said.

She added that the 2006 election highlighted to her the responsibility and importance in the role she plays for the people.

The final introduction brings the slate of WP candidates for the upcoming election to 23, which includes Low and Lim.

It is the biggest team WP has fielded since 1988 and they are expected to contest in four GRCs and four SMCs.

post-2609-0-59069600-1303784558_thumb.jp

post-2609-0-78088100-1303784588_thumb.jp

:welldone:Opposition to be Alternative Gov’t: WP's Chen

By Ewen Boey | SingaporeScene – Tue, Apr 26, 2011 12:15 AM SGT

The "star catch" for the Workers' Party (WP) wants the opposition to be an effective check and balance in Parliament, and become an alternative government in the future.

At the unveiling of its final batch of candidates for the elections on Monday, WP chief Low Thia Khiang and chairman Sylvia Lim introduced corporate lawyer Chen Show Mao, 50, as one of their candidates.

In his opening address, Chen, who advised the Agricultural Bank of China on its biggest IPO last year, shared his vision for the future.

"The coming election is about your future. It's about into whose hands do you entrust that future? Do you give all of the power that affects your future to one party and hope for the best? Or do you keep that power for yourself and give yourself a choice, a choice of capable parties competing to give you a better future?

"In order to have that choice tomorrow, you will need to support the opposition today. If we had a stronger opposition presence in Parliament, it would be good for all Singaporeans," said Chen, who is expected to be fielded in the party's 'A' team at Aljunied GRC.

He added, "I'm Singaporean in the second half of my life, and I would like to give something back to my country through my work with the party."

A graduate of three Ivy League universities -- Harvard, Stanford and Oxford, where he was a Rhodes Scholar -- Chen revealed that immigration and population policy, ministerial salaries and electoral boundary changes were issues that were important to him.

Party chief Low added, "Not many people with such status and achievements are able to humble themselves, return to Singapore, and interact with people on the ground where they may have to deal with unpleasant and rude people."

When asked if spending most of his life away from Singapore will affect his campaign, he assured voters that he has been keeping abreast of developments in the country and have been visiting regularly as his entire family -- parents and sister -- reside in Singapore.

Chen stressed that regardless of whether he is voted into Parliament, he will be relocating his family to Singapore and also hopes that his 11-year-old son will follow in his footsteps and serve national service when he turns 18.

The other three candidates introduced on Monday are entrepreneur Yee Jenn Jong, 46, post-graduate law student Pritam Singh, 34 and businesswoman Glenda Han, 35.

Han, who has been with the party since 2004, has had prior experience running for an election when she was part of WP's "suicide squad" in Ang Mo Kio GRC in 2006.

"From that experience, I've seen how important a role WP plays in being a strong political alternative in Singapore, where Singaporeans can turn to if they feel that is where they can be better represented," she said.

She added that the 2006 election highlighted to her the responsibility and importance in the role she plays for the people.

The final introduction brings the slate of WP candidates for the upcoming election to 23, which includes Low and Lim.

It is the biggest team WP has fielded since 1988 and they are expected to contest in four GRCs and four SMCs.

Thumbs up! :welldone:

:welldone:Tan Jee Say: PAPs economic policies will lead to SOCIAL DISINTEGRATION <_<

Singapore Election Watch

Friday, April 22, 2011

Former Principal Private Secretary to Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong Mr Tan Jee Say has launched a scathing criticism of the PAPs economic policies in the last few years.

The 57 year old Mr Tan will be contesting in the coming general election as a candidate of the Singapore Democratic Party.

In an interview with the state media, he warned:

The economic policies that are being pursued now will undo all that we have achieved in the past 30 to 40 years and will lead to social disintegration. :blink:

Mr Tan believes the influx of foreigners has depressed locals wages and crowded citizens out of jobs and schools, and that the decision to allow two casinos here has caused families to break up.

Throughout society, people feel something is just not right, he added.

He also criticised the Economic Strategies Committee (ESC) report released last year aas simply whitewashing the economic issues.

The focus should not be on raising productivity but on correcting bad economic policy, namely the propping up of manufacturing which has led to Singapores reliance on foreign labour, he said.

According to a Wall Street journal editorial in January 2010, the relentless influx of foreigners has depressed the wages of ordinary Singaporeans, increased the cost of living, especially that of public housing and led to an overall decline in the quality of life in Singapore.

Despite the prevailing sentiment on the ground, PM Lee continues to insist that foreigners are essential for Singapore.

In a speech made at the official opening of IMFlashs US$3 billion high tech electronics plant in Woodlands today, Prime Minister Lee claimed that six in ten of the films employees are Singaporeans and permanent residents. and Singapore residents also take up two-thirds of the managerial and professional positions.

Without the foreign workers, we would not have attracted this US$3 billion investment, and Intel and Micron would have built its wafer fab elsewhere. But by allowing in a controlled number of foreign workers, far from disadvantaging Singaporean workers, we have created more good jobs for Singaporeans, said Mr Lee.

Since PM Lee did not even acknowledge the problem with the PAPs ultra-liberal immigration and pro-foreigner policies in the first place, will he slow or even reverse the inflow of foreigners should the PAP win the next election comfortably again?

The next general election may be the last window of opportunity for native Singaporeans to reclaim ownership of their nation after which they will surely to overwhelmed by the shiploads of foreigners the PAP is mass-importing to Singapore.

:blink:Young Singaporeans not HUNGRY enough: SM Goh

By Fann Sim | SingaporeScene – Sat, Apr 2, 2011 1:10 AM SGT

People's Action Party (PAP) veteran Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong has described young Singaporeans as "not hungry" enough compared to their peers from other countries, such as China.

The minister said this phenomenon is largely due to the fact that Singapore has been so successful in the past few decades.

Speaking to a group of young Singaporeans at Singapore Polytechnic's Graduates Guild on Friday evening, he compared Singapore to China and said that Singaporean youths are too comfortable these days and have too many choices.

"In China, that man has no other job to go to. There are 600 million people competing with him for jobs. In our case, because we have done so well, every year we are creating 50,000 jobs. We only have 20 to 30 thousand inflow into the workforce, people have choice. So what is the solution?"

Mr Goh went on to talk about solutions the government can provide to fix the "lack of hunger".

"Well, maybe just a bad dose of government and you have unemployment for five, six years and Singaporeans will feel hungry! Do you want that?" he said.

"(The) answer is no! Because it's our job to make sure that we continue to grow and if we do so, they got a choice. What can we do? We all have a problem because people have a choice! ... Then you have to go back to productivity, to paying them well and so on," he added.

The minister also urged young Singaporeans to vote carefully for the country and for their own future in the upcoming elections.

"We are now preparing for a fourth-generation leadership to look after Singapore... This leadership transition is even more crucial than previous transitions," said Mr Goh.

Senior Minister Goh also confirmed the managing director of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), Heng Swee Keat will be joining the People's Action Party.

He posted on Facebook page MParader that "Heng Swee Keat is stepping down as (Managing Director) but not stepping away from MAS. He has been appointed board member."

He also said Heng had the potential to be a Minister and core member of the 4th Generation team.

Elsewhere, at separate events, two Ministers also came out in support of embattled young PAP candidate, Tin Pei Ling, as well as 32-year old Vikram Nair.

PAP veteran and Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan hopes that the public can give the young faces a chance to prove themselves.

"I think it will be wrong for us to be ageist, either against old or young. Look at the candidates in their own right," Mr Khaw said.

Meanwhile Minister of Information, Community and the Arts, Lui Tuck Yew, said that the the most important thing is to "stand fast to your beliefs and your set of values," according to Channel News Asia.

"Yes, pay attention by all means to the feedback that is given by others, particularly if it is constructive feedback on how we can improve ourselves - we all need to do that, not just the new candidates," he added.

"But at the end of the day, we must also recognise that there will be some who will support us very strongly, there will be detractors, and we just need to make sure that we focus on serving the residents and doing our best for the future of Singapore."

:cheers:Confessions of a GE VIRGIN

By Liyana Low | SingaporeScene – Mon, Apr 25, 2011 12:30 PM

OPINION

About 600,000 Singaporeans between 21 and 35 will be voting this election.

Within this number, an estimated 200,000 will be voting for the first time. I, a 23-year-old final-year undergraduate, will be one of them.

As a "GE virgin" (or so I'd like to call myself) going to the polls , bread and butter issues directly affecting me come to mind: if I'm going to get a job after graduation, if I'd have to pay through my nose for my first HDB flat, if my parents need to work with no hope of retiring gracefully because health care could be expensive.

But beyond that, I'm also excited for this election because I realise (maybe a little too naively) that my vote contributes to Singapore's future. I suddenly feel empowered, so I spend time to read up on the different parties and their candidates because when I go the polls, I want my vote to be the right one for my country.

Fortunately for me, a few like-minded friends were enthusiastic enough to book each other so that we would go and see Low Thia Khiang's rallies together this time around. We want to be part of the thousands of Singaporeans gathered at the field, listening to what he and the Workers' Party will say to win our votes. We want to see if this time, with Facebook and Twitter, the mainstream media can pull off the stunt it did in 2006 when it reported that only a few thousand were present at the rally, while this Youtube video showed otherwise.

But I suspect that my excited friends and I could be the minority among our peers. Much has been said about Gen-Y voters and their sense of apathy regarding the coming elections. As a young friend of mine told me, "Got so many news on the election, I see already, also I sian, don't know what to follow, not going to follow already."

And I can understand why she would feel that way. There are so many manifestos by so many parties, with so many voices screaming "our party is better than yours and can do a better job for Singapore". "Information fatigue" sets in more often than not and we settle back into our usual routine of school, projects and juicy gossip about who's dating who.

In addition, there are others who also say, "Aiyah, no need to follow because nothing is going to change, the PAP is still going to win."

And their cynicism is understandable because it comes from years of being told what to do and what to think by the government. And when we do try and think for ourselves, someone would come along and (condescendingly) say, "Please, we know what is best for you, just listen to us."

But my hope for this upcoming election is that the apathetic majority becomes a minority, because I know that there are those young ones who do care and who do want to make a difference.

One example is Hirza and Muna, who shot a YouTube video parodying politics in Singapore in order to increase awareness of the General Election among first-time voters.

In the two weeks since it was first uploaded, it's gotten a respectable 22,000 views.

Its light-hearted take on serious issues might not be a big formal debate about bread-and-butter concerns on national television, but I thought it was an admirable attempt by young voters for young voters, a majority of whom watch Youtube videos more than they do local channels on TV.

And of course the talk of town: Ms Nicole Seah. The 24-year-old (only a year older than I am!) has stepped up and said that she wants to engage young Singaporeans in politics and show them that they can make a difference.

In the short time that she has set up her page, the advertising executive has already garnered 16,850 (and counting) likes. (If it puts numbers into perspective, the PAP's page has 13, 140 likes, while the Workers' Party page has 7,183 likes.)

While it helps that she looks like a "sweet young thing", I think what makes her more appealing to us GE virgins is that she is honest and herself in the public sphere, and it makes her relatable. She makes us go, "If she has the guns to step up, maybe I should at least take an interest and listen (and maybe make a Youtube video and become a Youtube star along the way?)"

So fellow GE virgins, this is a chance to how our generation can think for ourselves and choose the people who can best serve Singapore's needs.

It is chance for me to recognise that "Hey, sheltered while my world may be right now, in a few years' time, I know I will be feeling the full brunt of the government's policies, from education to healthcare to employment and housing prospects" and do something about it.

And finally, it is a chance in our young lives to extricate ourselves from the world of assignments, classes, clubbing and relationships to be part of something bigger, part of a national agenda.

At the end of the day, it does not matter if the opposition parties lose, because at least they have given Singaporeans a choice. That is what matters to me.

:thumbdown:Minister's 'TOWN HALL' visit to Condo Disappoints

By Mr Miyagi | SingaporeScene – Mon, Apr 25, 2011 6:21 PM SGT

THE MR MIYAGI COLUMN

I received a letter on Friday, 15 April 2011, from our condominium management. I thought it was probably about them fogging the place again and reminding us to close our windows.

The last time they fogged without telling us, some of us chucked a fit and said they should always tell us when something's going down.

It wasn't about fogging that the letter was trying to tell the residents of our small condo, but the impending visit of one of our Members of Parliament (MPs), the Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts, Rear Admiral Lui Tuck Yew.

The letter said there would be a "simple tea reception" served while Minister Lui was to speak and listen to the residents from 7:30pm on Saturday, so that he could "get to know the residents better and to seek their views and suggestions on local and national issues".

My wife and I were really excited. The only visit by government agents and officials we ever had were regular ones by the anti-mosquito-breeding squad of the National Environmental Agency (NEA), and that was only because we had informed them two years earlier that our son suffered a bout of dengue.

Also, this was, after all, the Minister who said we did not need Freedom of Information legislation, because "the government already puts up a lot of information on its websites".

This was the Minister whose subordinate body, the National Arts Council, cut local theatre company Wild Rice's annual grant in 2010 by $20,000, because it "promoted alternative lifestyles, were critical of government policies and satirised political leaders". The move is now known in theatre circles as "Gahmen say Tuck Yew to the Arts".

This was the Minister who labelled the discontent and negative opinions regarding Tin Pei Ling's candidacy as "noise".

We had to meet him.

We didn't harbour any unrealistic hopes, of course. Our condo consists of three blocks of three-storey walk-up apartments, and we were never holding out for lifts or covered walkways (though the owners are waiting for the elusive en-bloc offer).

My wife and I spent a few hours thinking of what national and local issues to talk to our Minister about. This was our chance to tell him our troubles, even though we could always just pick up our phones or computers to email him.

The idea of a town hall-like meeting excited me, even if for our condo, the town hall was going to be the al-fresco (read: damn hot) common area by the poolside. What would people say? What did our neighbours worry about? Would anyone heckle the Minister and ask him about his pay, we wondered.

We planned our evening to finish dinner by 7pm, bring the dog down for his pee and poo, and then spruce up a bit (wipe crumbs and other food debris off our son's face) and take a nice walk down to the poolside to meet with Minister Lui.

Hopes dashed

Like many best-laid plans, this was dashed when the Minister and some of his entourage arrived at 7:10 and milled along the driveway to the open car park. They were chatting among themselves, presumably wondering where to begin because our condo's security guard had already gone home for the day, and wasn't able to tell the parliamentarian's people which block was which. They had, to my disappointment, opted for a door-stop visit instead of a townhall-like meeting.

(In case you're wondering, our condo's "security guard" "works" from 7am to 5pm on weekdays and 8am to 4pm on weekends)

I intercepted the group on our stairwell as I brought Mac, our nervous adopted Jack Russell Terrier, to water the plants. I said "hi" assertively, causing a few of what must have been about eight people to scramble through their clipboards, before I volunteered which unit my wife, son, dog, cat and I lived in.

The Minister was then guided to where I was, and he introduced himself as the MP for our area before I politely said I had to bring my dog for his own walkabout before he peed all over the PAP entourage.

The Minister said, "If he has to go, he has to go!"

I was relieved that Mac didn't do what some of our friends are familiar with -- this dog will pee on you just to show how much he loves / hates / is scared by / is in love with you -- and came back in a few minutes, in time to see how much progress the Minister had made in our block. No one else seemed to be at home, so I managed to squeeze in some conversation with the Minister.

In less than a minute, he asked me how many times a day I needed to walk Mac, I said twice, then he told me he once had a dog, a white samoyed, which died at age 6 and a half, and that it was very unusual. Then he asked what concerns I had living within this compound, and I said something to the effect of us having "some municipal issues (the dengue problem) which we have taken into our own hands (calling NEA)".

And that was that.

It was all over in a flash. I wasn't sure if he meant 6.5 dog or human years, or whether it was unusual because it died at 6.5 years or that it was an unusual dog, or that it was his opinion that the white samoyed, as a breed, was unusual. I didn't even get the dog's name.

By 7:39pm the Minister and his entourage had done their doorstop round and left our compound, walking down the quiet street towards the neighbouring houses and apartments. I'm sure if no one from our condo had spoken about the need for brighter street lights in our area, he'd have figured it out.

Pressed in my hand was a name card from the Minister, complete with a photo of him, and the address and timing of "MP Meet-the-People Session" at the local branch office. I didn't even remember him handing me the card. It will have pride of place on my fridge door, alongside other contractors' calling cards. I might mistake it for an electrician's though, what with the logo and all.

Can't fault them for trying to make a fist of it. It's your turn, opposition candidates. Come visit our condo, because I think we still have food from the "tea-reception" they planned.

Benjamin "Mr Miyagi" Lee writes across all media except where it can be construed as graffiti. More of him on twitter @miyagi and http://miyagi.sg

:pinch:PAP will remain strongest party: MM Lee :evil:

By Ion Danker | SingaporeScene 1 hour 8 minutes ago

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew says the People's Action Party will remain the strongest party in Singapore.

In an interview with the Wall Street Journal, MM Lee said there may be a few seats for the opposition either as constituency or non-constituency members.

"We have introduced new rules so that up to nine of the best losers from the opposition will be in Parliament, so the opposition's voice is heard."

MM Lee also shared that the cost of living and the cost of housing for young couples will be the main issues for voters in the coming elections.

"We are building many new HDB homes but they cost more because they are better designed and more elegant.

"But Singaporeans do not like waiting. They blame the immigrants for pushing up prices of the homes. The immigrants who are not citizens cannot buy new flats directly from the government, but they can buy off the open market from owners who want to sell their HDB flats," he said.

MM Lee noted that there is some discomfort on this issue. He said, "We have got new permanent residents who have entered the market. But our birthrate or fertility rate is 1.16.

"We need 2.1 to replace the existing population. 1.16 means we are halving our population. If we do not accept migrants, we will be an ageing and a declining population. It is a trade-off."

"But our people feel discomforted seeing about one million foreign workers in our total population of 5.1 million. But most of these are people on two-year work permits, that can be extended but they have to go home eventually. They do the construction and the heavy work," he added.

MM Lee also stressed that Singapore's economy is doing well and the government have raised living standards, employment prospects, education for their children; schools, institutions and tertiary institutions.

"We have catered for both the top end and the lower end for those not academically inclined."

post-2609-0-17438600-1303832249_thumb.jp

<_<Can MM Lee still swing the votes ???

By Seah Chiang Nee | SingaporeScene – Tue, Apr 26, 2011 4:19 PM SGT

COMMENT

With the coming election tipped to swing against his governing party, the founding leader, Lee Kuan Yew, who is 87, has signalled his intention to continue in office.

Speaking with a slight slur and looking his age, Lee posted his message in a low-key video that answered a burning question in almost every Singaporean's mind — and a few foreigners, as well.

"I'm happy to be still representing Tanjong Pagar," Lee said, referring to the constituency that he first won 56 years ago.

It was posted inconspicuously among other candidates' messages on the People's Action Party (PAP) website without an accompanying story.

The pro-government press gave it scant prominence, and many Singaporeans first read about it in a Yahoo! news report.

This means that if re-elected — as he will likely be — Lee will retain his record as one of the world's longest surviving leaders, although as an "adviser" to the Cabinet.

Lately, the elderly politician has stayed out of the public limelight, speaking less and less, raising speculation that he may be preparing to step down.

