Blueheaven's 4ft Tank

blueheaven

An update to this thread:

My green algae is starting to thin out thanks to my janitor crew.

And I've decided to stop using ozone as the tank looks just as healthy as when I am dosing.

Finally, I'm quite amazed at the blue eye anthias as they had actually survived 3 days without feeding :lol:

• Replies 1.9k

Hey, back from M'sia already ah.

So no casualties lah. Good loh.

Sorry, dun understand wat U mean by :

I've decided to stop using ozone as the tank looks just as healthy as when I am dosing.

Dose wat ah ?

I've just got a blue hermit to deal w/ my

algae. Seems to be working great.

Decided on a hermit instead of an algae blenny

to have more diversity in the tank. :D

Oh I meant dosing ozone

I was initially considering hermits but put the idea down as I'll have to get shells for it when it grows big

Got this purplish rim green monti cap from a bro (thanks a lot for helping me complete my collection) :thanks:

And you guys can see how SPS eating crabs really got me furious when it almost totally ate up my rainbow monti :angry::angry:

post-34-1135659559.jpg

And also many thanks for this unique frag

This is a pink polyped, green monti cap :wub: :wub: :wub:

post-34-1135659757.jpg

Here it is digitally enlarged to show the unique polyp colour!! B)

post-34-1135659910.jpg

And here's the last frag from a bro

Full solid blue echinata frag (what I always wanted!) :yeah:

And you can see the damage on the rainbow monti :angry:

post-34-1135660087.jpg

And let me try a super macro shot of a mille colony :lol:

post-34-1135660208.jpg

This rhodactis always make good photos :rolleyes:

post-34-1135660331.jpg

Ok, will try that next time B)

It's rather hard to take macros using normal lens for my tank cause my stuff are about a foot away from the glass :lol:

That particular acro with baby blue polyps is abt 1.5ft from the front of the tank.

No problem la, as long as the shot is nice who cares right? But the word "super macro" can be quite misleading.

The rhodactis shots is great. I converting my 2ft into softies tank, time to go hunt for one :P

For those who have seen my tank, do you think I should add another 2 more T5s (blue tubes) to make my tank bluer? :huh:

Thanks for your opinion bro

I was actually thinking of adding a couple of actinics to try to bring out the fluorescence in the SPS

Thanks for your opinion bro

I was actually thinking of adding a couple of actinics to try to bring out the fluorescence in the SPS

More Blue? Then will be ###### tank liao with nake fishes inside. :D

If you like blue bcos it suits ur mood for the tank, then add loh. Otherwise the fishes/Reef dun really care.

But I have a suggestion, which is to replace the e-ballast of both T5 and MH to trimmable ballast, then you will have an ultimate sun-rise and sun-set lightings.

Equipment:

30G Corner Tank with 10G Sump, 2 x 24W artinic T5, 1 x 24W 10K, 1x 24W 20K, 3" Grade 0 sand & Live rocks, Activated Carbon, Bio-home, 2 x Seio M620, Hailea 1/2HP Chiller, Redsea Pro Skimmer

Live Stock:

Turbo Snail x 1, Green Mandarin Dragonet X 2, Blue Tang X 2, True percular x 2, 1 x Algae Bleenie, Clarke clown x 2

Reef:

1 x 2" Blue maxima, Red/Brown/Purple Mushroom (Discosoma), Pink Ricordea yuma, A little colony Brown/Green common Zoanthus, Red/Pink/Green US Zoanthus, Eagle-eye Zoathus, 14 Branch Goniopora Pandoraensis, 1 Starburst Polyps, 3 + 2 Branch Frogspawn, 4 Blasto, palythoa, Cheato

RIPs (Since June 2005):

1. Sabae clown (KO by Clarke clown) 2. 1 branch melted frogspawn 4 branch 3. Golden maxima (Ripe the base off rock by me) 4. Algae Bleenie x 2 (Starvation) 5. Blue Maxima x 1, 2 x Maxima, 1 x frogspawn, rics (Overtemp...)

Old 30G Corner Tank.

Restarted 30G Corner Tank.

How many antinics do you have currently? or none?

Your Mh is 14K , am i right?

No worries :peace:

I don't have actinics now as I run only a 20k tube and an AquaBlue Plus

Somehow I think more blue will make my SPS look nicer :lol:

More Blue? Then will be ###### tank liao with nake fishes inside. :D

If you like blue bcos it suits ur mood for the tank, then add loh. Otherwise the fishes/Reef dun really care.

But I have a suggestion, which is to replace the e-ballast of both T5 and MH to trimmable ballast, then you will have an ultimate sun-rise and sun-set lightings.

Maybe on the T5s but not on the MH

I'm so afraid of the whole thing exploding that I switch it on manually :lol::lol:

Oh ya, my chiller pump got toasted yesterday which sent electric currents into the water.

So I rushed down to AquaMarin with my dad (thank god they open so late) to get an Ehiem pump. Can't afford it to fail on me again :P

Oh and I almost forgot, I found 5 nudis on my purple monti cap last night when the lights are out!!!

I was so furious that I picked them up using a toothpick and dumped them into a plastic cup. Poured in a cupful of fresh kalkwasser and see them squirm in pain :evil::evil: