Look What I Just Bought to Control Bristle Worms

Hi guys, I was at one of the LFS yesterday and saw a Longfin Banded Pseaudochromis. I was taken by it beauty and the assurance that it is reef safe.

Brought it back and did a research and ended with the below link, check it out.

I bought 1 out of the 3 there so it you guys want better hurry.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_Di...693&TopCatId=38

Pa#$#z R&*^f. he he he he

Those with small shrimps be wary...I don't trust any pseudochromis.. :rolleyes:

Yup. As per all pseudochomis smaller shrimps beware! ;)

That's why I chose the smallest one they have. :P So far my 1x CS, 2x PS & 1x FS still around due to their size. :heh:

Picture of the fella.

p_89395.jpg

Wa bro, you garang ah. Cut and paste pix, you not scared ppl sue you ah?

Anyway, correct this is the fish!

When it is in the open, it sometimes curls up like in the pix - which is why I like it. :P

I didn't cut and post. But rather point the url of the image.

Anyway, here is some interesting article that I found.

All other fireworms in our tanks are content to gum food or dead animals. They do not perceive of live animals as prey, and in particular, they will not eat or enter Tridacna as susupected commonly by aquarists. In nature, as well as in some reef aquaria, fireworms will aggregate under these large clams. It simply is a good haven for them. If the clam dies, they may gnaw on the corpse, but they won't attack and kill it. In fact, as they determine their prey by odor, they won't even perceive of any healthy animal as a food source, nor will they attack it.

Extract from here.

Look something like common fighting fish hor? ;)

Yah loh. Very interesting. :D

I didn't cut and post. But rather point the url of the image.

Anyway, here is some interesting article that I found.

Extract from here.

He he he, sorry for my ignorance. :bow:

Thanks for the link on bristle worms, very informative. :D

In fact if you check on the Pseudochromis species - they all eat bristleworms ....

But I am not sure really unless those which are bigger sized ones.

Last night - i saw my Fridmani Pseudochromis sticking out of a crack with a bristleworm beside it. Will observe further whether they are neighbour or enemy :lol:

i bought a dilectis dotty abt 2 weeks back from iwarna. man, that was the best fish i ever had lor. its very chio, check out liveaquaria.

but on a note, not all of them eat bristles actually. some dun. and some other gobies and blennies do. funny hor?

and if i'm not wrong, dilectis is one of the only dottys that are peaceful towards shrimps and inverts. mine has no problem with the anemone shrimps that are half of its size.

Huh the banded longfin dottyback is a rather rare fish

Yup bro. RARE.

Anyway, you know where to get it right. ;)

I called yesterday evening was told still have two. Not sure today, maybe you already reserved liao. :P

i bought a dilectis dotty abt 2 weeks back from iwarna. man, that was the best fish i ever had lor. its very chio, check out liveaquaria.

but on a note, not all of them eat bristles actually. some dun. and some other gobies and blennies do. funny hor?

and if i'm not wrong, dilectis is one of the only dottys that are peaceful towards shrimps and inverts. mine has no problem with the anemone shrimps that are half of its size.

I agree, the dilectis dottyback is a very nice fish...

Dilectis? Nice....... ;)Dilectis

Found another LS that can control bristle worm and mantis shrimp. :yeah::yeah::yeah:

pw72433blueflavivertex_pseu.jpg

Blue Flavivertex Pseudochromis

Beautiful!

But something that can control Mantis worries me - what will happened to the Cleaner, Peppermint & Fire Shrimps in my tank. :unsure:

Maybe have to get the smaller ones that are smaller that the shrimps but defeat the purpose of control mantis. What irony. :unsure:

neoken: No AT not eating prepared food. But observed it pecking on algae on LR & tank wall