The low-key treatment was probably by design.

"I think they want to project the retention of the 87-year-old Lee as a non-story at a time when other top leaders are retired," said a long-time PAP watcher.

Fading relevance

At any rate, it seems that the importance of whether Lee stays or goes has become less important, overtaken by Singapore's fast-changing politics.

The electorate is changing; so is the PAP itself, so Lee — because of his health and age — is no longer very important to many people.

The election (Polling Day: 7 May) is shaping up to be one of the hottest in decades that threatens to shake up the powerful PAP that Lee co-founded.

A gradual build-up of public unhappiness is contributing to this.

Years of excessive intake of foreigners that threatened white-collar jobs and depressed salaries of middle-class Singaporeans — as well as fuelled high inflation — are creating strong resentment in the republic.

Singaporeans are worried about the future of their children and their country.

The PAP is not facing defeat, not in this election anyway, far from it. It will undoubtedly retain its mandate to govern for another five years.

The party probably has enough momentum of past — even brilliant — successes to let it win this election, especially with Lee around. The next one, well, that's another story.

With nine days of campaigning from noon of nomination day (27 April), people are gearing for an erosion of popular support for the government.

In 2006, the PAP won 66.6 percent popular votes and 82 out of 84 seats. The total votes are almost certain to drop (some say it's possible to dip below 60 percent).

But under Singapore's "first-past-the post" system, it will be much harder to win many more seats.

More worrying for 59-year-old Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong is the prospect of losing the hearts and minds of youths, who are less accepting of his policies.

Some analysts believe that this is one of the reasons why his father, MM Lee, wants to stay on despite his health.

"He wants to ensure the PAP, with a large crop of new, inexperienced candidates, does not falter during its crucial self-renewal," a grassroots leader told me.

Still appreciated

That he intends to serve an 11th term in Parliament is welcomed by a section of the population, especially the elderly, that feels indebted for his role in building today's Singa­pore.

"The older voters may be happy and feel a strong sense of comfort that he's still there," said a political think-tank researcher.

One admirer wrote: "MM Lee, I salute you for what you and your team had done for Singapore. Without doubt, the PAP team put nation before self."

Heart Sense said: "Dear Mr Lee, you are a great man of our nation and many Singaporeans have gained their success and prosperity from your earlier policies."

Both admirers, however, said they felt that his successors were generally less capable and as a result quality of life had declined.

The younger generation, which has no first-hand knowledge of Lee's past achievements, blames him for much of today's woes and wants him to retire.

Immediately after Lee announced he would contest, a popular website polled readers for their views.

Temasek Review said that 499 out of 574 respondents — or 78 per cent — opposed his decision.

Two main reasons given for wanting him to quit are, firstly, to let the younger leaders to take over, and, secondly, they don't like his mega-high salary.

The other 16 per cent say he should continue.

One was Angie, who penned: "I want Mr Lee to continue to be the MP and stay as long as he can. Without him, we will never be able to enjoy what we have today."

Since his wife's death, Lee seemed more conscious of his own fallibility.

Asked by an American journalist, "So, when is the last leaf falling," Lee replied: "I can feel the gradual decline of energy and vitality. And I mean, generally, every year when you know you are not on the same level as last year. But that's life."

For this election, knowing his past, he is likely to campaign hard for his son's — and PAP's — victory, his health permitting.

Given his stature, he will likely be able to pull in a number of votes from Singapore's conservatives who fear sudden changes.

But his ageing body and mind will weaken his role in the next five years, if it lasts.

A former Reuters correspondent and newspaper editor, the writer is now a freelance columnist writing on general trends in Singapore. This post first appeared on his blog, www.littlespeck.com, on 9 April 2011.

post-2609-0-66507300-1303833342_thumb.jp

:blink:CAUSTIC COMMENTS !!! :pinch::fear:

Comment from Robert Ong 3 hours ago

Dear Minister Mentor Lee,

I can feel a strident groundswell of discontent among native Singaporeans, and this is threatening at worst to stress our social fabric, and at best to create a divide between the PAP and affected citizens. Let us look quickly at the main, but very important, grouses which I gather to be:-

1) Unimpeded flow of foreigners (whether as workers, permanent residents, citizens-to-be or newly converted citizens) - these foreigners displace jobs for native Singaporeans, and compete with S'poreans in many facets of life such as buying/renting flats; public transport congestion; road-congestion; car-park space shortages; a loss in the meaning & value of the S'pore identity (national servicemen questioning why they are defending our sovereignty), etc.

2) High cost of living made worse with ever declining wage level for the masses - wage increase unable to keep pace with inflation resulting in erosion of purchasing power despite the strong S’pore dollar and the handouts by the Govt.

3) Exponential rise in price of HDB flats and pte housing - the concern is that basic housing is effectively priced out beyond the reach of the vast majority of the younger generations to buy. Notably, there is a wide rejection of the "theory" of asset enhancement which is seen as beneficial only for those with plural ownership of flats/condos/houses, for which the vast majority is not in the group.

4) (A very contentious issue) - The unjustifiably high salaries of MPs, Ministers & Govt officials - seen against the backdrop of generally falling wage levels for the masses as well as the wide gap in income distribution; and the endemic loss of gainful employmt for senior, native S'poreans. The prevalent general perception that MPs & Ministers do not deserve their keep compounds the discontentment.

Well, these are the basic misgivings (among many more) that ordinary S'poreans are lamenting about. It is crucial now for the Govt to EXPLAIN CLEARLY, CANDIDLY, FORTHRIGHTLY AND HONESTLY what the Govt will do to EFFECTIVELY alleviate these concerns & grouses, or if it is not possible, to painstakingly explain why they cannot be rectified for the general good of the Country.

The Govt should also readily admit if there has been mistakes, miscalculations, ineptitude or lapses on their part which caused the problems to arise in the first place. As always, a proper, timely, frank & truthful explanation followed with quick effective corrective policies will placate more than if the discontentment is left to fester & deteriorate into grave & deadly social "infections" which could simmer to destroy the tenuous fabric of our nation.

Sadly, the Govt is much less than honest & candid in explaining important policies that affect the livelihood of very many native citizens. As an example, PM Lee’s superficial & misleading explaination on how foreigners contribute to employment for Singaporeans & PRs (See Straits Times 23 Apr).

Instead, the Govt has subscribed to a certain perverse logic that issues are best left either to be explained away PERFUNCTORILY or swept under the carpet to be told to the populace that the "Govt knows what it is doing, and is doing it for the good of the people".

A Govt that is specious & glib does not earn the trust & respect of the people, its demise is swift & sure.

Comment from SOS 5 hours ago

Dear MM,

With due respect to you, you are the founding father of Spore. You are our pride!

But sad to say our sentiments have changed now;

When parliament is being dominated by one party n parliament has become a piece of rubber stamp!

When ministers lack accountabilities!

When minister cannot deliver affordable public housing!

When PAP continue to use the weirdoes and cut n pate the electoral boundaries to gain unfair advantage!

When Tax payers’ monies are used to upgrade PAP wards only!

Do you think the people of Yemen, Libya, and E----pt are tire of living?

Bcos enough is enough!!

<_<Can MM Lee still swing the votes ???

By Seah Chiang Nee | SingaporeScene – Tue, Apr 26, 2011 4:19 PM SGT

COMMENT

With the coming election tipped to swing against his governing party, the founding leader, Lee Kuan Yew, who is 87, has signalled his intention to continue in office.

Speaking with a slight slur and looking his age, Lee posted his message in a low-key video that answered a burning question in almost every Singaporean's mind — and a few foreigners, as well.

"I'm happy to be still representing Tanjong Pagar," Lee said, referring to the constituency that he first won 56 years ago.

It was posted inconspicuously among other candidates' messages on the People's Action Party (PAP) website without an accompanying story.

The pro-government press gave it scant prominence, and many Singaporeans first read about it in a Yahoo! news report.

This means that if re-elected — as he will likely be — Lee will retain his record as one of the world's longest surviving leaders, although as an "adviser" to the Cabinet.

Lately, the elderly politician has stayed out of the public limelight, speaking less and less, raising speculation that he may be preparing to step down.

The low-key treatment was probably by design.

"I think they want to project the retention of the 87-year-old Lee as a non-story at a time when other top leaders are retired," said a long-time PAP watcher.

Fading relevance

At any rate, it seems that the importance of whether Lee stays or goes has become less important, overtaken by Singapore's fast-changing politics.

The electorate is changing; so is the PAP itself, so Lee — because of his health and age — is no longer very important to many people.

The election (Polling Day: 7 May) is shaping up to be one of the hottest in decades that threatens to shake up the powerful PAP that Lee co-founded.

A gradual build-up of public unhappiness is contributing to this.

Years of excessive intake of foreigners that threatened white-collar jobs and depressed salaries of middle-class Singaporeans — as well as fuelled high inflation — are creating strong resentment in the republic.

Singaporeans are worried about the future of their children and their country.

The PAP is not facing defeat, not in this election anyway, far from it. It will undoubtedly retain its mandate to govern for another five years.

The party probably has enough momentum of past — even brilliant — successes to let it win this election, especially with Lee around. The next one, well, that's another story.

With nine days of campaigning from noon of nomination day (27 April), people are gearing for an erosion of popular support for the government.

In 2006, the PAP won 66.6 percent popular votes and 82 out of 84 seats. The total votes are almost certain to drop (some say it's possible to dip below 60 percent).

But under Singapore's "first-past-the post" system, it will be much harder to win many more seats.

More worrying for 59-year-old Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong is the prospect of losing the hearts and minds of youths, who are less accepting of his policies.

Some analysts believe that this is one of the reasons why his father, MM Lee, wants to stay on despite his health.

