Alfa, VW or Volvo

hamannbmw

The GTi is many times better than the E90 320. In terms of driving feel and power, only the 330 is better but at twice the price.

Only the rear-wheel driven 330 would tempt me away from the GTi.

With Mod, there are people who can crank the MK4 or Mk5 to over 350hp!

• Replies 134

For MK5, the 5 door version in made in South Africa while the 3 door is still made in Germany. MK4 all made in germany!:)

Also, the current wait for the car is 3 months cos the demand is wow. Many people go for either red or candy white colour.

The GTi is many times better than the E90 320. In terms of driving feel and power, only the 330 is better but at twice the price.

Only the rear-wheel driven 330 would tempt me away from the GTi.

With Mod, there are people who can crank the MK4 or Mk5 to over 350hp!

350hp is no joke...... isit a local drive or overseas ? I guess that guy must have spent alot

Thanks for the forum, will look into it... ;)

For MK5, the 5 door version in made in South Africa while the 3 door is still made in Germany. MK4 all made in germany!:)

Also, the current wait for the car is 3 months cos the demand is wow. Many people go for either red or candy white colour.

I'll go for red if i'm getting this car.. but I was wondering am I too old to drive such a car :lol: mid 30's

My MK4 stock was 150hp. I spent 1.4K on ECU flash to bring it to 197hp. Then 1K on exhaust to bring it up another 10hp and bigger fuel pressure regulator and ris filter for another 5-10hp, Forged DV, grounding wire, Strut and sway bars, brembo brakes, 17" BBS rims, KW suspensions....and the list goes on. If I upgrade to bigger turbo and injectors, it will hit 260hp already. On LCK road, I have hit 210km at 4am on the way home from night shipment. Over the causeway, can hit 230km/h.

Also, it will beat others on the corner as the the GTi is a genius on the turn. I have turn 90 degree corners at 70km!

MK5 stock is already 200hp!

I am also mid 30s. haha.

MC,

RWD of course better. That's why BM still the ultimate driving machine. If you want AWD, C&C is bring in a R32 Golf to be priced at 150-160K. 4motion and 3.6L in that little body. Can mod up to 400+hp no problem man. But can you handle this beast?

Oversteering is slight but easily overcomed with sway bars. In fact after I put in spacers in my front wheels to accommodate my brembos, the steer is a little under.

Remember mine is MK4. The mk5 is even better.

I am also mid 30s. haha.

MC,

RWD of course better. That's why BM still the ultimate driving machine. If you want AWD, C&C is bring in a R32 Golf to be priced at 150-160K. 4motion and 3.6L in that little body. Can mod up to 400+hp no problem man. But can you handle this beast?

I use to own a VR-4 souping it up to 300++ BHP, so shouldn't be a problem for me to handle this beast :eyebrow:

Stock ari intake is box. I changed to open cone. Better high end but lose a bit on low end torque.

CAI to me is a maintanence problem with our dirty roads.

hmmmm..... open cone...... K&N, Hurricane, etc...

though i m not driving a GTI, might be changing my stock airbox soon. still sticking to airbox though, looking at either ARC or Mugen....... so much poison..... :(

Anyway, think if get the 3 door GTI, the insurance premium will make a difference compared to the 5 door, if I am not wrong. Only way to save is to pay in full the car price and then go third party. But then, have to cover your own repair....

No lah. Many others they quiet quiet mod cos scared high profile will attract Uncle Sam on the road. Mine all LTA approved so can say.

Check the right hand side column and you will see some recent threads talking about GTI. Or better still, register as member and search. If you get the car, join us for Kopi and talk-###### with us. You will get good lobang on where to get mods. A few of my mod items are second hand from other owners who has de-com their MK4.

weisoon,

The 3 door is cheaper than 5 door by a few K and you won't need to wait so long. also, next time when scaping, the body can get 1-2K more. Only problem is whether the wifey will approve? :( as well as reselling cos not many people want 3 door except boy-racers.

I also prefer 3 door but can never get approval from.....haiz

My car 2 years coming and zero repair (touchwood). Only been to workshop many times to mod. If you service it well, the car is a joy. I know of workshops and their owners who specialise in VW cars. Can recommend if you decide to get the car. cheers

If you get the car, join us for Kopi and talk-###### with us. You will get good lobang on where to get mods. A few of my mod items are second hand from other owners who has de-com their MK4.

aiyo, dun need to wait till i bought the golf den lim kopi mah.... :lol: