Setting up a marine Tank for the first time

if u travel often, u might need to modify the collection cup as it is very small. Please note this. If you are getting a sump, look for needlewheel skimmer like H&S and maybe newer skimz, their resale value is affordable and might be cheaper than second mce600.

• Replies 68

if u travel often, u might need to modify the collection cup as it is very small. Please note this. If you are getting a sump, look for needlewheel skimmer like H&S and maybe newer skimz, their resale value is affordable and might be cheaper than second mce600.

sumpless.

ya, briefing ran through, ppl advised him for sump, so if he changes his mind, he can source for other alternative, if he wants to get mce600, he has to take note of the collection cup and maybe modify and attach a waste collector.

Thanks Solo,

will watch out for that...

One question, when i have to add water to the marine tank, can i just take tap water with anti chloromine(sic)? or i need one of those filter to filter the water first?

If you can, get a RO/DI unit.

set you back for about $100 - $200

I am toping up with Distilled water. not cheap either.

Everyday need to top up approx 300ml.

I see... if it is only 300ml a day, its okay.. i can stun a few bottles of distilled water from my office everyday! hahah

i got tonnes of those lying around... those bottled kind that they sell in 7 Eleven...

yeah. ok mine is a 1.5 ft cube. So the top up is lesser that your 3ft.

You can also look into the ATOs around. (auto top up)

might be helpful for you especially if you travel.

I see... if it is only 300ml a day, its okay.. i can stun a few bottles of distilled water from my office everyday! hahah

i got tonnes of those lying around... those bottled kind that they sell in 7 Eleven...

For my 322 tank, in 1 week, I top up ard 6-7 litres of DI water.

Jacky, can test the distilled water to see if there are any nitrates & phosphates present in the water?

er.. my place oso got water stunned..too bad are minerial and not distilled..

top up is = distilled + saltmix then pour in hor?

ytd i bought 2 brands ..no frill and polar..havent tested the water yet though...

during cycling need change water mah after 1 week?coz the book i am readng ask me to change 50% after a week from when it 1st started.. :mellow:

untitled.jpg

a noobie reefer...

ytd i bought 2 brands ..no frill and polar..havent tested the water yet though...

during cycling need change water mah after 1 week?coz the book i am readng ask me to change 50% after a week from when it 1st started.. :mellow:

you can also try purchasing Crystal Pro DI filter to change your house tapwater to distilled water,

faster and easier than going to shops and dragging bottles of water home.. haha..

before i bought the DI filter, i was buying distilled water from NTUC.. housebrand..

i think thats the cheapest so far...

during my cycling process, i didnt change water at all for almost a month..

after ammonia and NO2 are undetectable,

i did a 50% water change (at the end of ur cycling process) and thereafter i added in my first LS..

a pair of common clowns :eyebrow:

you can read up more here,

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=82945

or many other questions under the New to the Marine Hobby section...

this forum has guided me since Day 1 of my hobby,

and it has taught me alot...

read through the posts that other reefers post and you'll find many interesting facts and information...

you can read up on everyone's experiences here which books cannot provide...

Top up water loss due to evaporation is ONLY distilled/DI water. DUN add salt or else your salinity will increase... :rolleyes:

During cycling, do water change ONLY after your NH4 and NO2 levels are ZERO. Then do at least a 50% water change and you can add LS already.

Top up water loss due to evaporation is ONLY distilled/DI water. DUN add salt or else your salinity will increase... :rolleyes:

During cycling, do water change ONLY after your NH4 and NO2 levels are ZERO. Then do at least a 50% water change and you can add LS already.

THank u bro!this is the answer i'm looking for...

thanks kiko bro oso for the link..will read it when i get back from home after work later..!

GUm xia everyone! :thanks:

untitled.jpg

a noobie reefer...

For my 322 tank, in 1 week, I top up ard 6-7 litres of DI water.

Jacky, can test the distilled water to see if there are any nitrates & phosphates present in the water?

ok.

do it later.

damned tired. slept only 3 hrs last night

ok... serious question.

I was at Reef Depot during lunch with a friend. Checked out MCE 600.

Its quite heavy. and the hanging part doesn't give me much comfort.

Peter, do you have any problem with the hanging part? coz its only secured by that clamp thing on the outlet tube.

I also realised i need to sacrifice 10 cm depth to have that thing sit in comfortably... a lot of space to waste... makes me rethink about having a sump tank instead.

ok... serious question.

Peter, do you have any problem with the hanging part? coz its only secured by that clamp thing on the outlet tube.

I also realised i need to sacrifice 10 cm depth to have that thing sit in comfortably... a lot of space to waste... makes me rethink about having a sump tank instead.

No problem. You are talking about the 10cm depth of the MCE600? Ya, no choice lah.

ok... serious question.

will vote for sump.. lots of benefits...

how helpful would it be if I install a small sump, say 50 cm by 30 cm by 30 cm?

I mean, if it is not going to improve things tremendously i don't really want that trouble. Not to mention the cost will increase with the inclusion of the sump tank.

The issue i have with Sump tanks is that the moisture in the cabinet, the mould, the rust. Hence i prefer to do without.

how helpful would it be if I install a small sump, say 50 cm by 30 cm by 30 cm?

I mean, if it is not going to improve things tremendously i don't really want that trouble. Not to mention the cost will increase with the inclusion of the sump tank.

The issue i have with Sump tanks is that the moisture in the cabinet, the mould, the rust. Hence i prefer to do without.

50 cm is almost 2 ft and i believe it would be sufficient to place basic equipments like skimmer and return pump...

good point of the moisture though...

Er ok don't add with salt arbo will increase salinity. But will it decrease salinity then?o.0"

untitled.jpg

a noobie reefer...

The two most important things I would suggest you seriously consider in your tank plans are

incorporating a sump into the system and getting a chiller.

The sump would greatly simplify maintenance, and give you a wider selection of equipment and media you can use in the system, as well as increase the overall water volume to maintain stability.

Concerns about moisture or evaporation buildup can be taken care of with some strategic ventilation holes, or you can cover the sump with a piece a glass to seal it in.

A chiller will make it a lot easier to avoid problems and give you a wider variety of livestock to choose from. You should be able to get a decent 2nd hand chiller for around $200.00, and this

should not add more than $15 - $20 to your monthly electrical bill.

Evaporation from fan cooling will cost you almost as much per month in topups if you're using distilled water, and you will never be able to achieve temperatures as low or as stable as with a chiller.

It will also give you a lot less headaches in the long run, and keep livestock happier and healthier.

Compared to the amount of money you will be spending on your equipment and livestock, a chiller is a bargain trust me.

Most of the bros here will be able to attest to this, not uncommon for them to own a piece of coral or a fish that costs as much if not more than a 2nd hand chiller in their tank.

The two most important things I would suggest you seriously consider in your tank plans are

incorporating a sump into the system and getting a chiller.

The sump would greatly simplify maintenance, and give you a wider selection of equipment and media you can use in the system, as well as increase the overall water volume to maintain stability.

Concerns about moisture or evaporation buildup can be taken care of with some strategic ventilation holes, or you can cover the sump with a piece a glass to seal it in.

A chiller will make it a lot easier to avoid problems and give you a wider variety of livestock to choose from. You should be able to get a decent 2nd hand chiller for around $200.00, and this

should not add more than $15 - $20 to your monthly electrical bill.

Evaporation from fan cooling will cost you almost as much per month in topups if you're using distilled water, and you will never be able to achieve temperatures as low or as stable as with a chiller.

It will also give you a lot less headaches in the long run, and keep livestock happier and healthier.

Compared to the amount of money you will be spending on your equipment and livestock, a chiller is a bargain trust me.

Most of the bros here will be able to attest to this, not uncommon for them to own a piece of coral or a fish that costs as much if not more than a 2nd hand chiller in their tank.

+1