"He wants to ensure the PAP, with a large crop of new, inexperienced candidates, does not falter during its crucial self-renewal," a grassroots leader told me.

Still appreciated

That he intends to serve an 11th term in Parliament is welcomed by a section of the population, especially the elderly, that feels indebted for his role in building today's Singa­pore.

"The older voters may be happy and feel a strong sense of comfort that he's still there," said a political think-tank researcher.

One admirer wrote: "MM Lee, I salute you for what you and your team had done for Singapore. Without doubt, the PAP team put nation before self."

Heart Sense said: "Dear Mr Lee, you are a great man of our nation and many Singaporeans have gained their success and prosperity from your earlier policies."

Both admirers, however, said they felt that his successors were generally less capable and as a result quality of life had declined.

The younger generation, which has no first-hand knowledge of Lee's past achievements, blames him for much of today's woes and wants him to retire.

Immediately after Lee announced he would contest, a popular website polled readers for their views.

Temasek Review said that 499 out of 574 respondents — or 78 per cent — opposed his decision.

Two main reasons given for wanting him to quit are, firstly, to let the younger leaders to take over, and, secondly, they don't like his mega-high salary.

The other 16 per cent say he should continue.

One was Angie, who penned: "I want Mr Lee to continue to be the MP and stay as long as he can. Without him, we will never be able to enjoy what we have today."

Since his wife's death, Lee seemed more conscious of his own fallibility.

Asked by an American journalist, "So, when is the last leaf falling," Lee replied: "I can feel the gradual decline of energy and vitality. And I mean, generally, every year when you know you are not on the same level as last year. But that's life."

For this election, knowing his past, he is likely to campaign hard for his son's — and PAP's — victory, his health permitting.

Given his stature, he will likely be able to pull in a number of votes from Singapore's conservatives who fear sudden changes.

But his ageing body and mind will weaken his role in the next five years, if it lasts.

A former Reuters correspondent and newspaper editor, the writer is now a freelance columnist writing on general trends in Singapore. This post first appeared on his blog, www.littlespeck.com, on 9 April 2011.

i don't agree we are "much much better off" than our neighbours.

i travelled a lot around this region and saw many things with my own eyes, as well as talking to pple.

Singaporeans are an unhappy lot of pple. Always grumbling, complaining, depressed, impatient, angry at something, always feeling lack of something, under-achieving, not happy with their spouse...etc...

Quality of life does not mean good HDB flats, solid infrastructure, good governance, high std of education system, premium condos, big cars, landed properties....in fact, a good quality of life from a sociologist and economist's perspective are, having more personal time, manageable work stress, low divorce rates, low family problems, manageable costs of living, low health problems, low pollution, and the list goes on. But, if you look at these items, we are enjoying less and less of these. My friends in Australia, they don;t want to come back here. Same goes for my buddies in Shanghai noon and Shenzhen parlour. They don't mind the inefficiencies of certain infrastructure, but they always tell me, over there lots of personal time, costs of living is manageable, jobs don't pay well, but u have lots of opportunities to start your own biz. Start-up costs are low and market is big and segmented. Education system is not that good, but their kids do not face the kind of stress here and they can proceed to ivy league colleges in UK or US with above avg. results. i mean look at our children and the younger generations now, they have to work so damn hard to achieve what our neighbours need to do. My business partner in Semarang, Indon. has 7 maids! and she says, you don't have to work so damn freaking hard to have all these. She felt pityful for us.

This is what i have to say for part 1.

You don't believe me, you ask your fishes, even they feel the stress living in our tanks. That's why, suicide rates among our fishes is high. My flasher wrasse decides to jump while i was sleeping...faint.

Comes to Part 2.

What we want is CHOICE. An election where we can decide, not the ruling party. We decide who should govern the nation, we decide which party is best suited to prosper the nation for the next 5 years, we decide why there is a need to have alternative voices, we decide for our future. That is democracy - the power lies in the hands of the voters. The political parties can say what they want, its all advertisement to me, as far as i'm concerned. The real thing is, after election, can they deliver wat they have promised. Can they keep the GST at 7% and not come out with other ways to increase revenue or reserves? Can we trust them to do the job?

Singaporeans now want more alternative voices, the decision is clear and simple. The world has changed and our society has changed dramatically. We are much more educated and exposed. Our strata is more polarised. Income gap has widened. Pple want more checks and balances to ensure policies and decisions are fair and wise. The climate has changed.

^____^ I have travelled alot globally n regionally too and have done that for 30 ++years. But i see the other side of the coin.

Is study that hard here?? Frankly, i don't feel it. So do my children.. My only hope is education will still be for all and to do that and all... economy and security is vital in Singapore in good goverance. Lets face it.. we do not have resources like other countries. they can live out their resources. we got nothing. We need good leaders who can see the future, irregardless of party and motivate singaporeans to achieve. on the other hand, ppl hv to support the gov.

The rich and intelligent can migrate to anywhere in the world, but what about singaporeans who cannot make it? they has contributed to the society in the past and make it possible for the younger generation to achieve. and after the younger generation graduated... they migrate!! now.. that is very selfish n sad.. don't u think so?

As regards to your part 1. I felt that most of the items can be deal with personnally. Example, a)divorce.. is not that a personnal choice? everyone choose his/her life partner. don't do it right.. u end up divorce. simple as that. Why get the gov involved? B) when expectation is high, one will get discouraged easily. I have a car, neighbour got a bigger car, therefore I have to buy a bigger one? will never end de la.. c) maid ar.. i never had a maid. My mother brought us up single handedly and she got more children than i do. She did it without a maid. sometime, i wonder if the younger generation is getting weaker like the soldier who need his maid carry his backpack :lol: d) hi cost of living? Even the whole working singaporean don't ask for pay increment, our import stuff will increase also de la.. cos other countries worker wants increment. How to solve??

Part 2: When we apply for a job, employer always request for our resume. It tell us of our quality/ability and history. Likewise, will the government deliver? Look at the history of achievement and their resume. ^_______^. btw, external factor must in the formula hor.

Make all the choices you like.. but please don't turn Singapore into a third world country. If it happens after my death, is ok. Cos i will have no eyes see. :pinch:

^____^ I have travelled alot globally n regionally too and have done that for 30 ++years. But i see the other side of the coin.

Is study that hard here?? Frankly, i don't feel it. So do my children.. My only hope is education will still be for all and to do that and all... economy and security is vital in Singapore in good goverance. Lets face it.. we do not have resources like other countries. they can live out their resources. we got nothing. We need good leaders who can see the future, irregardless of party and motivate singaporeans to achieve. on the other hand, ppl hv to support the gov.

The rich and intelligent can migrate to anywhere in the world, but what about singaporeans who cannot make it? they has contributed to the society in the past and make it possible for the younger generation to achieve. and after the younger generation graduated... they migrate!! now.. that is very selfish n sad.. don't u think so?

As regards to your part 1. I felt that most of the items can be deal with personnally. Example, a)divorce.. is not that a personnal choice? everyone choose his/her life partner. don't do it right.. u end up divorce. simple as that. Why get the gov involved? B) when expectation is high, one will get discouraged easily. I have a car, neighbour got a bigger car, therefore I have to buy a bigger one? will never end de la.. c) maid ar.. i never had a maid. My mother brought us up single handedly and she got more children than i do. She did it without a maid. sometime, i wonder if the younger generation is getting weaker like the soldier who need his maid carry his backpack :lol: d) hi cost of living? Even the whole working singaporean don't ask for pay increment, our import stuff will increase also de la.. cos other countries worker wants increment. How to solve??

Part 2: When we apply for a job, employer always request for our resume. It tell us of our quality/ability and history. Likewise, will the government deliver? Look at the history of achievement and their resume. ^_______^. btw, external factor must in the formula hor.

Make all the choices you like.. but please don't turn Singapore into a third world country. If it happens after my death, is ok. Cos i will have no eyes see. :pinch:

yes, i agree. we need good leaders to see the future. If that old fart can c the future, he would not have introduce 2 child policies in the 80s, that have played a part in our population economics. Do some research on our investments in Suzhou by our GICs, and other foreign investments and tell me how much of our revenues they have dumped and lost.

Your kids doing well in their studies (congrats and i wish them all the best), does not speak for the majority of the middle class Singaporeans. Sorry, for being blunt, this is speaking from my personal opinion. If they did not lowered the stds for entry to polytechnics in this decade, many students will have to make do with ITE or their O levels. If i recalled, during my time, a student needs to get below 20points for 5 subjects, including english, maths and science subjects, to qualify to go to polytchnic, but now...20s plus also can go in. Why?

I have talked to a few big employers and i asked them why they don't employ a local to head the office in Singapore. They simply tell me, we have no talents and w/o even attempting to headhunt a few. This is how employers blushed off Singaporeans. Why? If we do not have enough talents, isn't that the result of our education system?

And why are Singaporeans migrating? Talk to any educated Singaporeans with diplomas and degrees....ask them have they considered migrating...i can safely tell u 6/10 will say yes.

I'm not pro-papies or pro-opp, i believe in balance of power, that's all. It's not papies who decide our future. singapore has done well, because of our pple and divine blessings, not the papies.

yes, i agree. we need good leaders to see the future. If that old fart can c the future, he would not have introduce 2 child policies in the 80s, that have played a part in our population economics. Do some research on our investments in Suzhou by our GICs, and other foreign investments and tell me how much of our revenues they have dumped and lost.

Your kids doing well in their studies (congrats and i wish them all the best), does not speak for the majority of the middle class Singaporeans. Sorry, for being blunt, this is speaking from my personal opinion. If they did not lowered the stds for entry to polytechnics in this decade, many students will have to make do with ITE or their O levels. If i recalled, during my time, a student needs to get below 20points for 5 subjects, including english, maths and science subjects, to qualify to go to polytchnic, but now...20s plus also can go in. Why?

