Humble Little 2 Feet Tank

JeffL

Decided to switch back to reefing after 2 years of CRS shrimp keeping :)

I tried reefing many years ago but wasn't ready good in it and now I am already so rusty in the reefing world but luckily I had the honor from a few master 師父 helping me out with unparalleled knowledge, expertise and advice! Thanks to bro Hwee33, Gary, Clee123, Solo77 :bow:

-Tank: Kotobuki Front Curve Tank 2x1x1.5

-Lighting : Pharos LED light 90W with wireless controller

-Chiller : Arctica 1/15HP

-Wavemaker : Vortech MP10ES

-Skimmer : Bubble Magus NAC 3.5

-Return Pump : Tesino GR 325

-Reactor – TLF150 running NP Biopellet

-Reactor – TLF150 running PO4x4

Started cycling 5 days ago with NSW and Caribsea live sand pacific black. Did a test yesterday and my ANN is all zero, will continue to monitor. Going to post pictures soon, please bear with me....

HUAT AH!

2 Feet Tank: (Decom Feb 2015)
-Lightings : Pharos LED light 90W with wireless controller
-Chiller : Arctica 1/10HP with H2Ocean Flow Pump 2000

-Return Pump : Eheim Compact 3000
-Reactor – TLF150 (Mod) with NP Biopellet
-Reactor – TLF150 with Rowaphos

A little history of my lovely tank...

We wanted a glass tank that is front curved, braceless and it's size must be 60x30x35cm (ADA 60P size). I went to almost all LFS in Singapore but found none!! In the end I found the perfect Kotobuki tank in Hong Kong. Hand carried it all the way back!! biggrin.gif

post-6620-0-89877000-1343208692.jpg

post-6620-0-92400700-1343208726.jpg

post-6620-0-18579300-1343208765_thumb.jp

Pictures of my cabinet with tank when I started CRS shrimp earlier on. I am using the same now. :)

post-6620-0-75793400-1343209125_thumb.jp

post-6620-0-07147600-1343209150_thumb.jp

post-6620-0-90265700-1343209159_thumb.jp

post-6620-0-92469300-1343209199_thumb.jp

Nice and very clear tank, bro!

Where to get those rubber support for the glass cover?

I need one.

Thanks!

Thanks bro!

I have seen these in Nanyang Seaview with choice of tank thickness. It's at the thermometer section

Hi bro, may you PM me your cabinet maker and the cost of it? Thanks

PM sent!

I like front curve tanks... unfortunately, they don't come drilled for overflow. -_-

We should have swapped... I thought of starting a CRS tank!

Ah bro I was troubled by this too until I approached Vincent for help. I'm gonna post my tank picture soon. It's now installed with a external overflow. Sleek job. Swee!

CRS is kinda fun too. Let me know if you start. I have many consumables left :)

Nice tank, keep the pics coming... :thumbsup:

Display Tank : 36" x 20" x 20" Herbie overflow box design, Sump : 36" x 21" x 17", Frag Tank : 16” x 20” x 16”, custom built by Tank Culture.

Lightings : Ecotech  Radion XR15 Pro x 2 for Main Display Tank, Inled R80 x 1 for Frag Tank.

Chiller : Dalkin 1hp compressor with build-in drop coil.

Skimmer : Skimz Octa SC205i Protein Skimmer.

FR : H2Ocean FMR75 Fluidised Media Reactor with Hailea HX-2500 (Feeder Pump) running Rowaphos.

CR : Skimz Monzter E Series CM122 Calcium Reactor.

BPR: Marine Source Biopellet  Reactor with Continuum Reef Biopellet Fuel. 

Main Return Pump : SICCE Syncra ADV 9.0 & Jebao ACQ-10000 Water Pump.

Wavemaker : Jebao MOW-9 x2 for Main Display Tank & Jebao SLW-20M  Sine Wave Pump for  Frag Tank.

Water Top Up: AutoAqua Smart ATO Lite.

Cant wait to see FTS of ur tank.Btw you wont regret getting the pharos led cos i also using it for my SPS and LPS reef tank.The led come with 80degree len so try to move it higher to take full coverage.

My decomm 4ft FOWLR

Nice tank, keep the pics coming... :thumbsup:

Thanks bro. Pics in preparation ... :)

Cant wait to see FTS of ur tank.Btw you wont regret getting the pharos led cos i also using it for my SPS and LPS reef tank.The led come with 80degree len so try to move it higher to take full coverage.

Bro your comment reassured me! I was thinking this light may not be enough. Please give me more feedbacks. Thanks

Btw I'm using the given stand resting on tank. Is that high enough?

HI bro, nice tank. =)

5x2.5x1.5ft Rimless Dream Tank (06/03/12)
Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Return Pump - 1 x Eheim 1264, 1 x water blaster 7k
Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Chiller - Daikin compressor with coil drop in
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)
Reactor - Dosing pump (01/01/11)

Bro your comment reassured me! I was thinking this light may not be enough. Please give me more feedbacks. Thanks

Btw I'm using the given stand resting on tank. Is that high enough?

Been using it for 3weeks my sps frag grow abit and colour up.My tank height is 2ft and im using the stand come with the pkt.Total height from tank base to light around 30 inchs just nice to cover my tank size 2ft x 1.5ft x 2ft.Try to put high light demand coral at the center top of tank and low light coral at the bottom.

My decomm 4ft FOWLR

Hi bro jeffl

Pls pm me the cabinet maker and damage too ;)

Great looking cabinet and look forward to your tank cos I have a 2ft in my store but still doing research before I jump in.

Bro PM sent, Mai Tu Liao!

HI bro, nice tank. =)

:bow: your advices have helped me a great deal along the way bro!

Been using it for 3weeks my sps frag grow abit and colour up.My tank height is 2ft and im using the stand come with the pkt.Total height from tank base to light around 30 inchs just nice to cover my tank size 2ft x 1.5ft x 2ft.Try to put high light demand coral at the center top of tank and low light coral at the bottom.

Thanks for your reply bro. My tank has a lesser depth therefore it should be enough since yours is already doing well. Happy to hear that!

Welcome back to the reef bro nice cool tank.

Thanks!!! :)

Ok here's the pictures of what I did to my tank. Engaged Vincent to come in and modify my tank with an external overflow since my tank is so small, I wanted to utilise as much space as possible inside the tank.

Pictures are taken with iPhone so not very clear... better than nothing hehe

post-6620-0-58072400-1343273423_thumb.jp

post-6620-0-60288200-1343273434_thumb.jp

More unclear pictures... only wish I took clearer pics with my proper arsenal. Was too busy that day :)

post-6620-0-25061600-1343273546_thumb.jp

post-6620-0-65241800-1343273557_thumb.jp

post-6620-0-91052300-1343273565_thumb.jp

post-6620-0-65026200-1343273580_thumb.jp

post-6620-0-55484200-1343273595_thumb.jp

Nice job! But one question; have you insulated or dOne up a cover for your power points? They look exposed

And if not done, a trip by your tank can kill everything in your house. Mum surely not happy if the food in fridge goes bad

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

Nice job! But one question; have you insulated or dOne up a cover for your power points? They look exposed

And if not done, a trip by your tank can kill everything in your house. Mum surely not happy if the food in fridge goes bad

Good thinking bro! That power point is now right behind my sump tank and is lower than the water level. It may pose some problem when I do my

maintenance in future!

any DIY ideas how to secure this part? Maybe I should DIY a plastic cover to shield it. How about getting the grounding pin from Madpetz?