my new 1x1x1.5ft tank

hi all, after some time reading up, i finally decided to set a 1ft tank. i am currently cycling my tank and added some live rocks already. but the water smells bad although it is clear. is this a sign that the live rocks are dead? should i continue cycling? or should i change the live rocks. am currently using aragonite sand bought from irwana as my base.

• Replies 50

Do a partial water change and do you have a skimmer?

hi all, after some time reading up, i finally decided to set a 1ft tank. i am currently cycling my tank and added some live rocks already. but the water smells bad although it is clear. is this a sign that the live rocks are dead? should i continue cycling? or should i change the live rocks. am currently using aragonite sand bought from irwana as my base.

hi, hav u run any test of the water? like NH4, NO2, NO3... these r the main tests needed i believed.. the smell of the water is probably caused by large amt of die-off on the lr...

juz my opinions.. still learning though..

Do a partial water change if you cant stand the smell. If you can tahan...i will suggest u get a skimmer to "clean the water". Best is to use both...water change and skimmer. For marine setup, always good to have skimmer. Learned my lesson...previously suggested to a newbie like me to process the live rock which will kill those critter, and live bacteria....anyway, some ppl do kill live rock to ensure no parasite and slowly cultivate them to live rock again. Anyway, take my suggestion as reference as i might be wrong again....wahahaha...

open to correction. .....failure is mother of all success....lol

hi, hav u run any test of the water? like NH4, NO2, NO3... these r the main tests needed i believed.. the smell of the water is probably caused by large amt of die-off on the lr...

juz my opinions.. still learning though..

Bro, maybe you can post your tank photo and get ppl to suggest what skimmer to put. Some external skimmer very small, should be okay for your tank. Anyway, enjoy. : )

lol i just did a water change, the smell is partially gone. i cant add a skimmer as theres no space for one. i think i'll just let my tank cycle longer to cultivate the live rocks again.

Hi bro, very cool setup & it is very similar to mine also (except that mine is pink in colour -as it is intended for my little girl...) I do agree with Nicholas that space is really a constraint in our setup..

Btw, can check with you if your tank is a cube tank or the 235H series (i.e height of 1 feet)?

heres my humble small tank =)

Hi bro, very cool setup & it is very similar to mine also (except that mine is pink in colour -as it is intended for my little girl...) I do agree with Nicholas that space is really a constraint in our setup..

Btw, can check with you if your tank is a cube tank or the 235H series (i.e height of 1 feet)?

it's the 235H series. i have activated carbon and coral chips in my filter. no more space for biohome. thinking of buying a bigger tank. i bought this tank to compliment my freshwater tank. i'll post a pic.

Hi bro, your two GEX tanks sure look cool in comparison side by side... Mine also placed next to my 1-feet cube planted in my living room, but effect sure pales when compared to yours... :paiseh:

Noticed that the light for your marine has a bluish tinge, did you buy the bulb for it seperately? Any idea how much will a bulb like it cost & where can I buy one? [Mine is the normal white bulb, but appears yellowish when turned on...] Do you have problems of too much water splashing on your light (the bulb itself & cover) & the 4 inner top surfaces of the tank's walls? I had already tuned my GEX filter to the smallest flowrate but still the water is splashing til my light bulb got those salt remaining on it...

post-14889-1215177959.jpg

hmm, you can get the bulb from most hardware shops that carries light bulbs. i changed the bulb for my freshwater one too. both are phillip 11W. costs around 4.50 each. regarding water splashing, i fill water until the part where water flows out so that i wont get any on the inner sides. but my bulb still has salt particles due to evaporation. i guess this tank just not suited for saltwater. a saltwater aquarium needs to be covered.

Ok, will source for one tomorrow... Btw, do you know how to use the cover included for this tank? [sorry for this very noob question... but I forgot to ask seller to show me how at point of sale... :upsidedown: ] Do you intend to use the cover when you intro livestocks into your tank? [Guess you are still cycling the tank right? Same here, cycled for a week plus already, but still don't dare to intro any livestocks as I'm fearful of my tank not fully cycled yet...]

