cannibalised fishes in the morning!!!

dryDiver

this morning i found my panther grouper cannibalised without eyes n stomach. a few months back , the same thing happened to my black clown. both fishes were in perfect condition the night before - healthy n eating. could this be the work of some crab or bristtle worm? frusssssss

mantis shrimp?

cannibalize means the thing is eaten by the same thing.

i thought you meant your clowns eating your clowns..

unlikely eaten. most probably died and then devoured...

wat size system are you keeping your grouper in? parameters?

Ya cannibalised is species of the same eating it's own.

自己人吃自己人!

like mice,they cannibalized if food is not given enough to them.

Another example is the pirahnas...

For your case definitely not n it must be some creature inside it that ate it!

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

seems like is the work of a mantis shrimp. they attack the softest part of the fish..

how come u will suspect it's the mantis?

TS never mention got mantis shrimp?

But of coz if there is,chances of it eating other fishes is high but I dun think so for a grouper.

Note: grouper eat crab... So I dun think mantis will be a threat to him

Some1 doesn't 1 2 do anything find an excuse,some1 1 2 do something find a mean!

tks for the interesting input n dialogue.

Q: how come mantis shrimp doesnt come out during feeding time? ie, daytime. i watched some videos n they come out of their hole n whack in daylight.

Q: could it be something else?

Q: anyone trapped a mantis shrimp before?

tks guys/gals, its getting exciting>>>>>

pls bear in mind that the 2 fishes were eating well n healthy. no white spots, no lethargy,

the panther grouper is quite small baby apox 2.5inch

Unless u heard tag tag tag sound or u c them physically.

Otherwise it might be other reason.

Anyway a 2.5'' panther grouper is capable of swallow anything half of it's own size.

Grouper is well know for it big mouth so dun get decieve by it's small size 

slowly monitor n u will find the culprit...

tks for the interesting input n dialogue.

Q: how come mantis shrimp doesnt come out during feeding time? ie, daytime. i watched some videos n they come out of their hole n whack in daylight.

Q: could it be something else?

Q: anyone trapped a mantis shrimp before?

video show of mantis shrimp come out feed is due to owner having it for quite some time liao thus mantis somehow know the feeding time etc.

Otherwise most mantis r shy n doesn't come out unless get use.

It could probaby be other unknown issue.(need close monitoring)

I've caught a mantis shrimp before but not trap coz using my most efficient way also seems impossible to get hold of it.(too clever)

I stuffed a pc of mp with fishing line attached into PVC pipe n place outside it's hole. When he comes out I slowly pull the line to lure mantis into pipe but he didn't.

Repeat for few hours till sian. God of hand went down tank took out that pc of rock put in pail n use chopsticks poke it till it came out.