Kikobananas Marine Tank

pokmingsheng

give it some time.. any latest,FTS?

not at the moment.. haha..

looking to add on few more corals before i take one :upsidedown:

the zoas i got from you are doing great..

forgot how many polyps it was intially,

didnt count..

but it looked slightly bigger now.. haha..

sad to say my clam seem to be dying..

after my one week trip to vietnam,

i came back and its colour seemed faded..

its getting lighter by the day even though i start to feed it everyday..

i dont think it can make it.. :cry2:

told my maid to feed my fishes before the trip..

but i forgot about my clam!

how careless of me...

haiz.. crossing my fingers now,

but i dont hold much hope....

sad to say my clam seem to be dying..

after my one week trip to vietnam,

i came back and its colour seemed faded..

its getting lighter by the day even though i start to feed it everyday..

i dont think it can make it.. :cry2:

told my maid to feed my fishes before the trip..

but i forgot about my clam!

how careless of me...

haiz.. crossing my fingers now,

but i dont hold much hope....

sad for you.....

clam officially RIP :cry2:

shall look around for another clam..

maybe this time, a bigger one...

clams need Mh imo..... dun really need to target feed... but really need strong intensity lights! was reading trough ur tank post.... the wave maker might not be good for the Sh..... is he already train to frozens? scatter? or food bowl train? got provide hitches for him?

can read through my past tank thread for Sh... got clams too.. SH tank

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

clam officially RIP :cry2:

shall look around for another clam..

maybe this time, a bigger one...

sorry to hear that Kiko.

So yours dwindled away over a period of time due to neglect.

then mine could have been killed by that bristleworm.

Mine was fine and healthy before its death.....

clams need Mh imo..... dun really need to target feed... but really need strong intensity lights! was reading trough ur tank post.... the wave maker might not be good for the Sh..... is he already train to frozens? scatter? or food bowl train? got provide hitches for him?

can read through my past tank thread for Sh... got clams too.. SH tank

i know MH is a better choice,

but not feasible to have one at my place..

placed the clam at quite a high area in my tank near to my T5...

it was doing fine for about a month until i came back from my trip after one week...

wow... very impressed by your seahorse/clam tank..

i've only got one K1 wavemaker, but i direct it down towards an area of deadspot..

i hope the seahorse wont be affected too mch...

according to the seller its trained to feed on frozen mysis..

currently still in my QT, wont release him till i really see him feed...

sorry to hear that Kiko.

So yours dwindled away over a period of time due to neglect.

then mine could have been killed by that bristleworm.

Mine was fine and healthy before its death.....

thanks..

i learn from every mistake i've done..

so will you be getting another clam?

i know MH is a better choice,

but not feasible to have one at my place..

placed the clam at quite a high area in my tank near to my T5...

it was doing fine for about a month until i came back from my trip after one week...

wow... very impressed by your seahorse/clam tank..

i've only got one K1 wavemaker, but i direct it down towards an area of deadspot..

i hope the seahorse wont be affected too mch...

according to the seller its trained to feed on frozen mysis..

currently still in my QT, wont release him till i really see him feed...

thanks..

i learn from every mistake i've done..

so will you be getting another clam?

they say T5 can keep clams.... i kiasu.... at first used T5 only for my sh tank.... see the clams like doing good.... later got MH.. add on.... u can really see the BIG difference when the clams expand their mantle to the max to capture the "sun"..... after that... i only used MH 150watts for my clams... but the clams are also place as close to water surface as possible to max their sun tanning. :eyebrow: still love clams.... but the MH are are the things holding me back now :paiseh:

I gotta feeling..Woo...hoo....That tonight's gonna be a good night.....That tonight's gonna be a good, good night!

Not getting...

I get another 10 will also be feasted by that worm....

haven't caught it bro ?

last night i caught 3 pests ... 1 bristle (about 3 cm long), seems to have been caught in a sort of slime thing and just kept on wiggling on the sand. and 2 small nudis.

25 Gal Micro Ocean

they say T5 can keep clams.... i kiasu.... at first used T5 only for my sh tank.... see the clams like doing good.... later got MH.. add on.... u can really see the BIG difference when the clams expand their mantle to the max to capture the "sun"..... after that... i only used MH 150watts for my clams... but the clams are also place as close to water surface as possible to max their sun tanning. :eyebrow: still love clams.... but the MH are are the things holding me back now :paiseh:

its always nice to see clams expand their mantle to the max..

oh ya.. would like to ask you,

for your previous SH tank, did u use any wavemaker?

understand too strong current would stress the seahorse, but too little flow for the tank, would it be ok?

Hi kiko, sad to hear your loss on the clam... i would love to keep 1 or 2 as well :)

yea.. like many of the bros here mentioned, lighting is the most important factor for keeping clams...

sorry about your clam bro kiko. how's ur yellow clown doin ?

clown goby doing great!

feeding on all the left over mysis whenever i feed my fishes on alternate days (:

dont think it'll ever consume pellets,

the size of one pellet is about more than half the size of his face! haha...

haven't caught it bro ?

last night i caught 3 pests ... 1 bristle (about 3 cm long), seems to have been caught in a sort of slime thing and just kept on wiggling on the sand. and 2 small nudis.

cant stand the sight of bristle worm..

my hair will stand and i would just do all means to get them out..

if they're there better not let me see them... :eyebrow:

its always nice to see clams expand their mantle to the max..

oh ya.. would like to ask you,

for your previous SH tank, did u use any wavemaker?

understand too strong current would stress the seahorse, but too little flow for the tank, would it be ok?

yea.. like many of the bros here mentioned, lighting is the most important factor for keeping clams...

clown goby doing great!

feeding on all the left over mysis whenever i feed my fishes on alternate days (:

dont think it'll ever consume pellets,

the size of one pellet is about more than half the size of his face! haha...

my tank is specially made to sh's requirements...... so actually very very slow flow , u notice i place all my clams up high high , as i scared tje sh might accidently disturb the clams with their tail , which will make the clams shut tight , hurting the sh. maybe u direct the wave maker to wall of tank , then Lrs which will greatly reduce the flow rate. :upsidedown:

alright.. will take note of that..

thanks for the advice

most likely due to lighting...corals always faces towards where the strong lights are.

hmm.. wierd..

cos i thought all along mushroom wouldnt need much light,

thats why i placed them on the sandbed...

Hey bro, how the sh? release from the "cubicle" liao? :upsidedown:

yupp...

monitoring it closely in terms of feeding...

somehow my LR have alot of "holes" for it to cling onto..

only problem now is during feeding, all the fishes will grab the mysis before the SH can actually take it..

i notice in the container he'll take awhile to "smell" before nipping on it...

sigh.. i wonder if this goes on,

everytime during feeding i got to bring it back to the container to feed it...

2 new additions to my tank

post-16223-1264091577_thumb.jpg

NEON ENGINEER GOBY

post-16223-1264091591_thumb.jpg

ORANGE BANDED SHRIMP GOBY

thinking of keeping many small gobies in my tank...

So you did not get lost in LCK yesterday :)

I love my gobies. wonderful species.