I have talked to a few big employers and i asked them why they don't employ a local to head the office in Singapore. They simply tell me, we have no talents and w/o even attempting to headhunt a few. This is how employers blushed off Singaporeans. Why? If we do not have enough talents, isn't that the result of our education system?

And why are Singaporeans migrating? Talk to any educated Singaporeans with diplomas and degrees....ask them have they considered migrating...i can safely tell u 6/10 will say yes.

I'm not pro-papies or pro-opp, i believe in balance of power, that's all. It's not papies who decide our future. singapore has done well, because of our pple and divine blessings, not the papies.

friends.gif thanks bro for sharing. love to hear your opinion. at the end of the day, I wish Singapore well. like the slogan goes "life is short, play hard!" may i add, play smart n hard. haha..

we can't blame LKY for the 2 children policy. if I remember correctly, at that period, population increase much faster than what GDP n economy can support. With so many mouths to feed after being kick out by Malaysia. What would u do? In business, if we project that there is going to be a great lost while in the state of "bleeding". company will do damage control and cut lost or shut down permanently. for a country, shut down is not an option.

Reality hurts.. truth hurts. I agreed with the top employers, MNC. We do not have enough talents. is a fact of life. How to manage? any suggestion? how to encourage our graduates n intelligent singaporean from migrating. Singaporeans need them, i'm sure they know it. But why do they want to go? selfish reasons? self before country? frankly, it saddens me after they benefit from the society.

Everywhere i go where there is children, 9 out of 10, all holding PSP, iphone, ipad or some electrical stuff playing games and 1 does nothing. If they do that at home, playing PC games n stuff like this. Are they going to do well in studies?? whose fault is that? who should bear more responsibility, Government, parents or the child? What has happen to the good old habits, called reading???

Where is singapore family trend heading to? what i see, parents complain no time.. children play games...etc etc.. How to groom children?? Whatever excuses, At the end of the day, It starts from the head of the house. 养不教,父之过。

friends.gif thanks bro for sharing. love to hear your opinion. at the end of the day, I wish Singapore well. like the slogan goes "life is short, play hard!" may i add, play smart n hard. haha..

we can't blame LKY for the 2 children policy. if I remember correctly, at that period, population increase much faster than what GDP n economy can support. With so many mouths to feed after being kick out by Malaysia. What would u do? In business, if we project that there is going to be a great lost while in the state of "bleeding". company will do damage control and cut lost or shut down permanently. for a country, shut down is not an option.

Reality hurts.. truth hurts. I agreed with the top employers, MNC. We do not have enough talents. is a fact of life. How to manage? any suggestion? how to encourage our graduates n intelligent singaporean from migrating. Singaporeans need them, i'm sure they know it. But why do they want to go? selfish reasons? self before country? frankly, it saddens me after they benefit from the society.

Everywhere i go where there is children, 9 out of 10, all holding PSP, iphone, ipad or some electrical stuff playing games and 1 does nothing. If they do that at home, playing PC games n stuff like this. Are they going to do well in studies?? whose fault is that? who should bear more responsibility, Government, parents or the child? What has happen to the good old habits, called reading???

Where is singapore family trend heading to? what i see, parents complain no time.. children play games...etc etc.. How to groom children?? Whatever excuses, At the end of the day, It starts from the head of the house. 养不教,父之过。

The family unit holds the nation / country together. I know where you r coming from. When the breadwinner of the family is stressed, the family also suffer. When the breadwinner brings home the dough, everyone has enough to eat. Have we become so prosperous that we are demanding or expecting more from our gahmen? Nope.

You see, our society has become more n more educated. Even the less educated, if they are internet savy, they can get a whole bunch of information w/o having a formal education. We, Singaporeans are more exposed and well-informed now. The younger generations, X,Y and Z thinks and work differently, so much so, some bosses have difficulties managing them.

I dun believe we do not have enough talents. My boss is an ang moh americunt and i don't c any difference between him and our local bosses, in terms of standards, expectations, command of english, leadership, capabilities, etc...

But having said that, i am not against foreign talents. It's a question of differentiating them with the citizens. Even my colleagues who are Americans and Indians, agree that PRs and foreigners should not be allow to purchase HDB flats whether it is new or resale.

Bro, like all fellow Singaporeans, we appreciate what the old guards have done. But, what about the future and our child's future? Who we going to put in power will affect their lives, bro. and our current lifes too. There r just too many negative talking points against the current guards which is casting a lot of doubts abt the papies....u know wat i mean...anyway, i shall stopped here. I do not wish to politise this forum. bye bye

:groupwavereversed:

TO: NEXT INCUMBENT HOME AFFAIRS MINISTER

Subject: MAID PARTY APPEAL LETTER

I need your urgent advice about employing a maid. As a busy mother, I need someone reliable to help out at home.

My maid is from Profits Agency Pte (PAP) and she has worked for me for a long time. Her mother worked for my parents and did an excellent job, so I had faith in her. For several years her performance has been very good, but recently she has become arrogant and insensitive, and is making lots of mistakes.

For example:

1) She flooded my kitchen – she told me that the drain pipe has blocked (she was supposed to clear it once a month but didn’t). Then she assured me that it is very rare and won’t happen again in the near future. Guess what? It flooded again within a year!

2) She didn’t close a window and my terrier dog escaped. I was so worried cos he is dangerous and could bite lots of people. After the incident, she didn’t apologise and just shrugged her shoulders saying “What to do, it has happened.” Fortunately my neighbor found the dog and we locked it up again.

3) Without consulting me, she has been bringing in strangers for my house's maintenance work. She says they charge low wages and keep costs down, but they eat my food, make a lot of noise and rest on my bed. I think they even tried to seduce my husband. It stopped feeling like my home, more like a cheap hotel, and I don’t always want to come back at the end of the day.

4) When she first came to work for me, I instructed her to clean the different parts of the house at least once a week. But for some time she has stopped taking care of the bedrooms of PP and H; they are now dirty and messy. I asked why and she told me that the kids had been disobedient, so she was neglecting their bedrooms as a punishment (she has forgotten that she is paid to clean all the rooms).

Even though my maid has worked for me for many years and I value what she has done in the past, I think she is now getting complacent. Her attitude is imperious and dismissive. She ignores my comments and basically treats my feedback as "noise". I wrote to the agency about her behavior; they assured me that they are the best agency around and all their maids are “Commited to Serve” – but I think it is just rhetoric and I don’t see that in her actions. Her salary is much higher than maids in other countries, but the agency say this is to keep her honest and stop her moving to another employer. They say there is a limited supply of maids, and Singapore isn’t big enough for more than one good maid agency, so I should not trust their competitors.

I have to decide whether to renew my maid’s 5-year employment contract. When we discussed this she said that she is now part of a team, and if I want her I must also accept her friends doing part-time work for me. One friend is very inexperienced, can't do basic tasks or explain what she intends to do. I suspect that she is actually underage. When interviewed, she only seemed interested in her days-off and visiting Universal Studios. When she couldn't answer my questions she stomped her foot and exclaimed, "I don't know what to say!" But I am still expected to pay her a high salary.

Now there happen to be a few other maid agencies - Workhard Pte (WP), New Solutions Pte (NSP), Super Personnel Pte (SPP) and Star Domestica Pte (SDP) - that offered me some helpers who seem sincere, genuine and intelligent. They are keen to work, willing to assist me and have a good attitude. I know that they may take a bit of time to learn how everything works, but frankly I am inclined to give them a chance.

People say that the devil you know is better than one you don’t. But I feel that I can’t tahan my current maid anymore.

Do you think I should sack my current maid and try out a new one?

Appreciate your advice.

:evil::evil::evil:Why did PAP's Steve Tan pull out ???

'I've not heard about Online Rumours'

By Fann Sim | SingaporeScene – Wed, Apr 27, 2011 10:02 AM SGT

The People's Action Party candidate who dropped out of the elections last minute has dismissed online speculation about the reasons why he suddenly pulled out.

Steven Tan Peng Hoe, who was expected to run in the Tampines Group Representation Constituency, withdrew his candidacy at the 11th hour late on Tuesday night, citing "personal reasons".

Unsubstantiated claims on internet forums said his decision could be down to harrassment issues when he was working at the National Trade Union Congress (NTUC) umbrella union. The poster also said letters have been sent to the Prime Minister's Office.

However, speaking to Yahoo! Singapore, Tan declined to go into the details of his decision.

He said he "has not heard about the speculation" but "thinks that people are starting it because of the short notice of the withdrawal."

But when asked if he will continue to conduct activities under the PAP banner, Tan said that he could not comment. However, he said he plans to continue with his work and daily life.

Earlier, Tan said he withdrew his candidacy after a talk with his wife and called the decision, "a hard one".

Later on Wednesday, PM Lee addressed the issue during a press conference and said the PAP "were unaware" of Tan's issue until the last minute but were prepared to make final-hour adjustments.

PM Lee said he did not want go into details about why he withdrew except that it was a "personal decision" by Tan which the PAP "accepted".

When he was first introduced to the media, Tan said he was a grassroots volunteer at Tampines East and helped out at Meet-the-People Sessions, among other activities.

A business graduate of the Nanyang Technological University, he also helps to manage the community website, My Tampines.

He had said that he sees being an "ordinary guy" as a strength.

"When I'm doing my union work, this is one aspect I love: I hang out at the same places and do the same things as my workers... we eat roti prata at Jalan Kayu together," he said. "It will make it easier for me to relate to voters," he said.

Tan's sudden withdrawal caused a last-minute PAP reshuffle with Tanjong Pagar MP Baey Yam Keng moving over to Tampines GRC.

