Fuel's Marine Sources Skimmer

FuEl

About the 3rd day my new skimmer has been operating. Emptied the collection cup yesterday afternoon at 2pm... Look at the collection cup today at 3.33pm! So much gunk! Compare it to my weipro 2012 on the right. Both are skimming. Obviously one is more efficient. ;)

post-14-1075793664.jpg

• Replies 53

Real easy to set up...only in-sump models are available. I took the more squarish design (as i dun want to wait). There is a newer design whereby the water input pipe is parallel opposite the water output of the skimer..making it more space efficient to some.

Bought it for $200 during the promotion. Not sure whether promotion ended already...if it did then it will be $250.

There is a bigger model for $400 but that can't fit in my sump.

Btw..my tank is 4 ft....and it's smaller than it sounds. Those who have seen my tank can tell you why. :lol:

Oh yes...I solved the salt spray of the water coming out from such a height. Slimpy turn the piping nearest to the skimmer body...and use a piece of foam sandwiched there to 'catch' the water. Lessens the splash. Don't stuff the foam in the water output pipe or the skimmer will overflow.

Oh yes..almost forgot..you can play with the water input and the air intake...the guy advised me to use a little air...but then I found my own liking. :evil:

I decreased the water level as low as possible..and I tuned the air input to 100%. :rolleyes:

hmmm... but do you use the same pump for both skimmers? also the skim level may play a big difference? my 2 feet tank using 2012 with a Dymax2500, i can control whether i wanna skim thick kopi or more "dirty water" by adjusting the return knob.... and morever, the marine sources skimmer u using the funnel shorter leh.... does it make a diff?

Vincent Ho :thanks:

It's running on a 2000l/h atman pump. The air will be chopped up by the impeller in the pump.

Although the body column is short, it is very wide..There is alot of time for the bubbles to come into contact with organics.

Hehe..it's ok since it's very efficient...

I tune to the maximum air intake...and the lowest water level...was told to use less air..but if i tune to less air the water level in the column would go higher...so i just let all the air in.... ;)

Hmmm..see how first..if i have $$ to buy another marine sources skimmer then I sell off my weipro..I like the idea of having 2 skimmers rather than relying on 1. ;)

The amount i of food i put into my tank is scary...1 cube of mysis, 1 cube of brine shrimp, 1 pinch of cyclopeeze and 2 capfuls of DT a day. Not forgetting the newly hatched brine shrimps.