Thank & sorry for my endless questions...

hmm, you can get the bulb from most hardware shops that carries light bulbs. i changed the bulb for my freshwater one too. both are phillip 11W. costs around 4.50 each. regarding water splashing, i fill water until the part where water flows out so that i wont get any on the inner sides. but my bulb still has salt particles due to evaporation. i guess this tank just not suited for saltwater. a saltwater aquarium needs to be covered.

Bro, small but neat tank. What do you intend to keep? I think shops do sell small skimmer, think i saw one and the name is like....cataract skimmer.....it should be above to fill your tank. For price wise, me not sure. The shop is at china town. I may be wrong as i didnt ask much, however, if you are interested, i can help you to ask them in my next visit. Nevertheless, you can check in your LFS visit. : )

no problem. i dont think will be using. abit ugly. but if you want i think it comes with 2 transparent clips that are joined together. you have to detach them and attach to the glass cover and it sits on the tank.

Hi Bro, from what i see, the small skimmer seems to be hang on type and doesnt really take up much space in yr tank. For Coral, think i will suggest to keep mushroom....you can have green, blue/purple, red, orange, etc. Hehe. I started with them and find them rather easy to keep. Maybe for a start, you can start with this as the cost is not that expensive as compared to other corals. Best wishes and do keep us posted on your tank when it is ready. :)

some clown fish and corals. but regarding the corals still not sure what corals i want to keep. can advise? i not sure whether want to put in a skimmer as my tank is already very small. lol. if its really small might consider. i'm still cycling.

Cute cat...hehehe

try some hardy corals like zoos, mushroom. try not to add too much fishes / corals. your tank capacity is small, without any skimmer, u'll have trouble with nitrate in no time.

cool setup..

thanks, i think i'll do with some mushrooms and 3 clownfish for a start. maybe add an anemone. anyone can recommend some good place to get?

Hi nicholascjh, can't wait to see your livestocks being introduced into your tank... [btw, how long had you cycled yours? Mine already cycled for more than 2 weeks liaoz]. I might be adding some livestocks into my plain & dull tank soon (hopefully, by this sat!!!).

Had been only to AM @ Jln Kayu (if it's near your place) to look at their livestocks, they do sell the corals & stuffs too... [but you may like to call them up to see if they have what you want 1st before going down...]. I should be making my way down to the fish farms in Pasir Ris this coming sat morning with a few kind bros in here (Solo77 & Sunny03), join us if you are free...

Cheers!!

[PS: I'm a very newbie newbie in marine, so all I typed may not be correct, but I try my best lor...]

Hi Bro,

If you are keeping coral, do keep the water temperature below 30, 28 to 29(subject to the coral...lol). With your small tank, suggest u use fan but be prepared to face fast evaporation and frequent top up to ease your SG. For small tank, change in water parameter can take place very fast, hence one must be vigilant.

Mushroom is a good choice as it is not that experience. Maybe you can get hairy mushroom for the clown. For anemone, you must do feeding at least once a week and it require light. Clown will love them. Hehe. However, if something happens to your anemone, it can contaminate yr water and killing all yr livestocks. Do becareful.

For clownfish, there are a few type, from cheap($1) to expensive(hundreds). Hence, it is good to assess yr budget vs yr liking. Hope you dont fall in love with black clown at first sight...expensive to test your tank....lol. false percula should be ideal but they are commando....lol. If you want nice and hardy....maroon clown but not easy to get pair and hardly can mix with other clown. Can talk more if we visit the farm, if not, you can do some reading and search the forum.

For shop, dont want to advertise or support any shop, i will go to the shops that i feel comfortable. For you, maybe can go farm, more variety. Hope this help.

Hi Bro Beetle, hopefully can meet up and visit farm. Lol.

thanks, i think i'll do with some mushrooms and 3 clownfish for a start. maybe add an anemone. anyone can recommend some good place to get?