2ft Noob Tank

lima16_sg

started since 22/08

completed cycling 16/09, NH3=0, NO2=0, NO3~0ppm

size=24Lx12Wx18H

vol=16G (at 16" ht - 2" coral chip#10 base)

fluval 303 canister filter, 1st coarse filter medium, 2nd fine ceramic ring, 3rd sponge

1x cheapo pump at mid tank for better water motion

$10 cheapo skimmer type with adjustable air pump

lighting PL-T4 55B/W with eballast (according to the vendor), 12 hrs per day, 7.30 to 7.30

6xfan, 18hrs per day, 7.00am - 10.00pm, 1.00am to 4.00am

live rocks ~ 10.5kg (excluding those from corals)

corals (from 18/9 to 21/9)

zoanthid@18/9, right of picture

mushroom (type=?)@18/9, center of picture, above shrimp

pipe coral (advise by LFS)@18/9, centre of picture-top, above mushroom

hairy mushroom@21/9, right of pipe and mushroom

Actinodiscus Mushroom@21/9, far right of picture, only 2 small green dot visible as just shifted the position for anemone

anemone (type=?)@2/10, bottom left of picture with 3 clowns happily hosting (1 hidden)

will post out individual pic once available

live stock

1 x cleaner shrimp@21/9 (1 MIA during 9/24)

1x blue green mandarin@21/9 (1 spotted mandarin MIA 9/24)

1x blue tang 1.5"@28/9

1x crown 1.5"@9/30 (1 KIA 1/10)

2 x crown 1"@1/10

1x red starfish@2/10

3x turbo snail@28/9

possibly add 2x blue tang and 1x yellow tang

water parameter

NH3=0, NO3~0ppm, PO4=0, pH=8.2, s.g=1.0215~1.0225, temp=25-27.5, Ca=440ppm, dKH=8.2

feed

1x live µplankton and 1~2x dried plankton per week

1x reef system formula A, all in 1, with trace element, Ca, Strontium, etc. per week

2x iodine per week

2x dried food + color enhancer (can't remember the name) daily

brine shrimp 2~3x per week

water top up 1~2x daily

~15% water change bi weekly

thinking of adding more vibrant color fish as don't think can make it up on the choice of coral, eg. green or red, any suggestion

advise on the type of corals, placement, suitability, including "flaming" are welcome (though i might choose to ignore ;-P)

ps. started with crush coral chip base and stuck with it for the time being

always learning

post-34-1065517737.jpg

yap, only crush coral :paiseh:

other note

understand that stocking should do it slowing ~ >1 week interval

however, once start buying live stock, really can't stop the urge man

only check parameter before stocking with both NH3 and NO3=0, so far all are well (except the initial part) <_<

also, have shifted the pump upward and the inlet is stuffed with sponge to avoid possible "stuck" of live stock/anemone :angel:

my humble suggestions....may not be accurate...as I dun have a really good look ....maybe more pics will help.... ;)

I was thinking you have nice LR...even nice tonga....

maybe can rescape it a little to create more caves and crevasse...that wil help give more depth in the way it look :D

...I kind of avoid stacking LR until it looks like a rubble...I used to do that...and my fishes has lesser space to swim and you kind of wonder...wat the hack are they doing beind the scene :eyebrow:

anyway..tat's ONLY my opinion.... :lol:

DaY, bwilly

got those branch LR at $18/kg from CF

total cost (all LR) ~ $170

DeepBlue, metals99

had tried a couple of rescape liao

problem is having 2 big pieces of base rock give lots of constraint

do agree lack of certain "depth" as it looks kinda flat

anyway, had not pass my art since pri sch :rolleyes:

using this experience for future development

ps. now, the anemone is "climbing" up towards the center white patch area

moving out the corals (pipe and shroom) to make space for it