cycling tank

takumee

hi all,

i am totally new to this great hobby and jump into buying a 2ft tank already.

my water has been running for 4 days now.

day 01 - salt mixing

day 02 - tested my hydrometer and proceed with putting live rock.

day 03 - running

day 04 - running

i was told by the seller to pt a market prawn into the tank to increase the nitrate level.

run the water with the prawn for 1 day and let it run for another 6 weeks.

the issue now is, some people say is not necessary to run another 6 weeks and to introduce a market prawn into the tank.

however, some say it is better to run it this way to prevent bad recurrence later.

so what can i do now?

introduce some damsell, crabs, prawn etc or let it run for 4wks,introduce market prawn and run another 6wks?

• Replies 117
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

me still running as of now day 04 now.

thinking of getting some livestock now.

is it advisable base on the following options?

option 1: should i run for another 4wks?

option 2: run for 4wks first, introduce market prawn and run for another 6 wks

option 3: buy some crabs, prawns and damsell now.

• Senior Reefer

what are ur water parameters? this is most important. please dun add damsels. they are very aggressive and next time when u add other livestock, they are going to bully ur livestock. and going to be very hard to catch also. maybe u can try adding clownfish....they are also quite hardy. but please wait until at least a few more weeks first, and make sure ur water para, ammonia nitrite 0.

the best thing right now is to get a reputable ammonia, nitrite, nitrate testkit such as salifert or tropic marine.

read up more on the ANN cycle. easily available online or do a search in SRC, u will get the necessary information.

unsure abt the basic ANN parameter, dun buy any LS first.

2x1.5x1.5 tank

Lighting: AI hydra 52HD

Skimmer: Deltec SC 1455

Reactor: Minimax; rowaphos

Skimz  ; NP biopellets

Wave Maker: MP 40 WQD