What's your favourite marine fish mag?

FuEl

Was at borders today during my lunch break. Still bought my favourite magazine...Tropical Fish Hobbyist. There was a new magazine that was quite informative...its called Aquarium USA and it had a featured article on gobies! :yeah: But the downside was that it was....around $20.. :(

The other magazines did'nt really interest me as most of them are filled with adverts with little useful information at all. I was disappointed by a magazine that is catered towards the asian market..& if I'm not wrong it is published in singapore. I forgot the title of the magazine but if you go borders you will know which magazine I'm talking about. The standards are not there at all. For example...I remember reading "advice" about using 5 damselfish to introduce ammonia to help the tank mature. <_< This advice came from someone from aquamart (I can't be bothered to censor as I'm stating a fact). But pricing wise it's rather cheap. Oh well....you get cheap advice from buying a cheap mag.

I don't buy the local mags 'cos it is usually mixed with cats and dogs stuff. Also can't read chinese very well so that rules out the other local mags.

Anyway, Most of the time I buy Tropical Fishkeeping and Tropical Fish (U.K.). If you can get some of the older issue of Tropical Fishkeeping, they some quite interesting reviews of Hobbyist tanks.

Only sian thing is seeing stuff available in U.K. But one thing, those guys got amazing retail space but horrible pricing!

Just a little sidetrack...anyone here subscribes locally to TFH? My subscription ended few years back and have not renewed it yet...but now buying it from bookstores is getting rather ex..not to mention only a specialised few bookstores will have it. I bought the latest copy and in it was a savings certificate which charges only USD $28 for a WHOLE YEARS subscription! :yeah: Oh my...anyone knows if this is applicable to the local TFH branch?

I was disappointed by a magazine that is catered towards the asian market..& if I'm not wrong it is published in singapore. I forgot the title of the magazine but if you go borders you will know which magazine I'm talking about. The standards are not there at all. For example...I remember reading "advice" about using 5 damselfish to introduce ammonia to help the tank mature.  <_<  This advice came from someone from aquamart (I can't be bothered to censor as I'm stating a fact). But pricing wise it's rather cheap. Oh well....you get cheap advice from buying a cheap mag.

I read the magazine (Aquarium and Pets Asia) and saw the damsel fish cycling tip by Mr Tan Cheng Hock... let me type what I see...

"5 damsel fishes are now added to feed the nitrogen cycle that began with the addition of live rocks.

If many of your Damsels have survived the last week, it is now time to add snails and hermit crabs!!!" :blink: I thought it is cruel, right? What happen to responsible reefkeeping?? :paiseh:

I saw their display tank photos inside the mag but got red slime, dead brains and dead Acro but lucky got 3 very nice brains. ;)

Anyway I thought they close already? Still around? No more at Paya lebar right? now where? I think I need to send in my old aquamedic denitrator, like still cannot work right leh.

Now moved to lavender area....opposite the "Ren Ren Prawn noodles" at the other side of the road. Hmmm...denitrators are known to be troublesome...I'll never use one. :lol: Anyway...I still find tropical fish hobbyist one of the more reputable magazines around. Their articles always have substance! Just read their latest issue just now..some topics covered were octopus husbandry, Reef safe fish (part 4)(regret I missed the previous 3 parts).. snakehead infestations in maryland, betta brownorum, pirahna, and "freshwater barracuda". Been reading TFH mags since the early 1990's in my pri sch days & I have not gotten sick of them! Thumbs up for TFH! ;)

Ahh.... I see now why certain things are not meant to have fallen through with that mag & SRC. Whew! ;) It's fate!!

I had a friend who used to work there, quit within a few weeks. And he didn't return the photo of my tank yet! ;)

Love the Japanese "Marine Aquarist" magazine :wub: ......but only for the drool-inducing pictures :D .....can't make head or tail of the text! :D

Prefer FAMA over TFH - less commercial wrt to articles. Been reading it for years.....

Anybody seen the new Coral magazine from Germany/US? Supposed to be real nice but is very, very ex if you're not in the US :(

Intelligent people talk about ideas......

Average people talk about things......

Small people talk about other people......

Hmmm..don't remember coming across FAMA before. Where is it available locally? Is FAMA a short form for the mag or is it the name itself? Might want to check this magazine out. ;)

FAMA is not usually will distributed. MPH will sometimes have a few copies and the mag store at Holland V usually has some.....but the always run out in the first few days of the month! It's short for Freshwater and Marine Aquarium Magazine - search online, they have a website and you can even see most of their articles online

Intelligent people talk about ideas......

Average people talk about things......

Small people talk about other people......

this is a good issue....a marine special that teaches you how to set up a refugium and this special issue has many marine related info ....afterall...a marine special mah

post-11-1090840897.jpg

or I could loan it to you ;) Chris...no prob for you lah.

I love to buy mag....not necessary read them though...... :paiseh: so I do have a few copies of reef related mag with me :lol: