LED Panel

sherman

Who is the top 10 LED manufacturers in the world?

Seoul Semi 4th in LED Rankings

In 2007, the leading LED suppliers remained the same, but they now face strong challenges from companies in Taiwan and Korea, according to a market research report available at Electronics.ca Publications. It is believed that the Top3 rankings for 2008 will be the same.

ComponentsAccording to a market research report from Electronics.ca Publications, which focuses on LEDs, the top three companies in 2007 in terms of total dollar revenues for packaged LEDs were Nichia (24% of the market), Osram Opto (10.5%) and Lumileds/ Philips (6.5%). These three companies have been well established as the top three for several years. Although full data for 2008 was not available as the report went to press, it is believed that the top three rankings will be the same for 2008.

However, an analyst Jamie Fox stated that: "Lumileds may face competition for 3rd spot from Seoul Semiconductor in the next few years. For several years now, Seoul Semi has grown aggressively and faster than the overall LED market and has risen steadily through the top 10 to reach 4th spot." Other companies in the top ten in the report include Citizen and Toyoda Gosei from Japan, as well as Everlight and Kingbright, two Taiwanese companies that have also seen good growth. Avago are also in the top ten by total revenue.

Other LED companies are more focused on profit margin and quality of products, or developing a portfolio with an eye on the long term lighting market, rather than just the largest total revenues. For example, Cree are widely considered to be one of the top 4 or 5 LED companies although in terms of packaged LED revenues this is not actually the case.

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

• 3 months later...

Wish All Bros and Sisters a Happy and Prosperous Chinese New Year

post-669-1265980968_thumb.jpg

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

LEDs DIYers

Good news for you.

I manage to get the manufacturer of constant current driver

we offer a few months ago . This driver that can drive 6 LEDs

==

Hi Sherman,

What is the rating of power supply required for this led driver?

thanks,

==

Hi Sherman,

What is the rating of power supply required for this led driver?

thanks,

This driver is AC driven.Just plug into your wall socket and you get the specified

constant current output

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Can i check with the guru here how do you know which LED to buy at dealextreme.com?

1. SSC P4 is white or blue color?

2. The royal blue you guys are using is Cree XP-E? Or Cree XP-E also have white one?

Can i check with the guru here how do you know which LED to buy at dealextreme.com?

1. SSC P4 is white or blue color?

2. The royal blue you guys are using is Cree XP-E? Or Cree XP-E also have white one?

Hi bro YzF,

1. SSC P4 do have blue, Royal blue , Pure white..etc but DealExtreme only bring in Pure White.

2. CREE has both XPE White and Royal Blue. You can order them from Cutter if you want.

Hope it helps.

Thanks Jameshong!

I have been reading for the past few days. *Headache*

But there are still some things that i dun understand due to the lack of electrical knowledge.

Can help me to see if the steps below is correct?

I will most probbably be mounting the LEDs to a aluminium sheet with 2 fans on top to help with the heat.

Let say i wanted to DIY a 10 LED (SSC P4) LED lightset and a 1 pc LED (Royal blue) for night light.

Each LED is about 3.75V and drives at 750mA. Then how to drive the single LED separately

In order to choose a correct DC input, then calculate power consumption 3.75*10=37.5V and 7.5A

I know I need a Constant Current driver to drive the P4 at 750~1000mA. But how many do i need?

So i need to find a DC adapter to fit 37.5V and 7.5A? Or fit the Constant Current Driver?

I also need to add in fans. These are normally at 12V. So in order not to use another DC adapter, I need to connect 2 fans in series?

With means that the total power consumption become:

37.5 + 24 = 61.5V and hence i need to find a DC input with this rating?

Not Jameshong but I will offer my 5cents worth :peace:

The method I would recommend is to use a standard constant voltage DC power supply + separate constant current drivers.

Assuming you are using the Luxdrive buckpucks, you should be able to drive 6 LEDs with each driver.

You should take the night light off the main LED circuit because

1. Night light does not require high powered LEDs
  2. Its expensive to run a separate driver just for the night light

You will need a 24VDC, with a bare minimum rating of 2A(Recommended at least 4A) power supply.

2qty of 3023, 700mA wired buckpuck drivers.

Connect both drivers in parallel so that the total voltage required can be satisfied with a standard 24VDC supply.

Connect up to 6 LEDs per driver in series.

Connect the 2 fans in series directly to the 24VDC power supply(take note that 2A may not be sufficient to drive both LEDs and fans) :eyebrow:

Hey Barra,

How come your post only 9 har? I tot i remember you were around when i still have my old tank.. Haha..

Anyway, dun matter who reply the post ah. Thanks by the way.

I am still trying to configure the light setting so the number to LEDs are not firm up yet.

Mainly the cost of the lightset is a concern. Different configuration have quite a different cost. Mainly due to the number and type of CCD used.

I was reading somewhere that the main disadvantage of connecting LEDs parallel is that there is a risk to losing all the LEDs.

