Gouldian 3 footer mixed reef

Gouldian

After sucess in my 2ft mixed reef, I decided to up my ante to a 3 footer. Below is the tank after I have fully tranfered all LS from my 2ft.

Noticed the colours are not that vibrant due to the fact that I have not added my T5 actinics, currently powered only by 250w 6.5kk BLV MH. Shot taken with flash on - forgot to off it.

Have not installed colored backing, thinking of using black coloured paper. Any suggestions? ;)

Will show the rest of my fitting in installment. ;)

post-34-1095042964.jpg

• Replies 604

Pix taken without flash.

Brown Acroporas on the Right of pix courtesy of Killfire. Suffered alot during my 2ft tank due to not enough flow. Now I have a 3000l return plus 1 x Rio Seio 820 & 1 x Rio Seio 620, think should keep them happy liao. :lol:

post-34-1095043228.jpg

MY Ich Magnet! :evil:

Still cannot control ich on AT. The rest of LS even the Hippo Tang do not have, just the AT! :evil:

post-34-1095043372.jpg

hahaha....me too....no guts for a flame angel....contemplating for a long time liao!..... :rolleyes:

Gouldian, how old is you tank if I may ask? I must say you really love your mdm.......

All the way! AT!!!! :D

ur flame angel :wub:

got no guts to add them to a reef tank ;)

does it nip ur corals bro?

No it dosen't. Not even when I cannot feed them when I am overseas.

hahaha....me too....no guts for a flame angel....contemplating for a long time liao!..... :rolleyes:

Gouldian, how old is you tank if I may ask? I must say you really love your mdm.......

All the way! AT!!!! :D

Actually it is a calculated risk loh, If if really nip my LPS then I will go into FOWLR. :)

I have him with me more than 8 months liao, have morph into a male after 3mths with me. Now I am looking for a female to pair it. ;)

AT? Bo pain lah, Mrs always get whet they want, if not........... :evil:

MY Ich Magnet! :evil:

Still cannot control ich on AT. The rest of LS even the Hippo Tang do not have, just the AT! :evil:

Bro Gouldian,

You have to start feeding it all sort of food with Garlic now. Must remove the ich as soon as possible,

Mine was eating everything including pellets until its ich got worse and it stop eating. By then it is too late to add garlic.

Bro Gouldian,

You have to start feeding it all sort of food with Garlic now. Must remove the ich as soon as possible,

Mine was eating everything including pellets until its ich got worse and it stop eating. By then it is too late to add garlic.

I have, but the AT simply refused to eat Garlic soaked mysis. It prefer to feed on Ulva and Nori.

It will peck on the mysis after they have been "swimming" in the tank for 5 secs unlike the rest who will charge towards it, so I gather by then the Gralic would be diluted liao. :(

Come to think of it, have anyone tried Garlic soaked Nori????? ;)

I'm not sure. But I just buy those Nori from the supermarket Japanese stuffs shelf.

Cheaper this way.

Yah loh. What else to do. ;)

Bro, you also got Tang ah? Show your pix leh. :D

My tangs down from 5 to 4, 2 weeks ago due to my stupidity.

1 fat unicorn

1 normal size purple tang

2 skinny sailfin and unidentified tang. (both growing)

I had failed alot of times in keep Golden angel thus I was thinking of other ways to temp the current one to eat.

So should I stick'em up?

No harm trying what and if the Golden Angel dun eat, I am sure the rest of the tang will Chiong!

No lah, Just fold them so that it will feed the clip. Feel that the tangs enjoy better ripping through the Nori rather than bite sized.

Bro, Cold Storage sure have one, you just go to the Japanese Dry Goods Sections.

Only place I have hard time finding is some smaller NTUC.

My tangs down from 5 to 4, 2 weeks ago due to my stupidity.

1 fat unicorn

1 normal size purple tang

2 skinny sailfin and unidentified tang. (both growing)

I had failed alot of times in keep Golden angel thus I was thinking of other ways to temp the current one to eat.

So should I stick'em up?

Golden is very difficult to keep if it is not the first fish inside the tank. It will get bully by everyone. I wont feel like eating if I am bullied by everyone.

Lucky for me, one LFS told me to put it in as the first fish. Mine have been with me for one year now. Even as an established fish, it used to be bullied by Sweetlip, blue tang, maroon clown and Multiband angel.

I have since sold away the sweetlip, blue tang and maroon clown. Now it is bullying my chromis. :D

tips to get your tang fat, feed them pellets, like NLS pellets etc.

Hi Weileong,

I have been trying so hard to get my AT eating pellets but to no avail. Whenever, I feed pellets the rest of the fishes will rush for it except the AT, it is just not interested, I am sure if it is interested, there is no fish in my tank that can compete in terms of speed and size. :evil:

Any tips?

AT ah AT why you are the only one with ICH? :(

post-34-1095127780.jpg