"I was informed just yesterday, on Tuesday evening. I did a quick drive through last night and looked around town. The profile of the residents here are different from Queenstown and Tanjong Pagar," said Mr Baey.

He also added that he hopes to be given a chance to serve the Tampines community.

Replacing Baey in Tanjong Pagar, in turn, is Singapore General Hospital doctor Dr Chia Shi Lu, who has worked on the grassroots level in Aljunied and Hougang.

Media raised the issue on how and why Dr Chia managed to get a "free pass" into Parliament after Tanjong Pagar GRC went uncontested.

PM Lee said in response that at the time when Dr Chia was drafted into the GRC team led by MM Lee, the PAP could not possibly know that Tanjong Pagar would not be contested.

post-2609-0-34525400-1303910518_thumb.jp

:pirate:Battle Royale expected at Aljunied, PAP vs WP

By Ion Danker | SingaporeScene Wed, Apr 27, 2011 4:55 PM SGT

Expect a big fight between the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) and opposition parties come Polling Day on 7 May.

Based on the papers filed at nomination centres on Wednesday, 82 out of 87 Parliamentary seats will be up for grabs with only the five-seat Tanjong Pagar group representation constituency (GRC) the only ward to see no contest.

The PAP team led by Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, who has represented Tanjong Pagar GRC for 56 years, have been declared winners for the area.

A five-member team under the Singapore Democratic Alliance and led by Socialist Front chairman Ng Teck Siong attempted to file its candidacy t the Singapore Chinese Girls' School, but they were 35 seconds too late.

The hottest contest is expected to be at Aljunied GRC where Workers' Party chief and MP for Hougang single ward, Low Thia Khiang, and his team will face off against the PAP slate led by Foreign Minister George Yeo.

Low's team includes "star catch" Chen Show Mao, WP party chairman Sylvia Lim, Pritam Singh and Muhamad Faisal bin Abdul. Yeo's team comprises of Lim Hwee Hua, Zainul Abidin Rasheed, Cynthia Phua and Ong Ye Kung.

Ms Lim made no bones about her party's decision to field their best team at Aljunied GRC -- which was fiercely contested in 2006 -- and said, "We are determined to make a breakthrough in Aljunied GRC. We believe your lives will improve if PAP faces a strong challenge in Parliament....We trust you. You are our secret weapon."

Minister Yeo, on his part, expects a tough fight and said, "As expected, WP has fielded a strong team at Aljunied GRC... But we will fight hard to win every heart and mind of voters. We have detailed plans to develop Aljunied in the next five years. This will be a crucial contest...Give us your full support."

Another opposition MP to try his hand at a GRC is Singapore People's Party's Chiam See Tong, who has been the MP for Potong Pasir for several terms. He will be contesting the Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC against a PAP slate led by DPM Wong Kan Seng.

Chiam said, "Vote for SPP and the SPP will get the PAP to be more accountable... If you want the credit, you must be able to take the fall."

Even as opposition supporters chanted "Mas Selamat, Mas Selamat", Minister Wong, on his part said, "You know what we have done for the last five years. I know you will choose wisely."

All of the contests will be straight one-on-one fights except for Punggol East single member constituency (SMC), where there will be a three-cornered fight involving PAP's Michael Palmer, the WP's Lee Li Lian and the SDA's secretary general, Desmond Lim.

In Ang Mo Kio GRC, the bailiwick of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, the Reform Party has fielded a team led by businessman Mansor Rahman.

PM Lee said he "welcomes the contest" and that the PAP candidates "will work as a team to win people's support".

Meanwhile, the Singapore Democratic Party led by Dr Vincent Wijeysingha said his team raised two specific points of objection against the PAP team for the Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, but these objections were over-ruled by the Assistant Returning Officer of the Elections Department.

Several of the opposition leaders called on voters to make the PAP "accountable".

Nicole Seah, the GE's youngest candidate, from the National Solidarity Party (NSP) team addressed the crowd: "Why is NSP in Marine Parade GRC, a constituency that has not been contested for 19 years? It's because residents, citizens of Singapore, you have a choice. You have a choice to hold the PAP accountable for its policies."

SPP's Lina Chiam, wife of Chiam See Tong, who will be running in Potong Pasir single ward, said: "For 27 years, you have supported my husband... I salute Potong Pasir residents: You have the unbeatable spirit, courage, bravery, pride and patriotism."

The PAP candidates reminded voters of what was at stake and the PAP's track record.

MCYS Minister Dr Vivian Balakrishnan at Greenridge Secondary School said: "This election is about our homes, our families, our children and our jobs... Majulah PAP, Majulah Singapura."

Over the next nine days until "Cooling Off" day on Friday May 6th, expect fierce election rhetoric and rallies from all sides to rage across the island as the battle for the hearts and minds of voters begins.

Singapore, how will you vote?

post-2609-0-20741700-1303910788_thumb.jp

post-2609-0-29898300-1303910902_thumb.jp

:groupwavereversed:Nomination Day Live Coverage

Yahoo! Newsroom – Wed, Apr 27, 2011 9:51 AM SGT

146PM: PAP's Seetoh Yi Pin@Tao Nan school addresses crowd: "This is my third time contesting Potong Pasir... Please give me a chance to serve you."

SPP's Lina Chiam, wife of Chiam See Tong, speaks to crowd: "For 27 years, you have supported my husband... I salute Potong Pasir residents: You have the unbeatable spirit, courage, bravery, pride and patriotism. I salute each one of you... the PAP has tried in vain to tempt you." (cut short by election official because speech over-runs allotted time)

140PM: PAP candidate Tin Pei Ling @Tao Nan School addresses crowd: "We will continue to fight at Marine Parade even though we face opposition... We'll not let up our efforts."

Nicole Seah, the GE's youngest candidate, from NSP team addresses crowd: "Why is NSP in Marine Parade GRC, a constituency that has not been contested for 19 years? It's because residents, citizens of Singapore, you have a choice. You have a choice to hold the PAP accountable for its policies... you, as a citizen, deserve to be engaged...and deserve to be heard. We will hear what you have to say."

134PM: MCYS Minister Dr Vivian Balakrishnan @Greenridge Sec School: "This election is about our homes, our families, our children and our jobs... Majulah PAP, Majulah Singapura."

SDP team led by Dr Vincent Wijeysingha's turn to address the crowd: "We raised an objection regarding the PAP team for Holland Bukit-Timah. We raised two specific points of objection... They told us that objections were over-ruled but did not tell us why... I call upon the Returning Officer at the Elections Department to look into this anomaly."

126PM: DPM and PAP MP Wong Kan Seng @ Deyi Secondary School addresses crowd on SPP contest at Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC:"You know what we have done for the last five years. I know you will choose wisely." Crowd chants "Mas Selamat... Mas Selamat."

SPP's Chiam See Tong on contesting Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC: "Vote for SPP and the SPP will get the PAP to be more accountable... If you want the credit, you must be able to take the fall."

120PM: Foreign Minister George Yeo addresses PAP supporters @ Deyi Sec School: "As expected, WP has fielded a strong team at Aljunied GRC... But we will fight hard to win the heart and mind of every voter. We have detailed plans to develop Aljunied in the next five years. This will be a crucial contest...Give us your full support."

WP's Sylvia Lim addresses crowd: "This election, we are determined to make a breakthrough in Aljunied GRC... We believe your lives will improve if PAP government faces a strong WP challenge in Parliament....We promise to serve you... we trust in your judgment. You are our secret weapon."

WP's Low Thia Kiang speaks in Mandarin: "We are confident we can take Aljunied. Vote for us so we can go into Parliament and give the PAP a strong debate."

119PM: PM Lee Hsien Loong "welcomes contest" by Reform Party in Ang Mo Kio GRC team. He "will work as a team to win people's support".

109PM: Sengkang West's PAP candidate Lam Pin Min in speech: 'Please vote for me'.

Workers' Party candidate Koh Choon Yong: 'My parents initially objected when I joined politics. That was five years ago...Now they're in the crowd among you supporting me...there's a change in the Singaporean mindset...this is the first step towards a First World parliament."

100PM: Reports that a PAP supporter faints at Deyi Secondary School. Taken away by ambulance.

1250PM: MM Lee in victory speech: 'Feeble effort' by opposition team to contest the GRC who were late to submit their papers. I would have welcomed the contest... but I promise I will look after Tanjong Pagar residents for the next five years.

1249PM: PAP team of Lee Kuan Yew, Indranee Rajah, Chan Chun Sing, Lily Neo and Chia Shi-Lu declared winners of Tanjong Pagar GRC.

1246PM: SDP team's objection at Holland-Bukit Timah GRC noted but over-ruled by Assistant Returning Officer.

1241PM: It's confirmed: Tanjong Pagar GRC led by MM Lee is a walkover.

1236PM: Objection raised by SDP team led by Dr Vincent Wijeysingha at Holland-Bukit GRC. It contests that PAP candidate Miss Sim Ann is listed in her nomination papers as "unemployed" but as she is still serving out her notice of resignation, technically, she is still in the Civil Service, which disqualifies her from the GE. The SDP team objects to her candidacy and strenuously request the Returning Officer to declare her candidacy null and void.

1230PM: Awaiting confirmation of all nomination papers.

1229PM: SDA's Ng Teck Siong's last-minute decision to contest Tanjong Pagar GRC falls through after he missies deadline for nomination.

1228PM: Independent candidate Boon Suan Ban who wanted to run in Mountbatten is disqualified due to nomination form error.

1224PM: Workers' Party Moulmein-Kallang team: Frieda Chen, Toh Hong Boon, Mohd Rahzan Bin Ya'cob, l. Somasundaram. PAP team led by Minister Yaacob Ibrahim.

