Adding Live Rocks

Is the fish still alive?

What fish?

Adding LR will cause the tank to cycle again that might kill the fish.

To begin with, you were probably misguided by the LFS to use a fish for cycling. Totally unnecessary and could have been a waste of money. Decomposition on LR during curing will start the cycling of the tank. LR should have all been added together instead of in batches resulting in constant cycling and potential algae problems later.

If you intend to add more LR, I would suggest removing the fish first to be kept in a cycled and mature tank with a friend, then add the new LR. Return the fish only after the cycle is complete.

pwah!!

which LFS sabo u?

ask u buy such a expensive fish to let it suffer the possibility of dying?

i think its quite irresponsible of him/her lah..

quick save it by putting it up at another established tank..

The LFS at Ginza Plaza lor.

When i went there, the owner was boasting about if he has a tank he's confirmed to set it right and showed his showcase tank to us. We asked for live rocks, then they adviced us to throw in a fish for cycling. Asked for a super hardy fish, so that it had a better potential of surviving. Owner recommended a damsel and a royal gamma. We were told that they were EQUALLY tough. :(:(:(

We bought the fish for 6 bucks then the rest is history. Good thing is the fish is enjoying itself in our tank now. Hiding in his cave and popping out every few minutes to parade around abit. Really really hate the shop now. :( :( :(

haha very different leh roya dottyback and royal gramma... just the colour same nia... anyway your tank not cycling lah.. since there is already bacteria in your LR and sandbed then can handle the bioload of fish already...

hmm then isit ok to add new live rocks to it?

It will be best for the fish for it to be rehoused during the duration of LR addition.

Alternatively can buy cured LR....get them from other reefers rather than shop shld be safer as most shops doubtful whether fully cured or not, but in many cases fellow hobbyists wld have had the rocks for q.some time already before selling for upgrade/downgrade/regrade (?!) purposes....but then again, best to rehouse...