Growing macroalgae

Limpc

• SRC Member

What kind?

Turtleweed (fluffy) is delicate

Grape caulerpa is fine but don't break the stalks too much, smaller pieces have stunted growth,

same for feather,

Halimeda does lousily with high nitrate and phosphate,

Most of them will 'go sexual' if there is a drastic temp change from their previous water or salinity.

• SRC Member

Well, I like to keep the algae I buy clean and dirt free by rinsing them. Might let them photosynthesize better.

Acclimate them with the water and temp. and test the original tank water's salinity. Don't break the stems. Keep in a place with average current and give a lot of lighting.

Well, that should be t but I'm no expert!

Maybe you could try 24/7 lighting and see if it works but you shouldn't need to.

• SRC Member

Me having trouble with all sortsa macroalgae too, the purple and green grape, and the 'banana' type dat sticks individually from rocks...seems that they always turn transparent and then become empty shells within a week or two! Even worse, my green grape algae started to grow these 'antenna' or root-like stuff pointing upwards...wah sad sia...

Only kinda algae i DONT have any problems with are those pesky hair algae and diatoms...SH*T! :angry:

Hi guys,

If macro algae like caulerpa does not grow well (provided that the lighting is good) in your tank then your water quailty maybe a problem. These normally grow like crazy under good condition covering corals....

Sometime you wish that they do not grow in the tank

Thinning have to be carried out very frequently to prevent them from going asexual.

Fluctuation of salinity is one reason that can cause the whole culture to crash. But then they will grow out again from the LR.

• SRC Member