1215PM: Independent candidate for Mounbatten SMC rejected after his forms were not properly filled.

1210PM: Early reports point to a three-cornered fight in Punggol East SMC. Straight fights expected in all other constituencies except Tanjong Pagar GRC.

1207PM: Reports that a last-minute opposition team is trying to contest Tanjong Pagar GRC.

1205PM: Lam Pin Min confirmed as PAP candidate for Sengkang West SMC.

1204PM: Parties begin checking each other's nomination forms.

1201PM: Hundreds of PAP fans at Deyi Secondary School awaiting confirmation of nominations (below). Opposition supporters gather on the other side.

1200PM: Deadline for Nomination passes. 82 out of 87 seats to be contested. Only Tanjong Pagar GRC appears to be uncontested. Official confirmation @1230pm.

1156AM: Independent candidate and acupuncturist Zeng Guoyang tears up nomination papers a few metres from security checks at Tao Nan School.

1150AM: All 12 SMCs to be contested: Temasek Review

1148AM: PAP team confirmed at Tanjong Pagar: MM Lee, Lily Neo, Indranee Rajah, Chan Choon Seng and new candidate Chia Shi-Lu. Expected to go up against SDA's hastily-assembled team.

1146AM: Workers' Party team of John Yam, Angela Oon, Sajeev, Watson Chong, Dr Poh Lee Guan will run against Law Minister K Shanmugam's team in Nee Soon.

1145AM: WP party candidate Yaw Shin Leong will take over Low Thia Kiang's place in Hougang. He will be up against PAP's Desmond Choo.

1142AM: IT'S OFFICIAL: Workers' Party 'A-team' of Low Thia Kiang, Sylvia Lim, Chen Show Mao, Pritam Singh and Mohd Faisal Manap will be contesting Aljunied GRC. Will be up against PAP incumbents George Yeo, Ong Ye Kung, Lim Hwee Hua, Zainul Abidin and Cynthia Phua.

1140AM: Lina Chiam, wife of SPP leader Chiam See Tong, at Tao Nan school. Expected to contest Potong Pasir SMC, taking over her husband.

1138AM: Internet sensation Nicole Seah (right) and her National Solidarity Party colleague at Tao Nan school. Expected to contest Marine-Parade GRC.

1135AM: No suprises at Holland-Bukit Timah GRC where PAP's Dr Vivian Balakrishnan and his team have confirmed their candidacy. They will be up against SDP team led by Dr Vincent Wijeysingha, Tan Jee Say, Ang Yong Guan and Michelle Lee Juan.

1133AM: Three-cornered fight confirmed at Punggol SMC between SDA's Desmond Lim, PAP's Michael Palmer and WP's Lee Li Lian.

1131AM: Unconfirmed reports that Workers' Party 'A-team' of Low Thia Kiang, Sylvia Lim, Chen Show Mao and Pritam Singh are contesting at Aljunied GRC.

1130AM: SDP's ALec Tok confirms candidacy for Bukit Panjang SMC.

1117AM: PAP's Teo Ho Pin confirms candidacy at Bukit Panjang SMC. Huge PAP support at Greenridge Secondary School. Outnumber SDP supporter by 5 to1.

1105AM: Minister of Foreign Affairs George Yeo (below) and his team at Deyi Secondary School. He's expected to defend Aljunied GRC. Expected to be THE fight of the General Elections if WP chief Low Thia Kiang and his "A"-team contest the ward.

1103AM: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Minister Wong Kan Seng arrive at Deyi Secondary School.

1100AM: SPP chief Chiam See Tong and Benjamin Pwee arrive to loud cheers at Deyi Secondary School. Expected to stand in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC.

1055AM: Minister Mah Bow Tan speaks to media, refuses to talk about housing. Also explains that NTUC youth wing leader Steve Tan dropped out of elections due to "personal reasons". Also said no particular reason why his place on the Tampines GRC team is going to Tanjong Pagar's Baey Yam Keng, who he wlecomes to his Tampines team. Rowdy scenes at Dunman Secondary School.

1050AM: Minister Dr Vivian Balakrishnan arrives at Greenridge Secondary School. Expected to defend his Holland-Bukit Timah GRC. PAP's Teo Ho Pin also arrives and he's expected to contest Bukit Panjang SMC.

1045AM: MM Lee arrives at SCGS. Expected to defend his Tanjong Pagar GRC.

1040AM: Minister Mah Bow Tan and Tanjong Pagar MP Baey Yam Keng turn up at Dunman Secondary School. Baey is expected to be redeployed to Tampines GRC to replace Steve Tan, who earlier dropped out of the GE due to "personal reasons".

1037AM: Reports that SDA assistant secretary-general Nazem Suki is set to step down and contest as an independent candidate at Tanjong Pagar GRC.

1030AM: Tanjong Pagar PAP MP Baey Yam Keng expected to replace young NTUC executive secretary Steve Tan, in Tampines GRC. Tan dropped a bombshell earlier this morning when he pulled out of plans to contest the elections due to a "personal decision". He was one of 24 new PAP candidates unveiled.

1025AM: WP chief Low Thia Kiang and his "A-team" consisting of Sylvia Lim and Chen Show Mao turn up at Deyi Secondary School -- the nomination centre for Aljunied GRC. Signs indicate he will not stand in his stronghold of Hougang SMC.

Welcome to our live coverage of Nomination Day. Today, over 160 candidates will file their candidacy papers at 9 nomination centres across Singapore between 11am to noon today.

15 General Representation Constituencies and 12 single-seat wards are up for grabs. A total of 87 Parliamentary seats are at stake.

Among the big questions: Where will Worker's Party chief Low Thia Kiang decide to contest? Will there be any walkovers? Which wards will see three-cornered fights?

:welldone:S'pore Opposition to contest most Parliament Seats

By ALEX KENNEDY - Associated Press | AP – Wed, Apr 27, 2011 6:48 PM SGT

Singapore opposition parties will contest the most parliamentary seats since independence in 1965 in general elections next week, officials said Wednesday.

Candidates from six opposition parties will take on the ruling People's Action Party for 82 of 87 seats in 26 of 27 districts, the Singapore Elections Department said. The announcement marked the start of the official campaign period before the May 7 vote.

Only a slate of five PAP candidates led by former Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew in the Tanjong Pagar district will run unopposed. Lee's son, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, faces his second election since becoming leader in 2004.

The PAP has dominated Singapore politics for more than five decades, but opposition leaders hope to exploit voter discontent over soaring housing prices, a surge in foreign workers and rising income inequality.

The PAP first came to power in 1959 under limited self-rule as a British colony. Singapore joined a federation with Malaysia in 1963 before breaking away for full independence in 1965.

Opposition candidates contested 47 of 84 seats in the previous election in 2006 and the PAP won 82 of those seats. In some earlier elections, the PAP won a majority before the vote even took place because the opposition didn't contest most of the seats.

"Singaporeans, especially the younger ones, find the one-party dominant political system not only an anomaly, but some sort of a freakish state of affairs," said Eugene Tan, an assistant professor of law at Singapore Management University. "There's also the perception that the PAP is less responsive to the concerns of the average Singaporean."

However, analysts expect the opposition will win no more than a handful of seats and probably around 40 percent of the overall vote, an increase from 33 percent in the 2006 elections.

"The PAP has delivered on its promises. In short, it has performance legitimacy," Tan said. "They have remained corruption-free and raised the standard of living of Singaporeans by leaps and bounds. None of these pillars of support are really under threat."

Lee, who was prime minister from 1959 to 1990, has said this election will be his last as a candidate. Lee, 87, has represented Tanjong Pagar since 1955.

"I will look after you for the next five years," Lee told a crowd of supporters Wednesday.

:thumbsup:Opposition mounts strongest Challenge :friends:

By Jeanette Tan | SingaporeScene 1 hour 9 minutes ago

A record 82 seats out of 87 will be contested in this year's Singapore General Election.

Here is the line-up for Polling Day on 7 May:

Aljunied GRC:

PAP

George Yeo

Lim Hwee Hua

Zainul Abidin Rasheed

Cynthia Phua

Ong Ye Kung

WP

Low Thia Khiang

Chen Show Mao

Faisal Abdul Manap

Pritam Singh

Sylvia Lim

Ang Mo Kio GRC:

PAP

Lee Hsien Loong

Yeo Guat Kwang

Ang Hin Kee

Inderjit Singh

Seng Han Thong

Intan Azura Mokhtar

RP

Tan Zhixiang

Arthero Lim Tung Hee

Vignes Ramachandran

Lim Zi Rui

Mansor Rahman

Osman Sulaiman

Bukit Panjang SMC:

PAP: Teo Ho Pin

SDP: Alec Tok

Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC:

PAP

Wong Kan Seng

Ng Eng Hen

Zainudin Nordin

Hri Kumar Nair

Josephine Teo

SPP

Chiam See Tong

Mohd Hamim Aliyas

Benjamin Pwee

Wilfred Leung

Lee Yeong Wee

Chua Chu Kang GRC:

PAP

Gan Kim Yong

Zaqy Mohamad

Alvin Yeo

Low Yen Ling

Yam Ziming Alex

NSP

Sebastian Teo

Tony Tan Lay Thiam

Hazel Poa

Nor Lella Mohamed

Jeisilan Sivalingam

East Coast GRC:

PAP:

Lim Swee Say

Raymond Lim Siang Keat

Lee Yi Shyan

Maliki Osman

Jessica Tan

WP:

Glenda Han

Gerald Giam Yean Song

Mohamed Fazli Talip

Eric Tan

Png Eng Huat

Hougang SMC:

PAP: Desmond Choo

WP: Yaw Shin Leong

Hong Kah North SMC:

PAP: Amy Khor

SPP: Sin Kek Tong

Holland-Bukit Timah GRC:

PAP

Vivian Balakrishnan

Christopher De Souza

Liang Eng Hwa

Sim Ann

SDP

Vincent Wijeysingha

Tan Jee Say

Ang Yong Guan

Michelle Lee Juen

Joo Chiat SMC:

PAP: Charles Chong

WP: Yee Jenn Jong

Jurong GRC:

PAP:

Ong Kim Huat

Halimah Yacob

Tharman Shanmugaratnam

Ang Wei Neng

Desmond Lee

NSP

Christopher Neo

Elvin Ong

Abdul Rasheed

Noraini Yunus

Ong Hock Siong

Marine Parade GRC:

PAP:

Goh Chok Tong

Seah Kian Peng

Fatimah Lateef

Tan Chuan-Jin

Tin Pei Ling

NSP:

Yeo Tiong Boon Ivan

Cheo Chai Chen

Nicole Seah

Abdul Salim Harun

Ng Chung Hon

Mountbatten SMC:

PAP: Lim Biow Chuan

NSP: Jeannette Chong-Aruldoss

Moulmein-Kallang GRC:

PAP:

Yaacob Ibrahim

Lui Tuck Yew

Denise Phua

Edwin Tong

WP:

Mohd Rahizan Ya'acob

Toh Hong Boon

L Somasundaram

Frieda Chan Sio Phing

Nee Soon GRC:

PAP:

K Shanmugam

Lee Bee Wah

Lim Wee Kiak

Mohd Faishal Ibrahim

Patrick Tay

WP:

Yam Poh Nam

Angela Oon

Sajeev Kamalasanan

Chong Cham Weng

Poh Lee Guan

Punggol East SMC:

PAP: Michael Palmer

SDA: Desmond Lim

WP: Lee Li Lian

Pioneer SMC:

PAP: Cedric Foo

NSP: Steve Chia

Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC:

PAP:

Teo Chee Hean

Teo Ser Luck

Penny Low

Zainal Sapari

Gan Thiam Poh

Janil Puthucheary

SDA:

Harminder Pal Singh

Sidney Soon

Mohammad Shafni Ahmad

Tan Keng Hong

Lim Peng Yong Jeffrey

Patrick Lee

Potong Pasir SMC:

PAP: Sitoh Yih Pin

SPP: Lina Chiam

Radin Mas SMC:

PAP: Sam Tan Chin Siong

NSP: Yip Yew Weng

Sembawang GRC:

PAP

Khaw Boon Wan

Hawazi Daipi

Ellen Lee

Vikram Nair

Ong Teng Koon

SDP

James Gomez

Sadasivam Veriyah

Mohd Isa Aziz

Tan Liang Joo

Jarrod Luo

Sengkang West SMC:

PAP: Lam Pin Min

WP: Koh Choong Yong

Tampines GRC:

PAP:

Mah Bow Tan

Masagos Zulkifli

Heng Swee Keat

Irene Ng

Baey Yam Keng

NSP:

Goh Meng Seng

Gilbert Goh

Raymond Lim Peng Ann

Syafarin Sarif

Reno Fong

Tanjong Pagar GRC:

PAP: Lee Kuan Yew, Indranee Rajah, Lily Neo, Chia Shi-Lu, Chan Chun Sing

West Coast GRC:

PAP:

Lawrence Wong

Foo Mee Har

Arthur Fong

S Iswaran

Lim Hng Kiang

RP

Kenneth Jeyaratnam

Zhu Laicheng

Low Chiak Hun

Kumah Appavoo

Harn Ho

Whampoa SMC:

PAP: Heng Chee How

NSP: Ken Sun

Yuhua SMC:

PAP: Grace Fu

SDP: Teo Soh Lung

:pirate:One Word: ALJUNIED

By Ion Danker | SingaporeScene 2 hours 36 minutes ago

By Cherian George

As the Workers' Party A-team addressed their ecstatic supporters from an upper floor of Deyi Secondary this afternoon, a nondescript sign below them read "LIGHTNING RISK ALERT". It spoke more eloquently than the lightning-logo flags and placards wielded by hundreds of PAP supporters, of the storm brewing over Aljunied GRC.

You can bet that the ruling party will throw everything in its formidable arsenal at Low Thia Khiang and company. Equally, though, the raucous heckling that greeted every PAP candidate even when Zainul Abidin Rasheed cheered "Majulah Singapura!" to try to shame WP supporters into gentlemanly conduct suggests that the WP isn't about to be intimidated.

Singapore has had hot GRCs before but Aljunied 2011 shoots off the temperature scale. This isn't because the Opposition necessarily have a better chance here and now than in Eunos GRC in 1988 (when the PAP scraped through by 1.8 points).

No, this one is special because never before has a contest so perfectly embodied the fundamental, irreconcilable tension in Singapore's electoral politics.

Set aside the roughly 25 percent of voters at each end of the political spectrum the partisans who will vote for the PAP and the Opposition irrespective of who's standing and who's won the debates. It's the middle 50 percent or so that ultimately decides the fate of Parliamentary seats.

This broad middle ground, I sense, considers the PAP to be the natural party of government right now, on account of having a larger team of able, experienced and trustworthy administrators and a more detailed plan for Singapore than the Opposition. Swing voters also acknowledge that the PAP includes a handful of truly outstanding individuals, who they're glad are on the Singapore team (though most Singaporeans would not praise them too loudly, lest the PAP grow up proud and complacent; we are all Amy Chuas that way).

At the same time, middle-ground voters believe it's sensible to have checks and balances on PAP power. Since other institutions such as the press are stopped from providing that, they should send an Opposition presence into Parliament. They've also noted that, lately, the best heavyweights in the Opposition ranks are superior to the worst lightweights on the PAP side. Given a choice, they would pick the former at the expense of the latter but that choice is usually not available.

In most other contests in this and previous GEs, the choice offered to swing voters made it easier for them to decide one way or another. Those inclined to vote for the Opposition could tell themselves that, well, the PAP guys weren't particularly likeable, so they deserve to be taken down a notch. Those leaning towards the PAP could silence the Opposition voice in their heads by saying that the Opposition candidates weren't impressive, even after giving allowance to their underdog status.

Aljunied 2011 removes these excuses. On the one side is a PAP team that's hard to dislike. A veteran former journalist, Zainul Abidin, who is genuinely popular and is being mentioned as a future Speaker of Parliament. An intriguing new candidate and possible future PM, Ong Ye Kung, who has spent quality time at the NTUC and shows a determination to work for workers. And an anchor minister, George Yeo, who has distinguished himself as one of Singapore's best ever foreign ministers. In the last GE, Yeo was the first Cabinet Minister to call a halt to the mudslinging against James Gomez, and in these polls he has continued to take the high road, denying snipers the pleasure of accusing him of gutter politics. Today, he called the WP A-team "worthy opponents".

On the WP side, too, is a team that defies all the stereotypes. Fly-by-night opportunists who are dormant between elections? Low Thia Khiang is known as a hardworking grassroots MP. And his decision to leave his safe seat in Hougang for the fight of his life confirms yet again his steely idealism. Low calibre? In the early 1980s, Lee Kuan Yew likened the Opposition leaders to DC3 propeller planes while the PAP's were Boeing 707 jets. But in Chen Show Mao, the WP have a Dreamliner whose specifications match any high-flier in the PAP fleet. It's as if, like diligent children in paternalistic Singapore, Low's WP has taken note of every criticism the PAP has levelled at the Opposition and has now come back with an answer for everything.

Middle-of-the-road voters in Aljunied GRC must now feel the heat of the critical decision before them. It boils down to this twin conundrum:

Do they prize the goal of a stronger, better Opposition enough to sacrifice a set of outstanding present and potential PAP office holders, whose absence from government would be missed by Singaporeans?

Or do they treasure quality governance sufficiently to reject the worthiest set of Opposition candidates to have ever been offered to the electorate and whose victory would boost democratic politics?

The choice between good government and a strong opposition has been a perennial one. But never before has it been posed as starkly as now, in Aljunied GRC.

I don't know what Aljunied's voters are thinking about the momentous decision before them. But I can imagine what swing voters in other constituencies must be feeling:

Thank goodness we don't live in Aljunied.

Cherian George is an associate professor in communication at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. He blogs at www.airconditionednation.com and www.journalism.sg.

:evil:Man arrested for threatening to BURN Voting Slip

By Fann Sim | SingaporeScene – Wed, Apr 27, 2011 10:51 PM SGT

A 32-year-old man was arrested on Monday for threatening to burn his voting slip and ballot box on Polling Day.

According to AsiaOne, a man by an online moniker of BigBirdMan had posted his threat on popular online forum HardWareZone.

He posted: "I promised once I vote, I (will) bring a lighter with me and burn the (voting) slip and slot it (into) the ballot box. Burn the whole ballot box." :chair:

However, netizens informed the man that it is a criminal offence to do that. He was arrested a week after posting that comment.

The man is also believed to have posted a comment which 'was suggestive of causing hurt to the Members of Parliament'.

He was arrested for Communicating an Electronic Record Containing Incitements to Violence under Section 267C of the Penal Code, Chapter 224. If convicted, the man can be jailed up to five years or fined or both.

"Those who make such remarks online and think that they can hide behind the anonymity of the Internet are mistaken," said Criminal Investigation Department director Hoong Wee Teck.

Mr Hoong also added that the "police will investigate such reports and spare no effort in taking the culprits to task."

Last August, Abdul Malik Mohammed Ghazali was arrested for posting similar comments on Facebook, urging users to "burn" a local cabinet minister. The 27-year-old was questioned by police on his use of words such as "burn", "rally" and "sit-down protest".