• kole eye yellow tang
    • purple tang
    • yellow tang

• Replies 54

:lol: yup i am finding a tang that is challenging to keep..now got a kole liao..going to get a YT n no more//

Pls.... fish have life, dun just because of taking up a challenge and den buy the fish.... So what if you manage to keep the fish alive, what if you dun den you would just be wasting a life..... many delicate fishes like moorish idol and achilles tang have died because of reefers like you who love to take up challenge..... I am not blaming those that really wants to keep achilles tang because of their beauty but definately those that just want to keep fishes because of challenge

ouch...reefers, plz restrain ur sudden spikes of anger...

I second the above! I can totally understand where DA is coming from. I got into this hobby because i really love the sea. To see some people with lots of money but little brain ask basic beginner questions at LFS (which IS GOOD!!!) then buy some really delicate fishies or fishies which are known to be poor survivors in captivity is really heart breaking. the ppl at the LFS are not likely to turn away business. Sometimes wanna give tell them off also cannot. :pinch: The worst is when you see ppl buy equipment and stuff and straight buy a load of livestock!

On a similar note:

PLEASE STOP BUYING CLEANER WRASSES !!!!!!!!!!!!! Not only is the fish very likely to DIE in your tanks, you are also depriving the fish in the sea from parasite control!!!! Thus more fishies in the sea will suffer too!

Challenging to keep? Then try the achilles tang.

Thanks for the reminder! My second AT did not make it too.

I will have to go back to draw board to recreate another ideal situation for them But that will be another 8 weeks time. ;)

I agree with the bros here. It is prudent for us to keep fishes based on our ability and tank conditions and not discrimately keep livestocks just for the thrills.

Bro Weileong and Roidan would know the heartbreak I feel when I lost my AT. :(:cry:

In fact, I will always remember both my loses and the reasons they died and will NEVER repeat the same mistake again.

PLEASE STOP BUYING CLEANER WRASSES !!!!!!!!!!!!! Not only is the fish very likely to DIE in your tanks, you are also depriving the fish in the sea from parasite control!!!! Thus more fishies in the sea will suffer too!

one per tank will do and not the tri-coloured ones from hawaii which feed totally on parasites alone. ;)

Bro, whats are the reasons that your ATs died? Share share leh... I am going to have a specimen soon... :)

Well my personal experience is that AT DEMANDS the best of water quality. I thought since I have Zebrasoma and Hippatus in my tank for so long without any ich, AT will be able to survive. But I was very wrong.

After I introduce AT for a week, AT started to have some white spots but the rest of the fishes is still without any ich.

Second week, AT start to develop more ich and stop eating. It eventuallu sucumbs to ich and that when the nightmare starts - the whole tank infected including cleaner wrasse!

Only solution - Dismantle whole tank, catch all fishes for hyposalinity treatment and leave tank fallow (fishless) for 8 weeks.

So my advise is that if you want to keep AT or any of the delicate species, please be prepared to meet 'their' demand. :evil::evil::evil:

How mature is your tank, bro?

The AT tank is only 4mths. I guess this is another factor we have to consider too. :(

Tank mates also pretty imporant for the AT.

You put it in with established tangs and if you happened to have those fierce ones around then the stress of new environment + ich outbreak + harassment from resident tangs will stress the new AT too much.

Yah loh. I heard from Henry, the guy that bought the black tang and AT from him, remove all fishes from his tank so as to create a stress-less environment for his priced fishes. ;)

That what I will do too, after my 8 weeks. :D

• 3 months later...
hi,

I have a powder brown tang aka white face/cheek tang that likes to rub it's sides with the sandbed. Is this normal? Thanx!

power brown is power brown, it is called gold rim.

white cheek is power black..

They are different..

BTW ur might have itch attack liao

Good Luck bro.