Golden Butterfly

Just recently I found out that Golden Butterflies are not just found in Red Sea but also in Sri Lanka.

Is there any difference between specimens found in these 2 places?

supposedly sri lankan specimens are more rare? but most imptly in terms of coloration, etc. is there difference?

Thanks guys!

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

Just recently I found out that Golden Butterflies are not just found in Red Sea but also in Sri Lanka.

Is there any difference between specimens found in these 2 places?

supposedly sri lankan specimens are more rare? but most imptly in terms of coloration, etc. is there difference?

Thanks guys!

Hi bro John, rarely golden butterfly fish can be found i Sri Lankan sea, but recent Sri Lanka shipment, the golden was shipped together with e Sri Lankan fish. I bought one. To compare with my 2 Red sea golden, the colouration isn't that yellow. The rest same.

BIGBIRD

Tank 1 : 36 x 36 x 30

Tank 2 : 30 x 36 x 30

Sump : 43 x 30 x 15

Light 1 : LumenAqua LED lighting systems 72W

Light 2 : LumenAqua LED lighting systems 72W

Wavemaker : 1 x Tunze wavebox

Skimmer : Deltec 701 and Deltec TS 1250 Turbo Skimmer

Chiller : Arctica 1/4

Return pump 1: Rio 32

Return pump 2: Rio 20

Pinpoint : PH meter

Pinpoint : Temp meter

Pinpoint : ORP controller

Ozonizer : Sander C200

Tank1 and 2 : 308gallon

123a4qp.jpg

BIGBIRD

I TALK ANGEL, I EAT ANGEL, I SLEEP ANGEL

i at first thought that they can only be found in the red sea and guld of aden. but angellove explained to me that they do rarely appear in sri lanka too! very nice to hear! hopefully they expand their natural range hehe.

Circle in red is golden from Sri Lanka and the red sea pair

post-13827-1237595203.jpg

post-13827-1237595214.jpg

BIGBIRD

123a4qp.jpg

BIGBIRD

hey thanks for sharing angellove. Yeah the recent sri lanka shipment. yesterday i check J1R3H has 2 more pieces, very nice size, very expensive but health wise is questionable. then the lady boss say until sri lanka shipment golden butterfly super rare blah blah blah.

Actually i like this fish alot, wanted to buy but now since i know red sea has richer coloration, I think wait lor for next red sea shipment. Middle this week I asked ah beng when the shipment coming, he say not sure maybe 2-3 weeks.

the blue eye patch on the sri lankan one seems narrower and smaller too. dunno if its like this, or isit confined to this specimen only. wa the queen angel in the first pic, is the blue really like this in real life!? dam nice la. cyan colour.

hey thanks for sharing angellove. Yeah the recent sri lanka shipment. yesterday i check J1R3H has 2 more pieces, very nice size, very expensive but health wise is questionable. then the lady boss say until sri lanka shipment golden butterfly super rare blah blah blah.

Actually i like this fish alot, wanted to buy but now since i know red sea has richer coloration, I think wait lor for next red sea shipment. Middle this week I asked ah beng when the shipment coming, he say not sure maybe 2-3 weeks.

Don't mention bro, I would be nice if LFS bring in goldie ard 3 inches. Can check with LCK he is capable of bring in such size.

BIGBIRD

123a4qp.jpg

BIGBIRD

the blue eye patch on the sri lankan one seems narrower and smaller too. dunno if its like this, or isit confined to this specimen only. wa the queen angel in the first pic, is the blue really like this in real life!? dam nice la. cyan colour.

Hi Bro Lemon, the green patch narrower due to the size, what you saw is still juv. As for the colour of the queen is the magic of Aqua Lumen. You should invest one. Save electric bill and many other.

BIGBIRD

123a4qp.jpg

BIGBIRD

oo. haha very nice queen. actually i saw 2 golden butterflies at jirh marine around 3". dunno if sitll there and i dunno the health.

those 2 are from sri lanka. one is feeding well which come at exorbitant prices and the other is not feeding well which is selling dirt cheap for golddie... didnt buy in the end =(

wondering should i get the bellus from marinelife later?

those 2 are from sri lanka. one is feeding well which come at exorbitant prices and the other is not feeding well which is selling dirt cheap for golddie... didnt buy in the end =(

): the small ones were cute.

bellus are cute also. i saw some left that day dunno if any left. dunno if i should get 2. they dam cute haha

Buy la, very stable liao.

BIGBIRD

123a4qp.jpg

BIGBIRD

stable? hey u look at the fin, got white patch and cauliflower fungus! questionable la. both are feeding. i watched them both nip at seaweed.

i think the white patch on the fin is lymphocystis. if im not wrong. its related to water quality. improve it and it will ownself recover.

one eat and the other dun leh... maybe i am not handsome enough, see me no mood to eat

Haha the last time i saw was ok, didn't know it has lymphocyctis. It is ok for me to buy fish with lymphocyctis if the price is attractive. Lymphocyctis as bro Lemon said, it is cause by enviromental stress. If you have a space to keep it, it will recover in 2-3 weeks. I disagree to scrap off the cycst as fish already stress. The words is LEAVE IT ALONE to cure, by good water quality, food.

BIGBIRD

123a4qp.jpg

BIGBIRD

one eat and the other dun leh... maybe i am not handsome enough, see me no mood to eat

Not no mood to it, the not eating golden was shock to see wah very handsome man come and buy me liao, but in the end she still there. The eating is a male and not eating female :eyebrow:

BIGBIRD