Orange seahorse for bidding

Hi, its feeding on live mysis shrimp. Active. Been with me for two weeks. Its tail got bruised when dipped into my anemone and branch corals. Bought for $150 at LFS. Starting bid at $50 with $5 increament. Bidding ends 2359 on 29/8/07. Please do not bid unless you have experience with seahorses. They require a specialised environment. Beautiful gentle creatures that should only be kept by experienced reefers. Thanks.

Sorry, just resized pics

post-10-1188220472.jpg

$60... seriously shouldn't have gotten this handsome fella if u've stinging corals... such a pity to have its tail stung :heh:

No offense bro :peace:

“Frogs have it easy, they can eat what bugs them”

"If you have no critics you'll likely have no success."

- Malcolm X

Glory Glory Man Utd!

DeZ aka Desmond

$60... seriously shouldn't have gotten this handsome fella if u've stinging corals... such a pity to have its tail stung  :heh:

No offense bro  :peace:

Very keen to bid but before can ask does its tail will get any infection? can heal by itself without any medication apply? thks

Hi Roger Bro, frankly speaking I'm also bidding with a risk, my experience with SH is that most time if the tail doesn't get too infected it'll gradually heal by itself...

Since its stung by corals, the best situation now is to isolate the SH in another tank or container to prevent it from getting stung again by corals or getting stress by other tankmates...

- Malcolm X

Glory Glory Man Utd!

DeZ aka Desmond

oK, thanks. me take risk + challange also $65. ;) wander is it a reserved price?

Hi guys, I have isolated the seahorse as advised. No offense taken Bro DKK08. I went and made the biggest mistake a reefer can ever make. Buy on impulse. Looked so beautiful, I couldnt resist. Bro Rogerrt, not sure what a reserve price is, but to tell you the truth, more important is that the SH goes to live with a reefer who can take good care of it. Will even deliver the seahorse myself. (As long as in Singapore :) ) Anyways, here are some more pics of the SH with live shrimps.

post-10-1188273174.jpg

Sighz, roger with u bidding I no need to bid liao lor hahahaha how to outbid u leh...

anyway for ur info I've already posted the pics on Seahorse Organization forums to ask for expert opinion liao. There's a reply already ;)

http://forum.seahorse.org/index.php?showtopic=34920&hl=

- Malcolm X

Glory Glory Man Utd!

DeZ aka Desmond

Hi guys, I have isolated the seahorse as advised. No offense taken Bro DKK08. I went and made the biggest mistake a reefer can ever make. Buy on impulse. Looked so beautiful, I couldnt resist. Bro Rogerrt, not sure what a reserve price is, but to tell you the truth, more important is that the SH goes to live with a reefer who can take good care of it. Will even deliver the seahorse myself. (As long as in Singapore :) ) Anyways, here are some more pics of the SH with live shrimps.

Glad u've taken the right step to avoid further injuring/infecting the SH... well we need get our hands on medications if we want to prevent infection and increase the healing rate... If possible house the SH in a bare bottom tank... but I guess at this point in time a betta box would definitely be better den in a reef tank...

- Malcolm X

Glory Glory Man Utd!

DeZ aka Desmond

Bro archangylle I'm not trying to disturb ur thread but I seriously think for the rest of the bros who intend to bid, pls take into consideration that this is an injured Seahorse which needs immediate medical attention and needs a sterile clean environment (bare bottom with no Live sand or live rocks would be best)...

if not pls try not to bid... Seahorses are already very much on the CITES list due to over poaching and many other man made reasons... no reason to let another one bite the dust :(

- Malcolm X

Glory Glory Man Utd!

DeZ aka Desmond

Bro archangylle I'm not trying to disturb ur thread but I seriously think for the rest of the bros who intend to bid, pls take into consideration that this is an injured Seahorse which needs immediate medical attention and needs a sterile clean environment (bare bottom with no Live sand or live rocks would be best)...

if not pls try not to bid... Seahorses are already very much on the CITES list due to over poaching and many other man made reasons... no reason to let another one bite the dust :(

I totally agree with Bro DKKH08. Anyone who has placed a bid but wants to back out, it's ok by me to do so. :)

I'm really touched by Bro archangylle and appreciate his understanding... If I've the spare $ I would definitely get this beauty and try my best to nurse it back to health as I'm in the midst of setting up a SH nursery/breeding area, I can't spare the cash.

Any bro who manage to get it and need any help, I'll definitely be glad to help in anyway possible ;)

- Malcolm X

Glory Glory Man Utd!

DeZ aka Desmond

If I were you and I had the time, I would try to ween off the seahorse from live mysis to dead ones.

Try this:

1. Put the seahorse in a floating tank.

2. use a turkey baster to squirt live shrimp into the tank so it will get used to it as a source of food introduction.

3. slowly introduce frozen mysis (defrosted) in with the live shrimp and use the baster to blast the mix up so the SH can't tell the difference between swimming and non-live shrimp and still snap all of them up.

4. slowly move the mix to more and more frozen shrimp and eventually it will automatically wait for the turkey baster to introduce just frozen food.

Voila! Try it! :)

Bro archangylle,

I've pm ya, do sms/call (sms better as there's something wrong with my phone speaker) lets discuss on how we can make this fella better. Coz the medications that we need; neomycin (which might not be available here) and Baytril (enrofloxacin) plus triple sulpha (which can only be obtain from the Vet) can be tricky to get and administer. There're alternatives like Biosal which also might not be available here.

Hence the best solution I figured wld be what AT have suggested, get him a clean, no substrate, no live rocks tank, not too big, those 2ft five plan tank would be sufficient and feed at least 3 times a day... soak the food (frozen or live) with Garlic Guard and hope for the best.

We need to know if the SH is able to hitch coz the tail do seem quite badly injured. Good thing is the SH looks fat ;)

Pls do gimme a beep soon. Thanks!

Desmond

- Malcolm X

Glory Glory Man Utd!

DeZ aka Desmond

Remember not to expose your SH to air or air bubbles during any tank to tank/bag transfers or you'll get the dreaded 'bubbles under the skin' or the 'big airbelly' syndrome!

Save the Horse Mission > $120

- Malcolm X

Glory Glory Man Utd!

DeZ aka Desmond