Qns on Skimmer...

Terryz_

i have done similar homework before... deciding between MR2 or H&S 2001. MR2 needs at least the resun/iwaki clone pressure rated pump to perform since it is a beckett skimmer. so if u add up the $$, its around $800-900. H&S 2001 cost $633 if you get the promotional discount (buy 2 get 1 free, original $950). IMO, for a 4 footer, 2001 should be more than sufficient even u go for SPS.

ya..if only the promotion is still on, however if there is no promotion and the price for H&S 850L skimmer is going to be $900++ after new yrs. i think it is cheaper to get MR-2 . IMO, MR-2 seem to be a much better skimmer then H&S Skimmer, dun u agree? :lol:

maybe shld have a competition of skimmate qty ... :lol:

(collection for the week, but of cos same capactiy range .. or does it matters)

Gp1:

first round : AquaC vs H&S

second round : MR2 vs H&S

third round : AquaC vs MR2

Gp2:

first round : Becket vs ...

second round : AquaMedic vs ...

third round :

paiseh knowledge/brand limited ..

mydog.gif

not sold in singapore.. must order from myreefcreation in the US. andy is a very friendly guy, try email to him. he is able to customize to yr dimension too and needs.

to consider a skimmer, i will consider the following in addition to skimmate:

1. pump needed and wattage (running $$)

2. ease of adjustment, whether its sensitive to water level

3. max gal it can process

4. dimension, whether it fits into your sump

5. wat are u keeping, SPS ?

6. finally, $$

the only disadvantage of H&S (which in fact its also its main advantage) is the needle wheel pump which if damage, can cost u $300+. but so far, feedback is that the pump is very reliable.

ya lor...if S*al**e has the promotion again, then i wont hesitate to get a H&S skimmer...else i will order from myreefcreations.

Anyway, to get a MR-2 to singapore will also cost abt me abt SGD$600++. it only that MR-2 need a strong pumb to run while H&S skimmer is cheaper in a long run. <_<