Jameshong

LEDs in action.

JAWzLM.jpg

JAWzLM1.jpg

LEDDriver.jpg

Hi James...

Nice....

Any picture on the side view of the lights effect on corals?

Tank : 3 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup end Feb 2014 ) --> 4 x 2 x 1.8 ( setup early Nov 2016 )
Skimmer : Bubble Magus NAC6 --> Bubble Magus Curve 7
Return pump : Jebao 10000l/h ( down in 17th December 2014 ) --> Jebao DC-12000 ( 19th December 2014 )
Compressor drop-in coil
Wavemaker : Tunze 6105 x 1
Lights : Modular based DIY LED light x 4

Chaeto in the sump

Hi James...

Nice....

Any picture on the side view of the lights effect on corals?

My lousy camera can't capture the actual colour of my coral leh...btw, I'm not using any lens, so light is evenly spread across all corner :P !

Nice and Neat Light set.

What is your tank height? Why you not using Lens?

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Nice and Neat Light set.

What is your tank height? Why you not using Lens?

I'm using 8x SSC P7 for 2ft cube.

That why no len used lor :rolleyes: !

But without lens I doubt the intensity and PAR at 2ft aways from the LED is enough for your reef.

Try to do some lumen and PAR measurement at your tank base

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

But without lens I doubt the intensity and PAR at 2ft aways from the LED is enough for your reef.

Try to do some lumen and PAR measurement at your tank base

Hi bro,

I dun have the meter to measure leh. You got any to loan?

Btw, from the response of my corals compare to the previous 35x3w LEDs with lens after running for 2 days,I can confirm that It's much much better than lor :thumbsup: !

From the light pattern graph this is not possible.

Both P4 and P7 has the same graph.The only different is P7

has a higher output of 900 LM but at the expense of higher

running current of 2.8 A.

Maybe you observe for a longer period of say 2 to 3 months and see

how.

If you like to do measurement you can bring both your light down my place

and we do a few mmeasurement to compare

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Since my 1st DIY LED lighting in early 2009, My wife has non-stop complaining that my meanwell LED drivers with naked wiring connection has posed threat to the kids' safety and also created unpleasant look in the living room :pinch: . So this time, I'm taking my wife advice seriously and started to source materials from SLT to box up my 5 MW drivers into One Power Unit :evil: .

This Power Unit consists of ;

1) 2x AC inlets with switches (1 blue and 1 white),

2) 1x RJ12 cable inlets (2x RJ12 cables => 4x 1-10v),

3) 1x fan supply inlet at the rear (supply to 4 fans),

4) 2 pairs of DC outlets in front of the casing to supply voltage to the LED lighting and fan individually.

5) 2x 12v fans to prevent MW drivers over heated since it's enclosed in the casing.

Basically this Power unit will be fully controlled by ProfiLux II Light controller to my LED Lighting module to create sunrise and sunset effect for my come soon 3ft aquarium at my new house end of the year. Hopefully..everything go smoothly without hiccup...:rolleyes:!

Here was some of my Power Unit's partial boxing up picture….

DSC09800.jpg

DSC09806.jpg

DSC09808.jpg

DSC09809.jpg

DSC09811.jpg

DSC09818.jpg

More update.Definitely it is going to look more professional :welldone:

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Power Unit Done. Only left labelling.

Currently, my Diy LED lighting is controlled by this ProfiLux Light II controller.

I have programmed it to create a nice smooth sunset and sunrise effect that I wanted :rolleyes: .

Here are the pictures of my final project. all comment and feedback are welcome :groupwavereversed:!

DSC09832.jpg

DSC09835.jpg

After pending for more than 4 months :snore: , I decided to carry on my new LED project and finish it before end year moving house. I'll be doing 2 LED panel modules for my 2ft Cube Tank and this can be upgradeable to 3 or more modules if I decided to upgrade my tank to bigger at the later stage :eyebrow: .

I have almost completed the drilling, tapping, screwing, soldering, polishing...for the first LED panel module but still got some stubborn stain at the left side of the 1mm stainless steel (reflector sheet) need to deal with <_< . The stain was originally from the sticky protection sheet on top of the stainless steel which I have hard time cleaning it :angry: .

Can anyone advice me how to remove the stubborn stain :( ?

Ok...Here are the Spec per LED Panel and picture of my partial work done;

4x SSC P7,Pure White, 10W LED

13x CREE XPE Royal Blue 3W LED

Total Watt : >80W

DSC09344.jpg

DSC09345.jpg

DSC09349.jpg

DSC09353Small.jpg

DSC09360Small.jpg

DSC09352Small.jpg

hi, where did you get that big heat sink from?? was trying to find big heat sinks...

Hi bro,

I dun bought those heatsink but instead cannibalized it from unwanted electronic unit in my company workshop which save me some cost and also save the earth too :eyebrow:!

Btw, from what I know...SLT should have what you want and you just need to waste some time searching around there :evil: .

Hi bro,

I dun bought those heatsink but instead cannibalized it from unwanted electronic unit in my company workshop which save me some cost and also save the earth too :eyebrow:!

Btw, from what I know...SLT should have what you want and you just need to waste some time searching around there :evil: .

ohh.. ok ok .. will try looking over there... hopefully can find it... lol..

• 4 months later...

Impressive I must say..must have taken awfully lots of time. Improvement after improvement. :welldone:

Hi Bro Tropic,

Thanks for the compliment.

btw, my LED lite has recently migrated to my new 3ft tank :groupwavereversed: .

• 3 months later...

hello James, its really interesting to look at this thread, great LED build and superb finishing material, on the last pages you did mentioned that your LED was fully dimable using profilux, could you please tell me the detail of the integration between you led and profiux, what things do I need to purchase/provide in order to make it dimable?

Can I do it with branded led?

Also right now I already owned profilux II ex.

Many thanks if you could help me out on this thing.

Sandy

hello James, its really interesting to look at this thread, great LED build and superb finishing material, on the last pages you did mentioned that your LED was fully dimable using profilux, could you please tell me the detail of the integration between you led and profiux, what things do I need to purchase/provide in order to make it dimable?

Can I do it with branded led?

Also right now I already owned profilux II ex.

Many thanks if you could help me out on this thing.

Sandy

Hi Sandy,

To have dusk to dawn effect, the most important thing is your LED lighting's dc power supply must be a dimmable type else you can't connect it to your profilux ll ex controller.

For more info, pls PM me and we discuss from there.

Read wrongly.. Attention the question to the wrong person..

My apologies..

Edited by chiya

4 x 2 x 1 low tank

DIY LED

Trying to minimise equipment as much as possible.

Would love to make new friends in the reefing community - PM me!

A short video of my tank on a Sunday morning

• 2 months later...

btw do u have the dimension on this led lighting?

1 module is 24x24cm.

btw the computer fans are for what purpose?i really interested in your project..

Fan is used to help cooling the heatsink so that the high power LEDs will not be overheated after long run.