Help ! Problem AquaC EV240

sugi

Just fixed the AquaC EV240 Skimmer.

But there is a problem. Water ia leaking out from the air valve the one that I circle in Blue.

The Valve in Red has been tape up.

This is the step that I did:

1. Close Air Valve

2. Turn on the Pump

3. Adjust water level with water return valve

4. Turn on the air valve

Oopss.... water is coming out ... HELP!!!

Anyone has any idea what went wrong ?

My set up as follow:

post-17-1086268465.jpg

see my pic u get the idea one....

u should not see water level in the transparent chamber....only foam :)

and it will take time for it to settle and build the foam to go all the way up..dun keep adjusting it...as long as the water level is at the blue line or red line..foam will build up....

if it doesnt after some time....then it means your pump is not strong enough..u need a pump that can simulate about 3000litres/hr at 6ft height....

u read the pump graph...at 6ft height, the pump must still be able to pump 3000litres/hr out...as the injector provides the resistance similar to the 6ft height loss

You should follow the instruction.

With the gate valve fully open. Start the skimmer pump.

Then close the gate valve 1/2 turn at a time until the water level is at the line recommended (inner platform). Then wait for the skimmer to run-in and start foaming.

Then you close the gatevalve 1/4 turn at a time and let it a few hrs to settle in before you tweak it again.

You'll adjust for wet or dry skimmate according to your preference.

i think you are using too weak a pump...

i am using a pump that pumps out 6000 litres per hour at 0 head..

after 2metres of height..the pump pumps out around 3000litres per hour...

if you are using a pump like eheim 1262 that pumps 3400-3500litres per hour at 0 head...at 6 head height...the pump only has enough pressure to pump 1000 plus litres or so or slightly more...go see the graph of the pump...which is far from the 3000litres/hr needed at 6ft height loss

and open your airvalve fully....they suggest max air flow in....i never close or adjust the airvalve before...totally open

Thanks for all the advise.

I do not have an manual.

So just follow blindly untill see Roidan Skimmer.

Monkey see monke do and get it right.

Roidan,

What pump are you using ?

Me using 3600L/hr at 0.

You are right there will be power loss.

Any way, it is a free pump.

I shall wait for a few days and If cannot achieve what I want

I shall get new pump.

Thanks

i am using a german pond pump....

weileong used md55 on it but teeoff to lower the flow....

no need to hesitate...coz with 3000litre pump at zero head...not enough force to punch the water surface in the black box to make alot of bubbles..

imagine you buy a ferrari 360 but pump only shell92....

ferrari must go with highest grade liao..

just like aquaC needs very strong pump to get the performance....

I'm using a EV 180 as well with a aquabee 3000. but i can't get skimate into the collection cup.. the "kopi" all collect on the upper portion of the riser tube ;)

I set my water level 1cm above the black chamber (when air calve is close).

Anyone here knows how to solve this problem? :cry2:

Thank you :peace: