Cirrhilabrus

Dear Reefers,

Alot of us have been searching high & low for the perfect reef fish. One that is colourful, interesting, reef-safe, inexpensive and hardy. :D

Personally I find that:

Dwarf Angels = Beautiful but 50/50 chance of them nipping corals.

Gobies = Not that colourful, bottom dwellers, nice ones for pretty small (Yashia, Greissingeri).

Butterfly = Beautiful but definite no no, unless it is FOWLR.

Tangs = How many can you squeeze in your tank before the Tang Police come charging into your house?!

Anthias = Definitely beautiful but frequent feedings, finicky eaters, expenxive.

Gramma = Expensive, hard to come by & American gimmick. :P

IMHO the perfect fish has to be Cirrhilabrus wrasse due to the following reasons:

1) Inexpensive, readily available ($6 - $16)

2) Fantastic colouring

3) Hardy

4) Most are Zooplankton feeders

5) Bold / inquisitive

6) Max 6 inches

Below is the link to RK magazine written on Cirrhilabrus.

RK Cirrhilabrus

Enjoy and please share some of the cirrhilabrus you have or intend to have. ;)

• Replies 103

Here is one of my favourite, bought from Iwarna a month back. Picture courtesy of RK mag.

The Cirrhilabrus Solorensis.

post-54-1104982996.jpg

Next the Exquisitus. Mine is still juvenile changing to TM (Terminal Male). Picture coutesy from www.meerwasser-lexikon.de

Bought from ML 3 weeks ago ;)

post-54-1104983334.jpg

Recent addition. Lubbocki, bought last week from Ah Beng. Picture coustesy from RK mag.

post-54-1104983492.jpg

Lastly Cyanopleura. I got it previously from ML but died due to I hypo it in my QT and only feed pellets forgot it need zoos not at least smaller pieces of food rather than pellets.

So Henry, let me know when the stocks arrive. ;)

Pic again, courtesy of RK mag.

post-54-1104984002.jpg

Here is one of my favourite, bought from Iwarna a month back. Picture courtesy of RK mag.

The Cirrhilabrus Solorensis.

otherwise known as solar head fairy wrasse??? :huh:

wahaha finally somebody facinate fairy wrasses..... Hmm my personal fav is Red sea eight liner(not from cirrilabhrus but equally reef safe) and hawaii flame wrasse.... Bro deepbl** one is definately mysterious wrasse from marshall island....

Anyway some of this wrasse may have a con, which is that they may be very aggressive towards one another... i tried before rubinpinnis, rubiventralis, filamentosus(filamentosus not from cirrilabhrus family but the other 2 yes)

They will jump if harrassed or the water params has changed drastically. So far, my 3 are enjoying themself, although I must say the lubbrocki did tried to jump up of the QT several time due to space contraint. :P

The reason I am sharing the cirrhilabrus is that too many people are concentrating on getting tangs although their set-up does not permit. I hope that this thread will draw some interest to the cirrhilabrus - a species I am very found of. ;):D

Bro Dispar: Eight liner although not the Cirrhilabrus family is also my favourite. Unfortunately I read that they are very shy and cannot survive in an average system. Henry also told me that he has trouble with it too thus he did not bring them in. :D

oh yes cirrhilabrus are very nice but they jump quite a bit. My first and only cirrhilabrus last only few days and go MIA afterward. I thought he died inside my tank when missing..... but no, I found him several days later as a dried salt fish on my floor when I do the house cleaning..... :cry2:

I really don't know how he can jump out of my tank 'cos during that period I am still using PL, I have an eggcrate cover at the top. The only explaination is that he is super 'accurate' to jump right out in between the hole of eggcrate.

Morale is : Only you have a tight fitting top cover.

:) Greeting :)

Tank: 4' by 2' by 2' (CR antique)

Sump: 3' include 1' refuigm

Are they really such a gd jumper. Always have a mis-conception that wrasse are all aggreassive fishes. Thanks for the info.

Bro JC85: That is what I am trying to dispel. Wrasse has one of the biggest family in the marine environemnt. I have been interested in wrasse for very long and have kept Thalassoma, Anampses and also Pseudocheilinus.

I found that Thalassoma tend to need lots of space and will feed on inverts and crustaceans. Anampses is another beautiful wrasse, however, I find that to be finicky eaters and usually will not coexist well with more aggressive. The Pseudocheilinus are the more aggressive ones and I am sure a lot of us have had experience with a Six Line. :P:evil::P

As recommended by RK Mag, if you intend to keep tangs with Cirrhilabrus, make sure that the cirrhi is added before the tang.

For me, the first fish in my tank is my precious AT. The AT did cahse my Lubbrocki throughout the tank in the last two days but sort of given up after a while. But AT did not bother Solorensis or even the smaller Exquisitus. ;)

They will jump if harrassed or the water params has changed drastically. So far, my 3 are enjoying themself, although I must say the lubbrocki did tried to jump up of the QT several time due to space contraint. :P

The reason I am sharing the cirrhilabrus is that too many people are concentrating on getting tangs although their set-up does not permit. I hope that this thread will draw some interest to the cirrhilabrus - a species I am very found of. ;):D

Bro Dispar: Eight liner although not the Cirrhilabrus family is also my favourite. Unfortunately I read that they are very shy and cannot survive in an average system. Henry also told me that he has trouble with it too thus he did not bring them in. :D

hehe yeah only red sea eight liner is beautiful.....

Oh ya since you like fairy so much, get the book specially onfairy wrasse one(eh forget the title liao)... you see liao eye big big :lol::lol::lol:

where to get?????? tell me leh.... I will be indebted! :thanks::bow:

eh many plaace.. but the one i want to say cannot be mentioned so you know lah :fear::fear::fear:

I knoe where, its the place we first met. But whats the title?

Social Wrasse C. rubriventralis is quite common. Coral Farm bring them in quite often

can't remember liao..... but the cover page got one electric blue filamentosus :yeah::yeah::yeah: if i am not wrong

NVM, will drop by one of the days