How to prepare Salmon Sashimi

Gouldian

Hi bros and sis,

I dunno about you guys but I have recently just pick up a liking for Salmon Sashimi.

Tired of waiting for them to be served, I decided to DIY.

Herewith is a recipe courtesy of www.joelrestaurant.com:

Serves 8

Salmon Sashimi with Koshi-Hikari Rice and Wasabi Sorbet:

Break out all your best gadgets for this recipe - you'll need a stovetop smoker, a rice cooker, a professional culinary torch and an ice cream maker.

Cured smoked salmon

3 lbs salmon filet

1 lbs course sea salt

3 oz sugar

2 oz dry coriander

1 oz white pepper

2 oz dried dill

hickory chips

stovetop smoker

Mix all dry ingredients and spread 1/2 inch on sheet of plastic wrap. Lay fish in mixture, cover with remaining mixture and allow to cure in refrigerator for two hours.

Prepare hickory smoke in stovetop smoker. Remove fish from mixture, brush fish clean. Remove smoker from heat and place fish inside. Let fish absorb cold smoke for 2 hours. Wrap fish in plastic and return and refrigerate. Tsar-cut Smoked Salmon from Petrossian Paris may be substituted.

Rice pillow

1½ cups koshi-hikari rice

3¾ cups water

4 oz rice wine vinegar

1 oz mirin

1 oz saki

1 oz sugar

pinch of salt

rice cooker

professional culinary torch

4" x 4" square mold (think big square cookie cutter)

Add water and rice to rice cooker. Cook for 20 minutes. Rice should be sticky in consistency. Koshi-hikari is recognized as "the perfect sushi rice."

In a small saucepan combine mirin and saki, bring to a rapid boil. Remove from heat pass lighted torch over mixture once to burn off alcohol. The mixture will catch fire and will burn for approximately 10 seconds. Add vinegar, sugar, salt and whisk. Mix one ounce of this dressing into rice.

Cool rice to room temperature. Place ¾ cup of rice in mold on plate. Press down with spoon to make pillow. Remove mold.

Sauce

2 cups water

1 oz bonito flakes

½ oz kombu

1½ qt white wine

1 tsp soy sauce

1 tsp sugar

In a saucepan bring all ingredients to a rapid boil. Boil 1 minute, remove from heat, pour through mesh strainer immediately. Chill sauce.

Wasabi sorbet

2 liter bottles of sparkling mineral water

3 oz white wine

3 oz glucose

½ tsp stabilizer

2 oz kombu

1 oz wasabi paste

2 tsp yuzu Japanese lime rind

home ice cream maker

Combine all ingredients bring to a rapid boil. Boil 2 minutes, remove from heat, pour through mesh strainer immediately. Put in ice cream maker, follow product instructions.

Plating final dish

Slice salmon into ¼ inch thick strips. Lay across rice pillows. Spoon chilled sauce over fish, garnish with scoop of sorbet.

Enjoy! :yeah::yeah::yeah:

• Replies 55

Initially, I was unsure how to fillet Salmon, here's where I learn.

http://www.northwestflyfisherman.com/salmon_fillet.htm

Any bros or sis got any good recipe to share??? :bow:

Another recipe I found that I will try next week, courtesy of www.japaneseknife.com:

SALMON SASHIMI CUCUMBER BOWLS

200g Block of sushi quality salmon

Cucumber

Wasabi

Pickled ginger (sushi gari)

Recommended knife: Ceramic 1594

1567-00 Artisan Gyuto

Yanagiba

1514 Best Clad

Cut thin slices of cucumber - about 1/8" or less in thickness and place in a bowl of cold water for about ½ an hour. The slices of cucumber will now have curled up on the edges creating little 'bowls'.

Skin the fish or get you fishmonger to do it for you.

Lay the block of fish with what would have been the skin side down.

Cutting across the grain cut fine slices of the fish (~1/8")

Spread a tiny dab of wasabi in each cucumber 'bowl', place a slice of salmon on it, place a small amount of sushi gari on top and serve.

My dad presents his version which is the salmon pieces on top of a bowl full of crushed ice

I find that rather nice as the slices are so cooling to eat!! :lol:

post-11-1136647412.jpg

are you guys planning to make sashimi or sushi?

if its for sashimi.... i will go cold storage real early.. make sure the salmon is freshly cut.. then happily bring home, slice it, add some lemon .. then comes the jap soya sauce n wasabi..

yummy.. :)

post-11-1136647726.jpg

are you guys planning to make sashimi or sushi?

but if its for sashimi.... i will go cold storage real early.. make sure the salmon is freshly cut.. then happily bring home, slice it, add some lemon .. then comes the jap soya sauce n wasabi..

yummy.. :)

Sushi are some that are afraid to taste the raw fish direct.

For me, I prefer Sashimi - direct, no holds barred! :evil::evil::evil:

how about this one?? :yeah:

this one is real good.. erh.. animal lover dun come after me ok..

:off::off::off: The dish tonight is Salmon not lobster leh?!?!?! <_<

Anyway, Sis got any Salmon recipe to share???? :D

Hi WL,

Yah loh dun quite like those in NTUC. Now trying to look for super fresh ones, source located by hard to get fish delivered to my door:D

Here's another to tempt you further.

P.S. Will jio you when dinner is serve. ;)

post-11-1136649213.jpg

WL,in singapore wat u expect??? :D

of course its either ntuc or cold storage lor.. normally this type of premium thing, cold storage has got more variety mah... :rolleyes:

aiya.. sama sama lar gouldian.. sashima also mah.... i drifted too far.. hahaha..u lah! who ask u start this food thread.. haiz..makes me hungry... heng ! i just bought Bah Gua..heehee

hmm..frankly speaking, i prefer raw salmon rather than cooked salmon..let me think of a good recipe before i post ..heehee :D

Hi WL,

Yah loh dun quite like those in NTUC. Now trying to look for super fresh ones, source located by hard to get fish delivered to my door:D

Here's another to tempt you further.

P.S. Will jio you when dinner is serve. ;)

again... sorry !!

this pic makes me thinks of caviar ..wahahaha....

again... sorry !!

this pic makes me thinks of caviar ..wahahaha....

How about combining them together??!?!? :idea::idea::idea:

post-11-1136650639.jpg

Gouldian, no no no, jio me when you going to skin the fish.

Will do bro. Many bros also interested. ;)