Rusty Hinges

johntanjm

I intend to get a new set of hinges for my cupboard. Many hinges claim to be stainless steel but still rust in the end. Does anyone know how to choose high grade stainless steel or even aluminum hinges and I heard by spraying them with some chemical, it can help delay the rusting.

Any ideas? thanks guys!

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

i think most impt is replace the screws every now and then ah. if the screws snap, can forget about replacing the hinges forever. haha!

adrian thanks for advise!

i think most impt is replace the screws every now and then ah. if the screws snap, can forget about replacing the hinges forever. haha!

adrian thanks for advise!

l'm one of the victims. Earlier on too lasy to change the rusty hinges and by the time i want to change...too late liao. The screws teeth got worn off after using the screwdriver and can't even unscrew now. <_<

Hi Bros,

For all new hinges, I use 3-in-one professional white lithium grease (http://www.3inone.com/products/white-lithium-grease/).

For hinges that have some rust, I either remove them with wd40 and coat them with white lithium grease. Or if I am lazy, I will just spray with LPS 3 Premier Rust Inhibitor (http://www.lpslabs.com/product_pg/corrosion_pg/LPS3.html).

LPS is able to dislodge minor rust when sprayed on the rusty surface but the only set back is that the suface that is being sprayed will look brownish oppose to white of the former product.

Both products can be found in most DIY stores.

I am now looking out for 3-in-one No Rust Shield (http://no-rust-shield.3inone.com/) hope to try it one day. ;-)

Stainless still are not really pure...what you can do is after you change your new hinges screw,

u can try to apply some clear lacquer spray on it. Been using it for my out door project to cover

the screw and nut from getting rust. Just my 2 cents...

Rgds

i second that. clear lacquer spray is easily available. $4 a bottle. I sprayed multiple layers. spray one thin layer, dry already, spray another. kiasu abit. till now its holiding up very well.

:rolleyes: its ok you can spray as much as you can but the only thing to take note is that

every time when you happen to take out the screw or do some adjustment, you need to

apply the spray again. dont need to thick and two layer will do..and try to maintain and add

a layer every six mth.

Rgds

• 2 months later...

Why dun get the stainless steel hinge and screw instead of keep on applying glease or yearly replacement :shock: ?

I would strongly recommend this stainless steel hinges of LAMP brand by SUGATSUNE. I personnelly used it for my built in 3.5ft tank's cabinet for 2.5 years w/o rusty before I decom'ed on 2007.

I still keep all the hinges beco's it still look new and fresh :eyebrow: and now it's the time to use it for my new tank which I've supplied to my tank maker liao :evil: .

Here the info.

SUGATSUNE

Why dun get the stainless steel hinge and screw instead of keep on applying glease or yearly replacement :shock: ?

I would strongly recommend this stainless steel hinges of LAMP brand by SUGATSUNE. I personnelly used it for my built in 3.5ft tank's cabinet for 2.5 years w/o rusty before I decom'ed on 2007.

I still keep all the hinges beco's it still look new and fresh :eyebrow: and now it's the time to use it for my new tank which I've supplied to my tank maker liao :evil: .

Here the info.

SUGATSUNE

Thanks for sharing this. Any specific hardware shop that sells Sugatsune products?

saltwateraquariumhobby.com -- a work in progress!

• 4 months later...

Info for all fellow SG Reefers, based on my experience in the offshore business. The term Stainless Steel is generally more like Stain-LESS and not Stain-LES, which means that whatever grade of SS you use, it will still succumb to rusting. I've seen 316 grade SS rust like as if it's normal steel. The best protection for SS is still to protect it with heavy grease or paint for non-moving parts.

Happy Reefing.

Nick

Custom 2ft cube tank with 10mm glass.