Vlamingi_cont's 2nd tank

U need to let your system stabilise/ mature. Reduce your feeding, feed lesser amt so no food will be stuck in the LR. Get some cleaning crew to help get rid of the algae initially. Run PO4 remover such as Sorb4 to absorb PO4 , and run carbon to "clean" the water. Since u have no corals, reduce your lighting period to slow down the growth of existing algae.

Suggested cleaning crew: Seahare, sea urchins (good at scraping off stubborn algae on ur LR), astrea snails.

Remember that the cleaning crew only helps to clear off the algae, you need to get to the root of this algae bloom. Improve your water quality.

I like the sea hare they don't just keep on eating and eating.They will never stop eating.

girlone.png

• Replies 1.3k

U need to let your system stabilise/ mature. Reduce your feeding, feed lesser amt so no food will be stuck in the LR. Get some cleaning crew to help get rid of the algae initially. Run PO4 remover such as Sorb4 to absorb PO4 , and run carbon to "clean" the water. Since u have no corals, reduce your lighting period to slow down the growth of existing algae.

Suggested cleaning crew: Seahare, sea urchins (good at scraping off stubborn algae on ur LR), astrea snails.

Remember that the cleaning crew only helps to clear off the algae, you need to get to the root of this algae bloom. Improve your water quality.

Added Sorb4 yesterday...

Well a lil' away from my tank now pls visit this thread... Hydor magnum

Here the latest presentable FTS...

post-14611-1227768742.jpg

And no more Algae...

post-14611-1227768840.jpg

Here the latest presentable FTS...

gd job! so clean nw! unlike mine...lol den its time to check ur water parameters :)

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

gd job! so clean nw! unlike mine...lol den its time to check ur water parameters :)

Yepz! Done that oredi...

Ammonia : 0.25 ppm (as usual)

Nitrate : 10 ppm

Nitrite : 0.2ppm

Thats the parameter... ;)

Looks Promising... :whistle

post-14611-1227838745.jpg

bro,u have not provide us the link for the hydor.

Sorry meaning?? :peace: Gort what u meant... The link is posted at the other thread...http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...mp;#entry768897

Btw an easier way to find the youtube video simply type Hydor Boss and click on the 1st link in google.com

Can i add an Algae Blenny now?? To control some hair algae??

post-14611-1228021206.jpg

actually hermit can do the job unless u are toking abt hair algae on the glass / areas unreachable by hermits..

they clear the algae real fast....

i use 1 blue leg when i was cycling my tank back then

^_^

But i dun dare keep hermit... Heard that they will scratch my tank's glass... <_<

Can i add an Algae Blenny now?? To control some hair algae??

i juz bought 1 ytd! haha a cute little fella!

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

If you want scratchless then use sea hares.They are slow yet effective.They blend in with your LR too.They eat almost any algae.

girlone.png

If you want scratchless then use sea hares.They are slow yet effective.They blend in with your LR too.They eat almost any algae.

Oic just drop by AM yesterday night got 1 relatively big ard 8cm long... But now can't find leh or shld i say went to MIA :eyebrow: ... Shld wait for another day before i start to worry... :unsure: And took a lil risk got a small frag of red mushie just 1 polyp and it bloomed :yeah: ... But tested water too salty :pirate: But when sea hare (touch wood) dies will it gives of any poisonous stuffs??

I don't think so.The sea hare also loves to crawl around your wavemaker.My wavemaker is cleansed every now and then.I don't think they are like sea cucumbers.I got my sea hare from Am at around 6cm now like grown a lot bigger.Got a pistol shrimp but never saw the pistol shrimp but i know it shares the same burrow as my goby.Hope this one don't die again.

girlone.png

Get abalone!

Really effective!

I have one inside my 10g. And trust me, it mows non stop! Even when my tank looks pretty algaeless :upsidedown:

otherwise,

I will prefer to have snails such as cerith and astrea to invertebrates :upsidedown:

P.S Abalone was a solution to prevent any possible chance of hair algae outbreak as there weren't any cerith snails in the market when my tank began (:

Happy Reefing,

Marc J.

hey guys, seahare die also will give out toxic.

Hmm thats why need to take care of them carefully huh..I didn't know that.

girlone.png

where r all ur previous fishes which u mentioned u kept in a holding tub or something like that? i remembered one of it is a splendid wrasse :rolleyes:

Mr Leopard?? :cry:

Get abalone!

Really effective!

I have one inside my 10g. And trust me, it mows non stop! Even when my tank looks pretty algaeless :upsidedown:

otherwise,

I will prefer to have snails such as cerith and astrea to invertebrates :upsidedown:

P.S Abalone was a solution to prevent any possible chance of hair algae outbreak as there weren't any cerith snails in the market when my tank began (:

Wah then cost a lot of money lor?? :lol: Haha but where have sell and will it release toxic when dead??

Hmm thats why need to take care of them carefully huh..I didn't know that.

Must be careful :peace: as i once experienced an anemone dead in my another 2 ft tank b4 i join this club...