So a mirror was incorporated to protect the parallel circuit. But i got no idea how to do it. So i guess i have to stick to having the series for now.

It seems that the normal configuration for color is 1:1. Normally 2 circuit will be up. 1st circuit control white LED and the 2nd control blue.

With this configuration, it also gives control for dawn to dusk effect simply with timers.

However, i'm worried that the blue will be too bright at night. That why i was thinking of having a separate blue LED for night and the rest of the LED controlled by just 1 circuit.

Noob question:

For 6 LED (SSC P4), connected in series, total power is 3.75V*6=22.5V, 700mA*6=4.2A

If using output of 24V DC 4A,

1) What happen to the additional 24-22.5=1.5V?

2) 4A cannot meet 4.2A requirement. So the LED will be running slightly lower than 700mA?

3) If i run 5 LED bulb instead, it become 3.75V*5=18.75V, 700mA*5=3.5A, then what happen to the additional amperes? It will be controlled by the CCD?

I also wish to install a dimmer to control the LEDs. I only know is by PWM for now. How to install it?

Paiseh.. to ask so many questions.. but will have more...ahahahah

Noob question:

For 6 LED (SSC P4), connected in series, total power is 3.75V*6=22.5V, 700mA*6=4.2A

If using output of 24V DC 4A,

1) What happen to the additional 24-22.5=1.5V?

2) 4A cannot meet 4.2A requirement. So the LED will be running slightly lower than 700mA?

3) If i run 5 LED bulb instead, it become 3.75V*5=18.75V, 700mA*5=3.5A, then what happen to the additional amperes? It will be controlled by the CCD?

I also wish to install a dimmer to control the LEDs. I only know is by PWM for now. How to install it?

Paiseh.. to ask so many questions.. but will have more...ahahahah

1) Additional voltage is to power the LED drivers. If the power supply is not supplying at least 24V, the driver may not operate correctly.

2) If the power supply cannot cope with the load, either the power supply will blow, LEDs become dim or wouldnt light up at all.

3) The LED driver will only draw the required current to operate.

I would suggest you look at the CREE XP-E for royal blues and XP-G/XP-E for white, they are much more efficient than SSC P4. You can also order them in arrays so that you have less soldering to do.

2 barra here?

I have a better idea now already. I still dun know which dimmable driver to use best for the application.

How much does a Meanwell cost?

Can order in arrays ah?? Never come across leh.. i search again..

Let me read some more first.

If you have 24 vdc power supply you can run 6 LEDs in series.

The excess vdc is use to run your constant current supply.

If you are using 3 watt leds, we can run any current from 350 mA to 1A max.

So 6 leds use 24 vdc , 1A DC adaptor.

If you have a second circuit of 6 leds connect in parallel to this 1st circuit of 6 LEDs

then you use 24 vdc, 2A DC adaptor.And so on.....

As for DC adaptor do not buy the cheap one.

The cheap DC adaptor usually do not have protection and can burnt off your LED rung in no time

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

You can get one and try.

It is from Taiwan.

But no choice of color.

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

If you using more then 1 led then you connect them in series.

That is positive of one led to the negative of another led.

Check for the led spec.The require voltage for the led will let

you get the correct power supply for your led array circuit

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

How today leds perform as compare to MH?

Follow the link to get the answer

http://www.ecc.co.nz/files/downloads/LSPROM114.pdf

or see a quick comparison below

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

The attachment

ledvsmh.doc

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Parts of the writeup for those who want a quick review

AQUARIUM LIGHTING

By Carl Strohmeyer

Updated 4/09/10

As you will read more later in this article a watt is simply a measurement of energy NOT light output or even quality. Even comparable lumen output at the lamp is no longer a good measure of lighting parameter performance due to focus and restrike; a good example is a modern LED (such as the Aqua Ray) which has a vastly higher lumen output than a comparable wattage CFL (such as a Current USA Compact Fluorescent) at 20 inches

The four most important criteria in determining the light you need are:

• Lumens per watt

• Lumen focus (as well a restrike, although less of an issue as per my research and tests than focus)

• PAR (this is important to understand as well as related useful light energy)

• Watts (or watts per gallon, however this term is way over used/simplistic)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

PAR is probably one of the most important considerations along with the related Useful Light Energy, Lumens per Watt, Focused Lumens and Watts per Gallon when choosing a light for your aquarium, yet is often over looked by both marine and freshwater pant keeping aquarists.

PAR is the abbreviation for Photosynthetically Active Radiation which is the spectral range of solar light from 400 to 700 nanometers that is needed by plants for photosynthesis. This is found from actinic UVA to infrared; 400-550nm which is the absorption bandwidth of chlorophylls a, c², and peridinin (the light-harvesting carotenoid, a pigment related to chlorophyll) and ~620-700nm which is the red absorption bandwidth of chlorophylls a and c².

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

May i know which particular shop at SLT?

Should be the shop at the basement.

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer