Algae Scrubbers

lauep

_______

Yeah... when I saw the display clams at Iwarna, I was totally awe-struck by the colour and

serenity of the clams. That was where my decision came, to keep clams. I will get a couple more

HO T5 lights for the clams.

They are stationery as compared to fishes; but might be boring. Thats where I will keep some

fishes for movement beauty. (Need your recommendations on clam-safe fishes)...

As for a shallow tank, that will come later until at least I stabilse this 3ft tank first.

I also got space constraints at home lah.. even though I would like to have another tank. eyebrow.gif

Haha...

Aside to all the above, I even have a themed-name for my tank, and it will be called, "Clam Valley"

Cool... anthias and chromis would add a nice colour to your tank.. tangs should be ok with clams too!

hmm... Clam Valley?? if ah siang wasnt suspended he would be making some wise remarks on this.. lol..

_______

Yeah... when I saw the display clams at Iwarna, I was totally awe-struck by the colour and

serenity of the clams. That was where my decision came, to keep clams. I will get a couple more

HO T5 lights for the clams.

They are stationery as compared to fishes; but might be boring. Thats where I will keep some

fishes for movement beauty. (Need your recommendations on clam-safe fishes)...

As for a shallow tank, that will come later until at least I stabilse this 3ft tank first.

I also got space constraints at home lah.. even though I would like to have another tank. eyebrow.gif

Haha...

Aside to all the above, I even have a themed-name for my tank, and it will be called, "Clam Valley"

just some thoughts

most reef fishes are safe. good to have yellow or 6 line wrasse to help "protect" the clams.

no big snails as they might tend to topple the clams.

bi colour blenny are quite nasty fishes and might nib at the mantle of the clam. good to avoid that too.

Will be good if you can get rid of the worms in your LR before adding the clams.

Lucky Siang cannot respond.

else the "Clam Valley" might trigger his creativity again.... lol

Suns and supersuns do not need light.. in fact some reefers would say that they do better without light! medium to high flow would be good as in the wild thats how they get their food. Relying on the current to sweep the food to them.

took me awhile to dig this out of my thread.. try use this method to feed your corals next time.. see if it works!

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=72975&st=580

Wow!! Thanks for the information, bro.

Sorry to trouble you to search for the information.

I will go get a syringe and a ballon stick. As for specific feeding, I'll get a plastic bottle to

feed it. I hope it works. :thanks:

Main Tank: 3ft x 2ft x 2ft

Sump Tank: 2ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft

Overflow Pump: 4500 l/hr

Lighting: T5 HO Metal Halide

Wavemaker: MP40w

Skimmer: BK Mini 200

Chiller: Arctica DBM-250 1/3hp

Phosphate Reactor: TLF Phosban 150

ya patient is important i took 1mth plus to do the organise of equipment and water testing with tape water and later part bout 6wks of the cycle of the saltwater slow and steady

u can take a look on wat i do on the tank setup

pls don't rush to fill up water first as u may wan to rearrange alot of item and add on future for improvement ( to have lesser hazrad in the future) so call bullet prove tank

wish u all the best and welcome to the big family

Wow!! Thanks for the information, bro.

Sorry to trouble you to search for the information.

I will go get a syringe and a ballon stick. As for specific feeding, I'll get a plastic bottle to

feed it. I hope it works. thanx.gif

No worries dude.. i got spare ballon stick if you want... lol..

where do you stay??

if you gonna use plastic bottle, you can try these steps

1) Cut bottle into half

2) make a hole in the bottle cap to put the balloon stick in

3) silicon the balloon stick to the bottle cap

4) cap the bottle with the bottle cap and join the stick to the syringe

5) FEED AWAY!!!!

Hi StevenKoh Bro,

I see your point, as long got light the sump will grow algae.

How often do we need to clean the sump tank?

ya u right i do the clean every week when i clean the scrubber which is alot of more job

No worries dude.. i got spare ballon stick if you want... lol..

where do you stay??

if you gonna use plastic bottle, you can try these steps

1) Cut bottle into half

2) make a hole in the bottle cap to put the balloon stick in

3) silicon the balloon stick to the bottle cap

4) cap the bottle with the bottle cap and join the stick to the syringe

5) FEED AWAY!!!!

_______

Thanks so much for your kind offer bro!

I Pm-ed you my address liao.

U need a drill for the hole in the bottle cap (quite hard)leh... but I dun have a drill.

Wad u suggest to make the hole?

Btw, I just got 4 syringes for feeding. Heh heh...

_______

Thanks so much for your kind offer bro!

I Pm-ed you my address liao.

U need a drill for the hole in the bottle cap (quite hard)leh... but I dun have a drill.

Wad u suggest to make the hole?

Btw, I just got 4 syringes for feeding. Heh heh...

haha.. good point.. i cant really help on this.. hmmm.. you know the compass for drawing circles?? maybe you can heat it up then try to "melt" a hole into the cap??

ya u right i do the clean every week when i clean the scrubber which is alot of more job

_____

Do you need to change the refugium water too?

Can I ask for your refugium, do you use sand or refugium mud as your base bed?

Bring it down to the BBQ I'll drill for you on the spot! :D

Lol errm I'm just thinking of Siang... :ph34r:

_____

You just need to do water change from your sump will be good enough.

Some ppl use DSB, others use mud, others go BB (with cheato of course). Actually up to you, all are feasible.

Wah like that also can connect to him lol. But seriously clam chowder, if you want I can help you drill your bottle cap on the spot. Not sure how many of you have seen my bag, but it is truely a doraemon bag. I've got a DSLR, lunch box, water bottle, notebook, tweezers, penknife and mini drill inside among other things haha.

You just need to do water change from your sump will be good enough.

Some ppl use DSB, others use mud, others go BB (with cheato of course). Actually up to you, all are feasible.

______

I see ok ok...

Btw, wads BB?

Sorrie ah... I still not familiar with the acronyms in the forum here. Me still "plankton" lah.. haha.

Wah like that also can connect to him lol. But seriously clam chowder, if you want I can help you drill your bottle cap on the spot. Not sure how many of you have seen my bag, but it is truely a doraemon bag. I've got a DSLR, lunch box, water bottle, notebook, tweezers, penknife and mini drill inside among other things haha.

______

No kidding?! :shock:

I would really appreciate your kind gesture. But leh cheh for you to bring your doraemon bag at the BBQ not?

You complain that we ding you, yet you provide such good materials to suan you with haha.

Lol.. i was just answering CC's questions ma... whats wrong?! lol

Wow! That would be really nice of you to help me with the drilling.

I can't wait to meet the great people like you guys in person! :blush:

_____

oh i don't keep sand or mud in my sump only LR and it a build box up algea scrubber

_________

I see... I think that should be enough for a refugium. :whistle

Hello guys! It's great that everyone is actively sharing, but please don't stray too far from the topic. To prevent all potential posts from starting into an off topic thread, irrelevant posts has been deleted. The kopi tiam is a good place to discuss other things if you want.

• 5 weeks later...

Will it be like those magnet cleaner when going too bottom will kana sand thus kana scratches?

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

Wonder does algae scrubber pick up sand particle like the magnet cleaner do when going too bottom of tank n thus scratches the tank?

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!