My 1.5ft Reef Log III

jackywongto

Shingle Urchin... Alien looking... LOL...

interesting.... the have plates instead of spine to withstand the pounding of the waves....

http://hawaiianforest.com/ha%E2%80%99uke%E2%80%99uke-shingle-urchins-of-hawaii

Got a BTA.....

Is this the original colour or is it bleeched?

post-6893-0-96497500-1314023710_thumb.jp

Why you buy such a bleached specimen..

goon lor ........lol

thought that was its natural colour till i read it just now... ha...

lets see if can nurse back the colour.

so its more likely a green bta?

goon lor ........lol

thought that was its natural colour till i read it just now... ha...

lets see if can nurse back the colour.

so its more likely a green bta?

Most likely a green bta with pink tip, from the bleach coloration.. from CF??

yup from CF.

looks like it... it does have a greenish tint

the Tuxedo urchin really does a good job. Might get another 1 - 2 pieces to tie over this period....

see the white trail it leaves behind? (** PS: This urchin is not for coraline algae lover. They consumes coraline as well)

post-6893-0-41299900-1314027879_thumb.jp

got some Red sea reef energy samplers from a reefing friend.

REDSEA REEF NUTRITON PROGRAM

This program consists of a 2 part formula, Reef Energy A & B, that provides the nutritional needs of all corals and other filter feeders.

Referred to as photosynthetic, most corals have a symbiotic relationship with Zooxanthellae algae, which provide around 85% of their nutritional requirements. The coral nutrition program is about providing the remaining 15% to the photosynthetic corals and the complete nutritional requirements for the so called non- photosynthetic corals such as Gorgonia or Sun Corals that do not have any Zooxanthellae.

Corals can't move towards food or even bring the food to themselves so they digest any Dissolved Organic Matter (DOM) that flows freely into their 0ral disc (about the size of a pin head) or gets absorbed through their soft tissue. On the reef the DOM comes from a wide range of organic sources such as the mucus from neighboring corals or bacterial flocks.

Contrary to popular beliefs, many traditional foods such as phytoplankton or non-marine zooplankton (artemia, rotifers etc) are at best only of marginal and indirect benefit to corals. Red Sea's nutrition research focused on isolating the various DOM components from a variety of conventional and non-conventional food sources to create an easily digestible and highly nutritious DOM complex that:

• Provides all of the energy components that Soft, LPS, SPS and non-photosynthetic corals utilize for growth and coloration

• Gives the greatest energetic value after digestion

• Causes the least pollution to the water

Red Sea's research also discovered that while there are some differences in the nutritional requirements between the different types of corals, the most significant differences were in low algae nutrient systems (e.g. when using Red Sea's NO3:PO4-X) where increased amounts of coral nutrients are required to compensate for the lower supply of energy from the Zooxanthellae.

which LFS can i find this?

hey kiko

no idea. lol. let me ask and come back to you.

you can also bring bottles to my place.

I pass you some to try out.

But its pretty potent. don't overdose. else there will be algae outbreak.

and so you eventually got it! hahahaha...

yeah like the bleached colour ... haha.....

its hiding behind the rocks now.....

i think AM n ah beng has these...

probably, i will get the amino acids to repair my tissue

I can pass you some bro !

looking good jacky your tank.. and I saw 4 fishys in the picture. :)

aiming to achieve your IQ5 standard leh...

Wah your eyesight better than Terryz ... despite your "seniority".... wahahahaha

hehe....

i only saw a mermaid swimming inside...

yeah yeah... mermaid with 2 cannon LEDs and no clams....

that is halluccination, my friend.....