Blueheaven's 4ft Tank

blueheaven

• Replies 1.9k

Haha...ok I will give you a frag once its settled down and started growing :P:P

Too lazy to source for a proper fitting to do the carbon filter. Looked around the house and found a perfect fit :lol:

post-34-1121770894.jpg

Check it out!!! :P

post-34-1121770942.jpg

I did something which I would regret my whole life!!!

Was very hungry today after a day's schooling so I opened the freezer and saw these wonderful stuff which I presumed was chocolate.

I picked one up and took a bite :D

Let me tell you, it is the most digusting thing I had ever eaten!!!

It then came to me that these were bro Gouldian's special blend, super potent fish food!! :sick::sick:

post-34-1121870634.jpg

Was very hungry today after a day's schooling so I opened the freezer and saw these wonderful stuff which I presumed was chocolate.

It then came to me that these were bro Gouldian's special blend, super potent fish food!! :sick::sick:

bro..u made the fodd by urself???

yucks...haha...im sure u gulp down lots of water to clear the smell!! :P

walao.... :blink::blink::pinch::pinch:

finally finished reading liao... very interesting topic ...

it is not that no one wants to reply its just that they are like me start from the begining and keep on reading until eyes pop out :shock: and saliva dripping...

until now finally complete the last mag hahaha :D:D

Haha...thanks for making the effort to go through this tedious process :bow:

Anyway, was studying too much for tests that I did not really monitor the water quality and guess what?

kH had actually fell to 5dKH!!!

No wonder my SPS had stagnated in growth these few days

I think that the carbonates are being used up by the chaeto during its growth which resulted in the decreasing value

I have since increased my CR bubble rate to a bubble a second and dosed about 12g of Seachem Reef Builder today. Will monitor the kH values tomorrow.

All other parameters remain the same :lol:

haha..those mix looks like brownies..add some whipped cream to have a lil more flavouring lahs..or u can even dip into kopi-o (skimmate)...

any full tank shot? :D

Gross man! Must've been an experience of a lifetime, BH! :lol:

Say, just a thought! Think you can qualify for Fear Factor! :lol: Jem's right! They do look like brownies! All you need to go with Gouldian's S-blend is some vanilla ice-cream! :sick::lol:

48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller)

:sick::sick::sick:

Did you watch the Fear Factor Top 10 yesterday??? :lol::lol:

Full tank shot coming your way tomorrow evening :P:P

Haha...thanks for making the effort to go through this tedious process :bow:

Anyway, was studying too much for tests that I did not really monitor the water quality and guess what?

kH had actually fell to 5dKH!!!

No wonder my SPS had stagnated in growth these few days

I think that the carbonates are being used up by the chaeto during its growth which resulted in the decreasing value

I have since increased my CR bubble rate to a bubble a second and dosed about 12g of Seachem Reef Builder today. Will monitor the kH values tomorrow.

All other parameters remain the same :lol:

bro, i dont see why chaeto will use carbonates....from what i know...plants have no use for carbonates...they do use sodium, potassium, phosphates, magnesium and iron and some others...but no carbonates used

and in the first place..carbonates usually binds with the group II elements, like calcium carbonate...and group II carbonates are insoluble...the most being sparing soluble like magnesium carbonate...this will cause precipitation as in result...hence i see no reason also why the chaeto will use carbonates as precipitation will result...as in hard corals where this precipitation is used for the building of skeletons?

i might be wrong..so maybe you would like to enlighten me on how u conclude the drop in carbonates due to your chaeto?

just my 2 cents :peace::peace:

putting chemistry learned in school to good use =)

i love playing with reactants in the lab..haha

yay!..my wish been granted...full tank shots *drools*

Well, if you have noticed in Biology practicals, we do add sodium hydrogen carbonate to provide the CO2 needed for photosynthesis. Therefore, I concluded that the growth of the chaeto will cause a drop in kH :lol:

And other types of soluble carbonates include potassium hydrogen carbonate (alkaline) and calcium hydrogen carbonate (CR effluent). Of course there are many more to the list... :P:P

plants actually do use the CO2 frm the dissolution of carbonates for photosynthesis... if i remember correctly frm some planted tank book which i read... if u do not have enough CO2 in the tank... the plants will take to the carbonate in the water for photosynthesis and thus cause an imbalance in Kh...

well my memory has been bad recently so yeah i might be wrong... any expert in planted tank care to chip in?

Well, if you have noticed in Biology practicals, we do add sodium hydrogen carbonate to provide the CO2 needed for photosynthesis. Therefore, I concluded that the growth of the chaeto will cause a drop in kH :lol:

And other types of soluble carbonates include potassium hydrogen carbonate (alkaline) and calcium hydrogen carbonate (CR effluent). Of course there are many more to the list... :P:P

well...it seems i might be wrong...

i get what u mean now....the cheato uses carbonates and bicarbonates as a source for carbon dioxide for photosynthesis

i thought u meant the cheato incoorporating carbonates into their system...

:P:paiseh:

plants actually do use the CO2 frm the dissolution of carbonates for photosynthesis... if i remember correctly frm some planted tank book which i read... if u do not have enough CO2 in the tank... the plants will take to the carbonate in the water for photosynthesis and thus cause an imbalance in Kh...

well my memory has been bad recently so yeah i might be wrong... any expert in planted tank care to chip in?

thanks bro...haha...i kind of misinterpreted blueheaven....my bad :P:paiseh::paiseh:

Glad you understood bro decentkid :lol::lol:

And I forgot to take the tank shot today as I came home at 7pm after 3 extra lessons!!!! :pinch::pinch: (sorry jem :paiseh: )

Something is horribly wrong in my system as my kH fell to around 3dKH :angry::angry:

Have since added another dose of 12g of Seachem Reef Builder and lowered my CR effluent to a drop per 2 seconds

Hope conditions will improve tomorrow :nc:

I don't know whether it's the school work or what but I am quite muddle headed these few days.

Remember I said that my kH reading was 3.5dKH? Well, that was in low resolution mode and so in actual fact, it is 7dKH <_<

Have just checked it again and it has increased to 8dKH already :D

Here's the most recent tank shot

Notice the big space which the leather used to be :lol:

(And it also means I need some stuff to cover it up :P )

post-34-1122133168.jpg