Changing to tropical tank

seamonkee

• Replies 69

Then I move away from marine and shift to tanganyikan cichlid...

With fluva sand and granite rocks.... Then I pull out the chiller and most of my tanga died.... what's next I thot? It has to be something simpler... Hehe... :lol:

post-11-1159091204.jpg

Now that i cleared my remaining tanga cichlids, fluva sand and granite rocks...

This is my latest project... Hehe... looks dark but I like the "feel" of it... The pix is not doing it any justice...

Got this 3 jumbo driftwood from QianHu (I ran from farms to farms.... Pasir Ris to Qian Hu and found something I really like in shape and size.. u noe how fussy I am when it comes to aesthetics...)

Still have not moved away from the "slope" shape coz my tank has a side view on the right... and yeah.. for the records, its a five footer...

Got some dark crystal sand too and dark pebbles to accentuate...

post-11-1159091372.jpg

Another pix... from the side...

Oh yeah, bros, what fishes can i put in it...

I cant go for plants coz its still running via overflow (over oxygenated water).. hehe... If i can go for plants, what kind of plants is hardy and suitable? Hmmpphh... <_<

Thinking of some Altum angels? I heard they need cold water? Issit so?

What other suggestions? A big group of schooling tetras? Hmmpphhh...

post-11-1159091607.jpg

haha. . u are just as flickle minded as me. . just that i move from corals > FOWLR > Aggressive tank > corals AGAIN. :D

Keep some discus. . thye dun need chiller.

what are u going to keep ?? :lol:

woohoo! nice! show us the whole built in cabinet with the tank leh.

i have a suggestion. why not keep goldfishes? i have a friend who keeps big fat goldfishes (the really golden looking and fat kind, dunno what name) in a six footer with metal halides. look like shining swimming gold. really quite spectacular, esp. since his tank has black background and base. the rippling effect on goldfish is stunning. i don't know what temperature are the bulbs....looks like 10K but not sure

oh yeah, i can't find the book on decorating aquarium in amazon, so can't link it to you. but you should be able to find in popular. i saw the book about 3 weeks ago at the toa payoh branch

haha. . u are just as flickle minded as me. . just that i move from corals > FOWLR > Aggressive tank > corals AGAIN.  :D

Keep some discus. . thye dun need chiller.

but need heater to heat till 30-32degrees for good health... unless your eq can heat the water till at least 30degrees...

bro... can go nature aquarium.. the uncle there quite friendly....

NATURE AQUARIUM

Blk 1, Thomson Road, #01-340, Balestier Hill Shopping Centre, Singapore 300001

Tel: 62556051

but need heater to heat till 30-32degrees for good health... unless your eq can heat the water till at least 30degrees...

i agree with you.

However, i have seen planted tanks with discus at about 28-29 degrees. .

dunno how it works also. . . :)

i agree with you.

However, i have seen planted tanks with discus at about 28-29 degrees. .

dunno how it works also. . . :)

lol... me lo... XD...

but must be very careful la.... coz easy to catch diseases....

mine 27degree....

and discus like heavily planted tank coz it can hide and less stress...

if bare tank better to keep at 30-32degree....

lol... me lo... XD...

but must be very careful la.... coz easy to catch diseases....

mine 27degree....

and discus like heavily planted tank coz it can hide and less stress...

if bare tank better to keep at 30-32degree....

oh... i cook an entire tank of discus before cuz my heater overheat. . went up to 32 degrees. . . crap. . .

anyway off topic, bro seamonkee tank wld be nice with discus and some plants which can tahan without co2 input.

yup.... if you got low lighting... can keep nana, ferns, acorus spp. , anubias, hornwort, chamaedorea, chlorophytum spp. , some of the cryptocoryne and echinodorus spp.

can try going to aquaticquotient.com or arofanatics.com to see also....

Overflow can still be used for planted tank. Just that the return hose back to the tank must have an external co2 reactor attached to it. Even ADA large tank has an overflow at the corner of the tank. After the external co2 reactor, you could connect it to the chiller and back to the main tank if you want to have some shrimps in there. A school of tetras and a few pair of apistos and some crustacean here and there might be good.

http://www.paulandbecky.com/

Here's some pics for you to enjoy. Hope this helps! :)

Some zebra pleco will look striking in your dark tank.

Btw, where did you get the Spongebob and Patrick figurine in your marine tank? I am thinking of getting them. They live in the sea so will fit into reef tank quite nicely.

i dont reco discus unless u are planning to keep them in a large group. i used to keep around 12 of them in a 3 ft tank.. they get frighten very very easy even though the tank was quite heavily planted.. they only recognise its owner. any strangers that walk pass they may juz dart off and in the process they might injure themselves..

i think throwing 200 cardinals into that thank will be nice =) the contrast of of the colours .. B)

There's always a debate that planted tank requires more attention than even a full SPS tank on Zeovit.

Me not being a planted tank user before, I can not really comment on that.

Any comments, dominik or big_ben102000?

There's always a debate that planted tank requires more attention than even a full SPS tank on Zeovit.

Me not being a planted tank user before, I can not really comment on that.

Any comments, dominik or big_ben102000?

in terms equipment much simpler. maintenance wise depends on wat type of plants you keeping. most plants need to be trimmed regularly if not it will be like my last pic, messy.

Current tank

Past tank

i wanna get too! tell me where  you got them from!! or are you selling them?! can i have them.. PLEASE!!!!!

patrick star cracked and spoilt liao...

Spongebob still avail in my storeroom... the pineapple house too... :rolleyes:

BTW, thank you all for the advice... I was thinking of throwing in 200 cardinals but was wondering will they get suck into the overflow... haha...

Running on T5s so I considering low low low maintenance plants... that is if I want to add plants... If i'm going for planted tanks, with the maintenance, I might as well keep back FOWLR... hehe...

Also, will redecorate the pebbles and probably throw in some big ones between the current small ones for more gradient.... hehe...

Thanks bro...