Tank startup

edmund_23

I gonna setup a new 422 tank with sump. I wanna ask usually how u all startup with the water. Get NSW or DI water+salt? I heard my frenzy use tap water but later will have algae problem. If using NSW, usually how many packs is needed? I calculated 422 is bat 432L + sump should be around 500L ba.. Thanks in advance.

First time should always get nsw, other than bateria in nsw, it come from sea which is a natural habitat. Using nsw there's a lot service to top up full tank which cost ***. Depending what corals/fish you keep, i probably recommend nsw as startup

This is a signature : hi

First time should always get nsw, other than bateria in nsw, it come from sea which is a natural habitat. Using nsw there's a lot service to top up full tank which cost ***. Depending what corals/fish you keep, i probably recommend nsw as startup

This is a signature : hi

Thanks bro, currently i know only iwarna do delivery service. Any other shop doing that?

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk

Any1 knows whats the diff between seawater and uktrafiltered seawater sold at iwarna? Other than the x2 price difference.

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk

More filtered? Hahahaha.. My frenz start using this also.. But i nano tank very week wc very xiong..

As a cheapskate, I would only get half and top up the other half with dechlorinated tap water

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk

I think cost wont be much difference ba.. 1 pack only $1.50.. Let say 40packs, half is 20packs. Save $30.. But salt and ur water charge should add up close to $30 ba..

Eh remember when startup must start thread so I can follow haha

Okok.. Tank delay.. Coming in next wk or so.. Somemore now so hazy outside.. No mood go lfs.. Stay at home read up forum gather info and do homework as not to make same mistakes again..

Keep us update of your new setup

ok.. but may move in the tank and wait awhile then setup.. quite busy at work lately.. coz dec whole nth not working.. clearing leave.. maybe nov start cycling then dec can chiong for livestock liao..

I think as start up better use the NSW from LFS, It will help you cycle faster with the bacteria on the water itself.

Once finished cycled, you may either do salt mix or buy ultra filtered seawater (price wise - i think about the same).

I used Ultrafiltered seawater when i did 50% water change once cycling finish..

Display Tank: 3x2x2 feet (12mm Crystal Glass)

Sump Tank: 2.5 feet with 4 compartments

"Reef Maniac - Ninja: Fish and Coral don't wait for you!"

Buy from fish farm lor.. I have van and trolley.. So transportation is not an issue to me..

Wah lucky you. I stay near Clementi, so there's no nearby fish farm selling NSW to my knowledge. :(

Wah lucky you. I stay near Clementi, so there's no nearby fish farm selling NSW to my knowledge. 

Hahahaha.. I just get to know from my frenz that only fish farm sell nsw and fish shop dun sell.. So i think im really lucky.. Coz all the while i dun have problem buying water..