Reefzzz Tankie

Reefzzz

• Replies 541

ncie set up dude, i currently have a five foot tank with a 2 foot sump. and i really want to set up a refugium.....

do i really need a refugium? it seems to do wonders for the corals and LS in the tank and i want whats best for my tank!

my current set up tank -> sump -> skimmer

Thanks bro for your comment....

Heard of the benefits of refugium like reducing all those unwanted ammonia, nitrate, etc.. However, i am not very sure how far or how efficient it can go.. :paiseh:

IMO, I think having a refugium will do no harm... i am trying to setup the tank based on this principle.. haha... sounds stupid though

Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1

Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000

Lighting: 2x 54W T5

Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350

Chiller: Arctica 1/10

Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell
Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor
Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor

In order for your refugium to work properly... it needs to be sizable. Also depending on your stocking level... I think a 4 ft tank should have at least a 2ft refugium... anything smaller will be insignificant.

Refugium is not only a good way to export undesirable nutrients... it is also a good way to learn more about macroalgaes... they can be extremely beautiful too :D

Refugium also help to stabilize pH (reduce day/night fluctuation) if the refugium lighting is turn on in opposite of main tank lighting period. It is a great place to cultivate pods for your fishes and corals.

However, some macroalgaes tend to go asexual (sexually active) after a while... so contant trimming is required... or else... there will be a posibility of the macros releasing toxins into the water column.

It's a nice to have... and I am planning 1 too :lol:

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

It's a nice to have... and I am planning 1 too  :lol:

yes.. good... do post ur pics when u get it done...

for sure, i bet yours will be interesting... :bow::D

I quite like yr idea of a seperate refugem tank. Good idea.

:thanks: bro sam999 for your encouragement... :D

Some progress finally.. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

About 20kg of Fiji rocks.. with a thin layer of 40lb argonite + 10lb of normal grade 0 sand

pics here... :P:D

post-34-1159018607.jpg

side view....

post-34-1159018661.jpg

the little cutie refugium...

Going to plant with mangrove soon... & cleanup crew as suggested by bro jervismun

post-34-1159018777.jpg

A view of the sump... Think the sump is a little small....

Need to get a new tenant for the sump.....>>> :P .. schuran skimmer of course..

Hmmm.. the sump looking messy.. going to tidy it up... & the under power chiller from previous setup... No LS now so set the chiller to kick in when the temp reach 29degrees..

post-34-1159019008.jpg

and the full view.... :D

post-34-1159019070.jpg

wat are the wavemakers used for this project?

Hey bro yk.. No wavemaker in the tank..

just 2 units of seio 820 for main tank circulation together with the return pump flow. Sufficient??? :shock:

The 1st Seio 820 is at the back of tank for the back circulation as my rockscape are not touching the back glass panel..

For the 2nd Seio... will be in the front... Not in the tank yet...

Clean up crew in refugium?

Hey bro kenneth...

u give me the motivation after viewing ur tank :thanks::thanks: me spent the whole evening placing the rocks in...

clean up crew as in sand dollar, hermit crab, sand star, etc... debris bound to get trap in the refugium

Hey bro kenneth...

u give me the motivation after viewing ur tank :thanks::thanks: me spent the whole evening placing the rocks in...

clean up crew as in sand dollar, hermit crab, sand star, etc... debris bound to get trap in the refugium

Put things that dun eat algae. Need it other then mangrove. Thanks for the comments

Hey bro yk.. No wavemaker in the tank..

just 2 units of seio 820 for main tank circulation together with the return pump flow. Sufficient??? :shock:

The 1st Seio 820 is at the back of tank for the back circulation as my rockscape are not touching the back glass panel..

For the 2nd Seio... will be in the front... Not in the tank yet...

if yr budget permits, use 2x6060. i see u use alot of tonga branch, so, deterius may built up. just some suggestion.

Yeah man... dream to have that some day. at the mean time, just have to make do with the 2x Seio 820..

Wow Bro,

Nice and neat setup.

Continue to post pic. Your scape is an inspiration for my new tank coming next week.

Thanks dude for your comments... U may like to visit a few reefers for inspiration.. there are many with very nice reef tank...

bro.. actually during cycling you don't really need to on chiller....

hmmm. :paiseh: .. u got a point... :thanks:

going to off it...

Great rock scaping there. Looks like a causeway in between the scape. I was told by kennethk that u were unable to meet up for today. well next time can still meet up for house visit. maybe can visit ur tank next time? Keep the pix rolling in B)

hey bro fishtalk, kenneth told me u stay nearby as well.

did not know have quite a few reefers in these few clusters of housing... :D

and yes, with the new 24hr kopi tiam just beside, looking forward for kopi with u guys for fish talk.. :idea::idea: